- Your selections:
- HISTORY, WORLD
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 76 - 100 of 187
This database provides abstracts and full text articles from major Chinese newspapers on the subjects of literature, history, arts and philosophy.Expand
Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History World, News Sources, Philosophy
China: Culture and Society is a digital collection of about 1,200 extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.Expand
The pamphlets cover speeches, guides, reports, essays, catalogues, magazine articles and other material addressing Chinese history, culture, and everyday life. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. The wide variety of research interests and themes covered by the pamphlets include education, emigration, the foreign presence, missionaries, wars, rebellion, reform, opium, healthcare and language.
Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources
This database includes the English-language newspapers from China from 1932 to 1953. Papers covers the North China Herald (1850-1941), Canton Times (1917-1920), China Critic, The China Press (1925-1938), the China Weekly Review (1917-1953), the Chinese Recorder (1868-1940), the Chinese Repository (1831-1851), the Peking Daily News (1914-1917), the Peking Gazette (1915-1917), the Peking Leader (1918-1919), the Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), the Shanghai Times (1914-1921).Expand
Subjects: Business, Chinese Studies, Economics, Education, History World, Journalism, News Sources, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Theater Studies
From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society.Expand
Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Biographies, Chinese Studies, Comparative Literature, Economics, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Middle East Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Political Science, Religion, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Contains all the information about the American Civil War printed in the Illustrated London News from 1861-1865, including illustrations, as well as social, political, and technological history.Expand
Text and illustrations are searchable by keyword or date, and illustrations are searchable by subject as well.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources
ClasePeriodica is a combined periodical index produced at the National Autonomous University of Mexico. Articles, essays, book reviews and other information are indexed from journals published in 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries as well as publications with a Pan-American focus.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Comparative Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Reports, publications, and news broadcasts offering firsthand analysis, descriptions, and viewpoints of the Cold War. This collection is a subset of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) database from Readex.Expand
Subjects: History US, History World
The Colonial State Papers (CO1) is a database of documents that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574 and 1757, and that relate to the governance of and activities in, the American, Canadian, and West Indian Colonies of England.Expand
The database also contains the Calendar of the State Papers Colonial: North America and West Indies, which includes bibliographic descriptions of documents from COI and other Colonial Office Files.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, History US
Confidential Print: Africa provides scholars with unprecedented electronic access to the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966.Expand
This important new resource will provide researchers with a searchable collection of scores of official documents covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonization of Africa. The early stages of imperial expansion and indigenous resistance in the interior of western and southern Africa, the European scramble for the continent in the late nineteenth century and the expansion of settler colonialism in southern and eastern Africa are all covered, as are the rising challenges to imperialism in the twentieth century that culminated in the rapid European withdrawal from the continent in the 1950s and 1960s.
Subjects: African American Studies, Area Studies, Government Information, History World
Confidential Print North America is a digital collection of British Foreign and Colonial Office files from the National Archives at Kew. Documents include reports, dispatches, weekly political summaries, and monthly economic reports pertaining to the United States, Canada, the Caribbean and Central America.Expand
The database is indexed and is full-text searchable. It forms part of the Adam Matthew's Archives Direct collection of British National Archives records.
Subjects: Government Information, American Indian Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, Archives and Primary Sources
Credo Ready-Reference services feature full-text, aggregated content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. Credo Ready-Reference is a user interface that combines content from multiple publishers cross-referencing technology.Expand
Subjects: Business, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Reference Sources
The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is an authoritative biographical dictionary published for Ireland.Expand
Contains 9,014 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavor, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
Subjects: History World
Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the world's most influential literary figures. It includes the Gale series:
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook
Subjects: African American Studies, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Biographies, History US
Over the past 25 years, during the archival revolution, historians have done a tremendous job - tens of thousands of important archival documents have been identified and published.Expand
These publications mainly exist in paper form, their small circulations (up to 1000 copies) were distributed to a limited number of libraries and scientific and educational organizations. Therefore, access to these important sources is difficult for a wide range of researchers and Internet users. The objective of the project is to create an Electronic Library of Historical Documents, in which researchers in open access can find, in the long term, all historical documents published in Russia since 1991. Documents are in Russian.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies
Docuseek2 is an streaming video database covering the films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.Expand
Users can see licensed content by clicking on the My Movies link at the top of most pages, or search for content, and view it by clicking on the Licensed icon in the search results, or, from the product page, clicking on the View tab. All individual streaming video titles are also available at the title-level in DiscoverE.
Subjects: Audio and Video Online, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Computer Science, Current Events, Dance, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, Georgia, Government Information, Health, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies, Jewish Studies, Journalism, Korean Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, News Sources, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
The Economist Historical Archive ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.Expand
In 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is a unrivalled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries. This is an ongoing archive.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Economics, History Modern 1800-, History World, Political Science
Digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, Eighteenth Century Collections Online allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Philosophy, Religion
This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.Expand
Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology
This volume of Encyclopaedia Islamica is the first of a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da'irat al-Ma'arif-i Buzurg-i Islami, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.Expand
One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shi'i Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it off ers the western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shi'i Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilisation, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition. (1-3 simultaneous users)1-3 simultaneous users
Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Middle East Studies
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics represents a unique collaboration of a few hundred scholars from around the world and covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic).Expand
The EALL Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches to be as objective and versatile as possible. The online edition is cross-searchable, cross-referenced and regularly updated.
Subjects: Area Studies, Classics, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion, Middle East Studies
The Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture spans prehistoric times to the present, and treats both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland in detail. Entries represent an inclusive, cross-disciplinary approach, written by specialists in history, archaeology, anthropology, geography, politics, economics, the Irish and English languages and literatures, the visual arts and other fields.Expand
Subjects: History World
The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion and culture which until now lacked its own cohesive/discrete reference work.Expand
The Encyclopedia aims to fill the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies
HeinOnline allows you to search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, Full Reprint along with its "Index of Cases" and "Index Chart." This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865.Expand
It represents reprints of 275 separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. The English Reports, Full Reprint contains over 100,000 cases reprinted verbatim and spans the years 1220 to 1867.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World
When complete, this database will provide access to more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. Coverage will include Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak, and Welsh descent.Expand
In progress, content will continue to be added until digitization is complete.Walk-in users: OK; Unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Ethnic Studies, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, News Sources
Explores European history from 1450-1789, from the print revolution to the French Revolution. Includes 1,150 articles written by eminent scholars covering major topics in art, government, and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period.Expand
Also covers topics specific to the era, such as apocalypticism, guilds, food riots, royal mistresses and lovers, the Spanish Inquisition, Utopia and others.
Subjects: History World