- Your selections:
- English And American Literature
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 76 - 100 of 124
The Medieval Family Life database contains the only 5 major letter collections from fifteenth century England, the Paston, Stonor, Cely, Plumpton and Armburgh Papers.Expand
The Paston letters document the life of a gentry family during the War of the Roses. The Celys were a merchant family in the wool trade and collections contains commercial dealings for both the economic and social historians. Plumptons documents continue through to the early 16th century, and Armburgh family material is primarily concerned with a dispute over a family inheritance. It includes both the original medieval manuscripts and transcripts, as well as family trees, a chronology, a glossary, a and an interactive map.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World
Designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature, History World
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.ExpandEBSCOhost version
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Naxos Spoken Word Library has over 6,000 audiobooks in English, French, German, and Portuguese, with a focus on classic and other public domain books. A downloadable mobile app allows offline listening, though requires further registration.Expand
Subjects: Classics, English and American Literature, Philosophy
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a full-text database of primary sources from the 19th Century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.Expand
- Emory Libraries has access to four collections in this database:
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
- British Politics and Society
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music, Theater Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Nineteenth-Century Fiction represents the landmarks of the period, portraying the genre in all its energy and variety, from Gothic horror to social satire, from moral earnestness to aestheticism, from masculine adventure to feminist polemic.Expand
Nineteenth-Century Fiction also contains examples of other genres or sub-genres such as the 'Silver Fork' school, historical fiction, the 'novel of ideas', children's stories and the 'New Woman' novel. In addition to the better-known novels, the collection covers many neglected or little-known works, most of them out of print or difficult to find.
Subjects: English and American Literature
Paratext's 19th-Century Masterfile is a vast "index of indexes," bringing together in one database the contents of dozens of subject indexes that cover American and British periodicals, books, and government documents published from the late 18th to the early 20th century.Expand
A select number of periodical titles, including Harper's Monthly, Atlantic Monthly, and Scribner's Monthly, as well as the U.S. Congressional Record are available in full text. A valuable resource for students and faculty studying 19th and early 20th century life and culture. More details about indexes covered in 19th Century Masterfile.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources
The database contains over 240 plays by 48 playwrights. Including a wealth of dramatic material, some of which was previously unpublished, overlooked, or inaccessible, this collection includes plays produced by the Native American Theatre Ensemble (NATE), Spiderwoman Theater, Toronto’s Native Earth Performing Arts, Seattle’s Red Eagle Soaring, and New York’s Coatlicue Theater Company. The collection includes American Indian and First Nation playwrights from groups including Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Hawaiian/Samoan, Comanche, Cree, Navaho, and Rappahannock.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, American Indian Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History US, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
American literature is characterized by the many cultures, religions, and ethnicities that have contributed to the larger American literary tradition and invites trans-disciplinary collaboration.Expand
Oxford Bibliographies in American Literature provides authoritative essays and citations for guidance.
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US
As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today.Expand
A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. Oxford Bibliographies Online’s British and Irish Literature provides expert guidance through articles and citations.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History Early Modern 1450-1800
The Victorian era was highly conscious of its own relation to the past – its ‘heritage’ or place in history – but it also sensed its role in shaping the future.Expand
For modern readers, it has come to represent both our literary past and the beginnings of modernity. Students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature to offer a reliable, up-to-date guide to the best literature in the field through essays and citations.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, English and American Literature
Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual (English) Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish dictionaries. Also includes unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.Expand
Subjects: Area Studies, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Reference Sources, Spanish
This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.Expand
Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology
Parker Library on the Web offers users online access to high resolution digital images of more than 550 manuscripts at Corpus Christ College, from the 6th century through the 16th.Expand
Within the Library is one the best collections of extant Anglo-Saxon manuscripts; a large collection of key Anglo-Norman and Middle English texts, and a magnificent collection of English illuminated manuscripts. The manuscripts are described and annotated, with references to relevant editions, translations, and other literature. The web site also includes on-line tutorials on searching the collection and in viewing results.
Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450
Full-text electronic editions of classic western philosophical, theological and literary authors, from ancient times to the early twentieth century and including personal writings as well as major works.Expand
All texts available in English translation. Some texts also available in Latin, French, or German.
Subjects: Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Religion
This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. Perdita means "lost woman" and the purpose of the project has been to find early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form.Expand
Over 230 entries have been selected and digitized. In addition to the digital facsimiles, the site includes biographical and bibliographical information and essays by specialists in the field.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Philosophy, Religion, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Provides citations to plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to date. Covers wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio or television plays, and classic drama.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature, Theater Studies
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Economics, English and American Literature, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Library and Information Science, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.Expand
Note: If you receive the error "ProQuest is unable to authenticate your user account," use the ProQuest cookie cutter to correct it.
Subjects: English and American Literature, Multidisciplinary Databases
From a single interface, researchers can access over 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers. On average, 100,000 newly published titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build dynamic collections that meet the unique needs of their community of researchers.Expand
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Comparative Literature, Computer Science, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Health, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Library and Information Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology
This full text, full image database covers the 141 surviving volumes of Queen Victoria’s journal and reproduces the pages as high-resolution color images and includes separate photographs of the illustrations and inserts contained within the pages.Expand
The journals contain household and family concerns, as well as comments on literature and affairs of state and are a valuable primary source for scholars of nineteenth-century British political and social history, as well as for those working on gender studies and autobiographical writing.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Science and Technology, Womens and Gender Studies
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.Expand
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape provides unique access to rare and priceless literary sources in the form of original documents for the Romantic period.Expand
Romanticism includes verse and prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, legal and financial records, and guide books. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of William Wordsworth and the wider social, political, and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries. In addition, this collection makes available the writings of Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey, Robert Southey, Mary Wordsworth, Dora Wordsworth, and Sara Hutchinson, as well as masses of personal correspondence between key literary and political figures of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Also included are over 2,500 fine art pieces from the Wordsworth Trust’s fine art collection that serve to contextualize the work of the poets and writers represented. They also provide a vivid and evocative representation of the rich, natural landscape that surrounded the Lake poets and served to inspire so much of their creativity.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Womens and Gender Studies
The purpose of the Beckett Digital Manuscript Project is to reunite the manuscripts of Samuel Beckett's works in a digital way, and to facilitate genetic research: the project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are now preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett's manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, a search engine, and an analysis of the textual genesis of his worksExpand
Subjects: English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, Archives and Primary Sources
Provides access to full-text of Elsevier journals in science, technology and medicine, as well as selected social sciences and humanities titles. (Incorporates Academic Press Journals).Expand
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, English and American Literature, Library and Information Science, Mathematics, Physics, Psychology, Science and Technology