Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 26

  1. Archives Unbound, Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945

    Digital collection of materials related to civil rights issues from President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Official File. Topics covered include lynching, segregation, race riots, and employment discrimination.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1933-1945
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound, Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis and the Communist Workers Party

    Digital collection of documents related to the 1979 "Greensboro Massacre." Materials include files from the FBI, local and state police, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, and the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1979-1981
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound, Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963

    Digital collection of documents related to the integration of the University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa. Materials primarily consist of records from the Department of the Army regarding the confrontation between the Governor of Alabama and the President of the United States, which resulted the federalization of the Alabama National Guard.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound, Liberation Movement in Africa and African America

    Digitized FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and the All African People’s Revolutionary Party.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1970-1985
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound, Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement

    Digital collection of documents related to African American writer Amiri Baraka. Materials include rare works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, over one hundred articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, a small amount of personal correspondence, and oral histories.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1913-1998
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound, Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979

    Digital collection of the records of the United Domestic Workers Union of Atlanta, Georgia, from 1965-1979.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1965-1979
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound, Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement

    Transcriptions of nearly 700 oral histories from the Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection. Topics covered include voting rights, discrimination in housing, school desegregation, racism in hiring, police brutality, and poverty in African American communities.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1967-1973
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound, Republic of New Afrika

    Digital collection of FBI documents related to the Republic of New Afrika (RNA). The RNA was a social movement organization that advocated for the creation of an African American majority country in the southeastern United States, argued that the federal government pay reparations to African American descendants of slaves, and demanded a referendum of all African Americans to allow them to decide their citizenry.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1968-1980
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound, Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party: Papers of James and Esther Cooper Jackson

    Digital collection of the papers of African American communists and civil rights activists James and Esther Cooper Jackson. The collection includes biographical material, correspondence, lectures, notebooks, speeches, and subject files pertaining to the Communist Party and the Southern Negro Youth Congress.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1932-2000
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound: European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930

    The Dutch East Indies experienced the replacement of company rule by Dutch government rule and the complete transformation of Java into a colonial society and the successful extension of colonial rule to Sumatra and the eastern archipelago during the early 20th century.

    The boundaries of the modern state of Indonesia were defined during this time and the process of generally exploitative political, military, and economic integration began. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1930
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound: Industrial Mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918

    The standard reference source on the unprecedented industrial mobilization of an entire economy to fight the war of 1914-1918, this 12 volume set has previously only been available in a few select libraries with which the British government deposited copies.

    It is essential for anyone who wants to study the economics behind World War I, the career of David Lloyd George and the process of state intervention in industry. The history of the Ministry of Munitions is one of the most extraordinary and instructive episodes in modern British history. Within less than three years, David Lloyd George and his successors transformed the face of British industry and created the largest government department the county had ever seen. As many as 1,600,000 men and 800,000 women were employed on protected munitions work on behalf of the Ministry. Control was exercised over the iron, steel, chemical, and engineering industries. Over 15,000 firms were engaged on munitions work. A third of them were controlled establishments', giving precedence to government contracts and employing labor on conditions prescribed by the Ministry. More than 200 factories were either nationalized or specially built for munitions work.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1915-1918
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound: Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949

    This publication comprises two collections, Records Regarding Bank Investigations and Records Relating to Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, from the records of the Office of the Finance Division and Finance Advisor in the Office of Military Government, U.S.

    Zone (Germany) (OMGUS), during the period 1945-1949.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound: Nazism in Poland: The Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank (1939-1945)

    This collection reproduces the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945.

    The journal is in typed format, in chronological order, covering all aspect of Generalgouvernment (GG) administration from its seat in the royal Wawel castle in Krakau (Kraków). The entries reflect careful, thoughtful consideration of administrative matters, rather than the spontaneous thoughts or feelings usually found in a diary. The journal was typed with meticulous care and divided into 38 volumes. Frank’s time away from his official duties in Poland is accounted for but not described in the journal.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1945
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  14. Archives Unbound: Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration

    This archive is composed of the "Cabinet Conclusion" files from all the debates and transactions for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland, 1921–1972.

    These documents are key to any study of the turbulent history of Britain and Ireland during much of the 20th century. Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921–1972 makes available to researchers the working details of every aspect of local administration in peace and war, as well as covering the re-emergence of the civil strife that was to last for more than 30 years. This unique collection will be an essential addition to the holdings of all libraries supporting international studies, British history and the history of modern Ireland, north and south.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1921-1972
    • New

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  15. Archives Unbound: Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939

    The Nationalist-Communist turmoil in China provided an easy opportunity for Japan to further its goals in the 1930s. Japan saw Manchuria as a limitless supply of raw materials, a market for her manufactured goods (now excluded from many Western countries by Depression era tariffs), and as a protective buffer state against the Soviet Union in Siberia.

    Japan invaded Manchuria outright after the Mukden Incident in September 1931. After five months of fighting, the puppet state of Manchukuo was established in 1932, with the last emperor of China, Pu Yi, installed as a puppet ruler. Militarily too weak to directly challenge Japan, China appealed to the League of Nations for help. The League's investigation was published as the Lytton Report, condemning Japan for its incursion into Manchuria, and causing Japan to withdraw from the League of Nations entirely. Appeasement being the predominant policy of the day, no country was willing to take action against Japan beyond tepid censure. The records included in Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department are primarily instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials, often accompanied by enclosures.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1939
    • New

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  16. Archives Unbound: Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project

    Digital collection of newsletters, magazines, newspapers, letters and other assorted literature published by Rastafari organizations between 1971 and 2014.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1971-2014
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies

    Expand
  17. Archives Unbound: SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries Hosting (1944-1945)

    SAFEHAVEN was the code name of a project of the Foreign Economic Administration, in cooperation with the State Department and the military services, to block the flow of German capital across neutral boundaries and to identify and observe all German overseas investments.

    During and after World War II the United States Government expended considerable resources on the looted art issue partly through the SAFEHAVEN Programme which aimed to identify, recover, and restitute Nazi looted assets. It was believed that upwards 20% of the art of Europe was looted by the Nazis. The archive records the interest of many people, as well as foreign governments, to know what happened to the assets Holocaust victims placed on deposit in Swiss banks and what happened to all the gold that the Nazis had looted from the central banks of Europe. It provides a full account of the role played during the war by the United States Government in their dealings with the Nazi looted assets.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1944-1945
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  18. Archives Unbound: State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Korea (1941-1947)

    This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

    The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on China.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1947
    • New

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  19. Archives Unbound: State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Japan (1941-1947)

    This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

    The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on Japan.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1947
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  20. Archives Unbound: The Dublin Castle Records 1798-1926

    The Dublin Castle administration in Ireland was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule, from the twelfth century until 1922, based at Dublin Castle.

    Dublin Castle Records, 1798-1926 contains records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922, a crucial period which saw the rise of Parnell and the Land War in 1880 through to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1921. This collection comprises materials from Series CO 904, The National Archives, Kew, UK.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1798-1926
    • New

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  21. Archives Unbound: The Papers of Joseph Chamberlain (1836-1914)

    The Papers of Joseph Chamberlain highlight his political career as Mayor of Birmingham to Secretary of State for the Colonies and the fight over tariff reforms with which he ended his career.

    This collection demonstrates the rapid change in politics, particularly the constantly changing allegiances between politicians and Chamberlain’s own development as a politician. Newspaper clippings of his early speeches, the only record still existing of them, can also be found in this collection, recording his political career from start to finish.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1836-1914
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  22. Archives Unbound: The Papers of Neville Chamberlain (1869-1940)

    Neville Chamberlain, Joseph’s younger son, remains the best-known of the Chamberlain family due to his controversial policy of “appeasement” towards Hitler.

    The Papers of Neville Chamberlain contain political papers documenting his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer and Prime Minister, but also highlight his personal correspondence with his family. These provide insight into the intentions behind his policies, his concerns at the development of the Second World War, as well as letters covering his life together with his wife Annie and his sisters, particularly Hilda and Ida.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1869-1940
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  23. Archives Unbound: The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain (1863-1937)

    Sir Austen Chamberlain, Joseph’s eldest son, was Britain’s most capable Foreign Secretary of the interwar period, earning the Nobel Peace Prize for the signing of the Locarno Treaties in 1925.

    As a career politician, he held a variety of government offices, and The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain contains political papers that variously document his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer, Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs and Leader of the House of Commons. These provide insight into the intentions behind his policies, the development of foreign affairs for both the First and Second World Wars, and his role in the wartime coalition government. The papers also include personal correspondence with his family, including his sister and wife, and highlight his close friendship with his stepmother, Mary Endicott.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1863-1937
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  24. Classical Scores Library

    Classical Scores Library contains more than 50,000 complete scores, ranging from the middle ages to the present, all of which you can view online or print out for use.

    The collection contains over 20,000 works from the 20th and 21st century, many of which are still under copyright and not readily available elsewhere online. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1328-current
    • Trial

    Subjects: Music

    Expand
  25. ProQuest Ebook Central

    From a single interface, researchers can access over 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers. On average, 100,000 newly published titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build dynamic collections that meet the unique needs of their community of researchers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • New

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Comparative Literature, Computer Science, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Health, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Library and Information Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand