Database Results for Your Selections

Results 76 - 91 of 91

  1. Sage Research Methods -- Cases

    A new module to the Sage Research Methods database that includes hundreds of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to support teaching and learning in research methods.

    Search cases by subject area, academic level, and methods used.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Education, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  2. Scopus (SciVerse Scopus)

    Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with bibliometric tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

    Scopus has 46 million records dating back to 1823, 72% of these containing references dating from 1996.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1996 - current

    Subjects: Chemistry, Theater Studies, Sociology, Science and Technology, Psychology, Political Science, Physics, Philosophy, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Mathematics, Linguistics, History World, History US, Health, Environmental Sciences, English and American Literature, Education, Economics, Dance, Computer Science, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Middle East Studies

    Expand
  3. Social Explorer

    Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Its contents include the entire U.S.

    Census from 1790 to 2010, annual updates from the American Community Survey, data on religious congregations for the United States for 2009 (including maps for counties and special census areas, as well as point maps of the actual congregation locations), decennial religious congregation data for 1980-2010, and carbon emissions data for 2002. Users can create reports and maps at various levels of geography, including counties, Census tracts, Census block groups, and ZIP Codes, depending on data availability.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Coverage: 1790-present

    Subjects: African American Studies, Economics, Education, Georgia, History US, Journalism, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  4. Social Sciences Citation Index

    The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

    Subjects include anthropology, political science, history, public health, library science, law, sociology, linguistics, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, and women's studies. SSCI is included as a part of Web of Science.

    SSCI can be searched via an Endnote connection file.

    Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: 1956 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  5. Social Sciences Full Text

    A database that provides access to journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Education, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Environmental Sciences

    Expand
  6. Statesman┬┐s Yearbook

    Provides overviews of country information, chronologies of various world events and information on intergovernmental organizations. Archives of previous years are in pdf format.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Political Science, Sociology, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  7. Statistical Abstract of the United States

    Statistical Abstract of the U.S. provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Divided into broad sections such as Population; Health and Nutrition; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Foreign Commerce and Aid; and many others, the database can be searched or browsed to retrieve results that can then be narrowed by source, geography, time period, subject, and other breakdowns.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Economics, Government Information, Health, History Modern 1800-, Political Science, Sociology, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  8. Supreme Court Yearbook

    Essential coverage of the U.S. Supreme Court, updated yearly since 1989. Completely searchable.For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Political Science

    Expand
  9. Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University

    The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S.

    national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US, Journalism, News Sources, Political Science

    Expand
  10. UN iLibrary

    The United Nations iLibrary is the first comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. The UN iLibrary currently consists of publications regarding human rights, climate change, economic and social development, international peace and security, international law, and public health.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Political Science

    Expand
  11. Vital Statistics on American Politics

    An essential resource for statistical information on all aspects of U.S. politics. Tables are available in CSV and Excel formats.For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Political Science

    Expand
  12. Washington Information Directory

    Guide to key contacts (phone, fax, email) at U.S. government agencies and organizations.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Political Science

    Expand
  13. Web of Science (ISI Citation Indexes)

    A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.

    Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., its bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work.

    Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) 1975 to present
    Current Chemical Reactions 1986 to present (CCR includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)
    Index Chemicus 1996 to present
    Science Citation Index Expanded 1955 to present
    Social Sciences Citation Index 1956 to present

    Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.

    • Coverage: varies

    Subjects: Psychology, Environmental Sciences, Science and Technology, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Book Reviews, Business, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Middle East Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  14. Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights (Proquest History Vault)

    Collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College consist of materials documenting voting rights, national politics and reproductive rights from national, regional and local leaders.

    National leaders featured in this module include Carrie Chapman Catt, Matilda Joslyn Gage and many others. Regional and local leaders represented include Harriet Burton Laidlaw, Helen Barten Owens, Clementina Rhodes Hartshorne and many others. On the topic of national politics, major collections include papers of Molly Dewson, Emma Guffey Miller, Sue Shelton White, Jeannette Rankin, and Jessica Weis. Collections on reproductive rights are the Schlesinger Library Family Planning Oral History Project and the papers of Mary Ware Dennett and the Voluntary Parenthood League.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: TBD

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Health, History Modern 1800-, History US, Political Science, Public Health, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  15. World Bank eLibrary

    The World Bank eLibrary is a collection of the World Bank’s numerous publications, reports, working papers and other related documents. All texts are searchable by both topic and region, and available in full-text.

    Currently, over 4,500 documents are indexed in the database. The World Bank’s areas of focus include economic and social development, education, environmental issues, health, and finance.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1990-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Development Studies, Economics, Education, Health, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Political Science, Sociology, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  16. World News Connection

    Archive (1995-2013) of the World News Connection service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1994 to present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Business, Current Events, Journalism, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Political Science

    Expand