Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 7 of 7

  1. Bibliography of American Literature

    Recognized as one of the greatest achievements of twentieth-century scholarship, the Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930.

    More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

    • Coverage: 1776-1930

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US

    Expand
  2. Black Drama

    Black Drama contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

    Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. When completed, the database will have over 1,200 plays.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1850 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  3. Black Literature 1827-1940

    Indexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States.

    • Coverage: 1827-1940

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  4. Black Studies Center

    Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper.

    The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  5. Black Studies on Disc (Index to Black Periodicals)

    Indexes scholarly and popular periodicals in African American studies. Black Studies on Disc also includes provides access to the cumulative catalog of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

    The Schomburg catalog contains references for African American, African, and African Diasporan studies. The Index to Black Periodicals is available in print. (Woodruff Library Reference AI3 .O4).

    • Coverage: 1988-1999

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  6. British Online Archives

    This archive of digitized microfilm has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonized by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia.

    Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1994

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  7. British Records on the Atlantic World, 1700-1900

    This database provides online access to collections on the history of the Atlantic world from the British Archives. It includes materials such as journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers spanning two centuries of Britain's colonial, commercial, missionary and literary relations with Africa and the Americas.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1900

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand