Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 15 of 15

  1. Archives Unbound: Cambodia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963

    This collection provides a window into the political, social, and economic development of Cambodia, the rapidly maturing “modern” state in the heart of Southeast Asia.

    Traced here is the critical legacy of Prince Norodom Sihanouk (1922-2012), the nation’s controversial and paradoxical leader. Khmer nationalism, loyalty to the monarch, struggle against injustice and corruption, and protection of the Buddhist religion were in the forefront of developments in this period. The archive is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam. The files are arranged according to the classification system of U.S. State Department Records, and they cover a wide range of internal political affairs.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1960-1963
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound: India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department

    Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation.

    This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound: India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the US State Department, February 1963-1966

    Over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963-1966
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound: Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975

    Primarily Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnam’s political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnam’s military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1967-1975
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound: Laos: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1963-1966

    This archive treats the political affairs of Laos in the 1960s, when the United States supported the government of Souvanna Phouma in the face of North Vietnamese aggression.

    The collection is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam. It offers a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; conference proceedings and international legal documents; full texts of instructions and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; translations of high-level foreign government documents, such as speeches; and memoranda, official reports, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963-1966
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Library and Information Science, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound: Pakistan from Crown Rule to Republic: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949

    A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949, this collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan. Representative documents with valuable details include the “Economic Survey,” dated April-June 1949, and issued by the Board of Economic Inquiry, West Punjab, Lahore, and “Dacca Newsletter,” dated July 1949.

    The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound: South Vietnam: Records of the Office of the Defense Attache, 1973-1975

    The Defense Attaché Office (DAO) Saigon was organized and was activated on 28 January 1973. DAO Saigon was a unique organization. It performed the traditional functions of a defense attaché, managed American military affairs in Vietnam after the cease-fire, including the programs for the support of the Republic of Vietnam’s Armed Forces (RVNAF), and furnished housekeeping support to Americans remaining in Vietnam after the ceasefire.

    Aside from the support of the RVNAF, it reported on operational matters and produced intelligence information on which subsequent decisions concerning the Military Assistance Program and American interests in Southeast Asia could be based. The DAO was evacuated from South Vietnam during the fall of Saigon on April 29, 1975. This collection comprises the DAO’s Historian’s Office files, including the official DAO History and the background files used in its compilation. The background files consist of serial reports, program memoranda and correspondence, operational and planning historical reports, intelligence summaries, briefing papers, press releases, and documents on the ceasefire.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1973-1975
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Linguistics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound: Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963

    The records in this collection cover the internal and foreign policies, personalities, and events in a pivotal period of Indonesian history. The charismatic leader of Indonesia, Achmed Sukarno, steered his country between the political machinations of the Army Staff and the Indonesian Communist Party (PKI).

    These records consist of essential memoranda, correspondence, telegrams, memoranda of conversations, reports, and news articles and cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Indonesia, Indonesian internal affairs, and Indonesia’s relations with its neighbors.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1960-1963
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Medicine, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound: The Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920

    For generations of British and Indian Officers and men, the North-West Frontier was the scene of repeated skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man’s land between India and Afghanistan.

    This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives. This collection is a welcome addition to the new-flourishing literature on the military history of South Asia and the growing field of serious study of the British military experience in India.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1914-1920
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound: U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: U.S. Operations Mission, 1954-1957 - Classified & Subject Files of the Executive Office

    This collection consists of unique records of the U.S. Operations Mission established to intervene in Vietnam-the country U.S. foreign policy deemed a lynchpin in the free world’s fight against communism.

    The Classified & Subject Files of the Executive Office, document the myriad concerns and rationales that went into the control and direction of U.S. economic and technical assistance programs, as well as the coordination of mutual security activities, with respect to Vietnam.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1954-1957
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Linguistics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound: U.S. Military Advisory Effort in Vietnam: Military Assistance Advisory Group, Vietnam, 1950-1964

    President Harry Truman had approved National Security Council (NSC) Memorandum 64 in March 1950, proclaiming that French Indochina (Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos) was a key area that could not be allowed to fall to the communists and that the U.S.

    would provide support against communist aggression in the area. However, NSC 64 did not identify who would receive the aid, the French or the South Vietnamese. The French did not want the aid to go directly to the South Vietnamese and opposed the presence of any American advisory group. Nevertheless, the U.S. government argued that such a team would be necessary to coordinate requisitioning, procurement, and dissemination of supplies and equipment. Accordingly, an advisory group was dispatched to Saigon. In the long run, however, the French high command ignored the MAAG in formulating strategy, denied them any role in training the Vietnamese, and refused to keep them informed of current operations and future plans. By 1952, the U.S. would bear roughly one-third of the cost of the war the French were fighting, but find itself with very little influence over French military policy in Southeast Asia or the way the war was waged. Ultimately, the French were defeated at the Battle of Dien Bien Phu and withdraw from Vietnam, passing the torch to the U.S. In 1964, MAAG Vietnam would be disbanded and its advisory mission and functions integrated into the U.S. Military Assistance Command Vietnam (MACV), which had been establish

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1950-1964
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Linguistics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound: U.S. Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asia

    This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of U.S.-Southeast Asia relations between 1944 and 1958, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned the American role in Southeast Asia.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1944-1958
    • New

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  13. Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

    The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 includes every published issue, from the first in 1842 to the last in 2003. Entirely full-text searchable with new, high-quality digital imaging from flat unbound print sets, it combines information and the power of pictures to provide unique perspective on virtually every aspect of modern life and those who helped shape it over more than 160 years.

    The ILN covers a wide range of subject areas in the 19th and 20th centuries making it an invaluable resource for multi-disciplinary research.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1842-2003
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  14. Naxos Video Library

    An extensive streaming library of over 2,700 videos, including mainly opera, classical music performances, ballet, and live concerts; also includes some theater and documentaries.

    Extensive subtitles provided. Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users: please log out before closing the connection.

    Subjects: Anthropology, Film and Media Studies, History World, Music, Theater Studies

    Expand
  15. Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest

    Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy to support research in this interdisciplinary area of study of Europe and Africa.

    Additionally, this collection includes the features that scholars require -- such as detailed subject indexing and metadata, textual analysis tools, personalized user accounts, and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 19th Century
    • New

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion

    Expand