Database Results for Your Selections

Results 76 - 100 of 170

  1. Apartheid South Africa

    Apartheid South Africa (ASA) makes available British government files from the National Archives at Kew from the Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period between 1948 and 1966.

    The scope of the file begins with the implementation of apartheid by South Africa’s National Party in 1948. Some of the materials here were previously restricted.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1948-1966

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  2. Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

    ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts is an indexing and abstracting tool covering journals in health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

    Currently covers over 500 journals from 16 countries.

    • Coverage: 1987-present

    Subjects: Education, Economics, Psychology, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  3. Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew)

    The Adam Matthew Archvie Explorer Cross-searches over 35 Adam Matthew primary source databases. These multiple resources concentrate on English language archival material from the UK and the USA.

    See also these individually listed databases: American West, China: Culture and Society, China: Trade, Politics and Culture, Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966, Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Defining Gender, Eighteenth Century Journals I- V, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America, First World War, Foreign Office Files for China I-III, Foreign Office Files India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 , Global Commodities, India, Raj and Empire, Jewish Life in America, Literary, Manuscripts (Berg), Literary Manuscripts (Leeds), London Low Life, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Mass Observation Online, Medieval Family Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Meiji Japan, Perdita Manuscripts, Rock And Roll, Romanticism, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, The Grand Tour, The Nixon Years, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture, Virginia Company Archives, Women in The National Archives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1580-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  4. Archive of Americana

    Includes  Portal for searching across historical collections from Readex such as America’s Historical Imprints, America’s Historical Newspapers and African American Periodicals.

    • Coverage: 18th, 19th, 20th centuries

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  5. ArchiveGrid

    A research tool that replaces and augments RLG's Archival Resources database. ArchiveGrid attempts to provide a single point of entry to worldwide archival holdings.

    Scholars can search for and view archival and manuscript collection descriptions, locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US

    Expand
  6. Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: Part 1: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940

    Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity, Part 1: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world.

    Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1940-

    Subjects: Law, LGBT Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.

    Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    • Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era
    • Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
    • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
    • Federal Response to Radicalism
    • James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
    • Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
    • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
    • Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection
    • Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848
    • Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949
    • Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
    • East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
    Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound, "Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era

    Digital archive of the early-20th century magazine, Moving Picture World, which set a standard for the broadest possible coverage of silent film, and reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry.

    • Content: 115,972 images
    • Source Library: Library of Congress
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1907-1927

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound, "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961

    Surveillance reports, chronologies, witness statements and other declassified documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library related to the 1961 Freedom Rides.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound, African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947

    Digitized collection of the National Negro Congress, an organization established in 1936 to "secure the right of the Negro people to be free from Jim Crowism, segregation, discrimination, lynching, and mob violence" and "to promote the spirit of unity and cooperation between Negro and white people." Originals are held by the Schomburg Center, New York Public Library.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1933-1947

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound, Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League

    Digitized documents from the National Negro Business League, an organization founded in 1901 "to promote the commercial and financial development of the Negro."

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1901-1928

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound, Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)

    Digital collection of documents pertaining to Muhammad Ahmad (Max Sanford) and the Revolutionary Action Movement, a black nationalist group in operation in the mid-1960s.

    The collection contains letters, speeches, and financial records from Ahmad's personal archive, as well as FBI files and other related material.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1962-1999

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound, Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation

    Digital collection of materials that document a broad range of civil rights issues during the George H. W. Bush Administration. The collection includes memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, news summaries, draft legislation, and statements of administration policy from various White House staff offices and White House central correspondence files.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1989-1991 (small amount of materials from 1981-1989)

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  14. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  15. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  16. Archives Unbound, Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63

    Digital archive of formerly classified documents from the U.S. State Department relating to Czechoslovakia. Records include reports on politics and military affairs, statistics, interviews and minutes of meetings, court proceedings, US diplomatic cables, translations of high-level foreign government documents, journals and newspapers.

    • Content: 52,359 pages
    • Source Library: U.S. National Archives
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1963

    Subjects: Government Information, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  17. Archives Unbound, East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950 - 1963

    Digital archive of the records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of East Germany. Documents within the collection provide an in-depth look into the creation of the East German state, living conditions, and its people

    • Content: 34,479 images
    • Source Library: National Archives II, College Park, MD
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1950-1963

    Subjects: Government Information, History US, History World

    Expand
  18. Archives Unbound, Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1935-1910

    Digital archive consisting of Board of Foreign Missions records of the Presbyterian Church. The majority of the material consists of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.

    Other primary sources include diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale, and field accounts.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1835-1910

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  19. Archives Unbound, Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman

    Digital collection of correspondence, financial records, photographs, news clippings, and other records that document the life of civil rights activist Fanny Lou Hamer (1917-1977).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1966-1978

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  20. Archives Unbound, FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC

    Digital collection of FBI files related to civil rights activist James Forman (1928-2005) and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961-1976

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  21. Archives Unbound, Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s, 1956-1971

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on the following radical groups and their movements to change American government and society: COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI, Abbie Hoffman, Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Muslim Mosque, Inc., Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference

    • Content: 87,391 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1956-1971

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  22. Archives Unbound, Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on African American groups including A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, Cointelpro/Black Nationalist Hate Groups, Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, Highlander Folk School, Ku Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Moorish Science Temple of America, Murder of Lemuel Penn, Muslim Mosque, Inc., NAACP, National Negro Congress, Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, Thurgood Marshall, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey.

    • Content: 88,021 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1920-1984

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  23. Archives Unbound, Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress

    Digital collection of the papers of the Civil Rights Congress (CRC), a civil rights organization formed in 1946 by a merger of the International Labor Defense and the National Federation of Constitutional Liberties.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1946-1955

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  24. Archives Unbound, Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945

    Digital collection of materials related to civil rights issues from President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Official File. Topics covered include lynching, segregation, race riots, and employment discrimination.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1933-1945

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  25. Archives Unbound, Grassroots Civil Rights & Social Activism: FBI Files on Benjamin J. Davis, Jr.

    Digital collection of FBI Files pertaining to Benjamin J. Davis (1903-1964), an influential African American member of the Communist Party.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1990

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand