Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 5 of 5

  1. Archives Unbound, "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:" Freedom Riders in the South, 1961

    Surveillance reports, chronologies, witness statements and other declassified documents from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library related to the 1961 Freedom Rides.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound, African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947

    Digitized collection of the National Negro Congress, an organization established in 1936 to "secure the right of the Negro people to be free from Jim Crowism, segregation, discrimination, lynching, and mob violence" and "to promote the spirit of unity and cooperation between Negro and white people." Originals are held by the Schomburg Center, New York Public Library.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1933-1947
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound, Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League

    Digitized documents from the National Negro Business League, an organization founded in 1901 "to promote the commercial and financial development of the Negro."

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1901-1928
    • New

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound: European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929

    German Colonial aspirations in Asia and the Pacific ended with the start of the First World War. Japanese Army forces seized German leased territories in China and the Japanese naval forces occupied the German Pacific colonies.

    The Treaty of Versailles legitimized Japan's aggression and the territories were officially mandated to the Japanese government. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the Japanese mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1929
    • New

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound: La Guerra Civil EspaƱola = The Spanish Civil War Collection

    The Spanish Civil War Collection presents approximately 3,000 rare pamphlets from this tumultuous period, including publications from Spain, Portugal, Latin America and the Philippines, as well as more than 100 German pamphlets published in Spanish.

    Distributed throughout Spain, Germany, Italy, the Soviet Union and North America, these pamphlets represent the opinions and philosophies of the insurgents, anarchists, socialists and communists. They contain a wealth of information on Spanish and international history, ideology, political science, church and state conflicts, nationalism, socialism, fascism and communism.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1939
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History World, Spanish

    Expand