Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 2 of 2
This database, focusing on the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, includes archival material—manuscript, typescript and ephemera—from key libraries in Britain and America, such as Bowling Green State, Berkeley, Sussex, National Archives at Kew, and the Rock Source Archive.Expand
Other features are video clips, visual sources, and chronologies. Topics covered include popular culture (TV, music & movies), the Vietnam War, and movements from Civil Rights to Women’s Liberation.Keyword Search supports the Boolean operators AND, OR and AND NOT between keywords.
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Modern 1800-, History US, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Womens and Gender Studies
Running the West Indies: British records from West Indian countries under colonial rule the Caribbean Colonial Statistics
The colonial "Blue Books" for the English speaking islands of the Caribbean. These statistical records cover the years from 1839 to 1938, although some records commence from 1824 and others continue until 1950.Expand
The records for each colony are prefaced by a brief introduction to that colony. The population returns are published alongside education reports, while grants of land reveal who held the colonial wealth. Imports and exports are joined by prison records which reveal what the crimes were at that time. As these records are published together, the reader can compare the living conditions and access to services across colonies. The imperial statistics in this collection are listed by year for ease of reference.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Statistics