Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 50 of 190

  1. Archives Unbound

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound consists of topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support research and study in history, area studies, and other fields.

    Collections vary widely by subject and include the following:

    • Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era
    • Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
    • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
    • Federal Response to Radicalism
    • James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
    • Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
    • Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration
    • Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection
    • Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848
    • Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949
    • Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
    • East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
    Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound, "Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era

    Digital archive of the early-20th century magazine, Moving Picture World, which set a standard for the broadest possible coverage of silent film, and reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry.

    • Content: 115,972 images
    • Source Library: Library of Congress
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1907-1927

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound, Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63

    Digital archive of formerly classified documents from the U.S. State Department relating to Czechoslovakia. Records include reports on politics and military affairs, statistics, interviews and minutes of meetings, court proceedings, US diplomatic cables, translations of high-level foreign government documents, journals and newspapers.

    • Content: 52,359 pages
    • Source Library: U.S. National Archives
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1963

    Subjects: Government Information, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound, Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1935-1910

    Digital archive consisting of Board of Foreign Missions records of the Presbyterian Church. The majority of the material consists of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.

    Other primary sources include diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale, and field accounts.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1835-1910

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound, Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s, 1956-1971

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on the following radical groups and their movements to change American government and society: COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI, Abbie Hoffman, Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Muslim Mosque, Inc., Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference

    • Content: 87,391 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1956-1971

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound, Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on African American groups including A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, Cointelpro/Black Nationalist Hate Groups, Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, Highlander Folk School, Ku Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Moorish Science Temple of America, Murder of Lemuel Penn, Muslim Mosque, Inc., NAACP, National Negro Congress, Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, Thurgood Marshall, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey.

    • Content: 88,021 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1920-1984

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound, Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration

    Digital archive of subject files from the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) organized in London in 1938 to assist in the resettlement of refugees from Europe.

    • Content: 30,100 images
    • Source Library: U.S. National Archives
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1938-1947

    Subjects: Ethnic Studies, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound, James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi, 1961-1962

    Digital archive of Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) documentation on James Meredith’s battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Other notable primary sources include Meredith’s correspondence with the NAACP, and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.

    • Content: 8,792 pages
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961-1962

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound: Cambodia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963

    This collection provides a window into the political, social, and economic development of Cambodia, the rapidly maturing “modern” state in the heart of Southeast Asia.

    Traced here is the critical legacy of Prince Norodom Sihanouk (1922-2012), the nation’s controversial and paradoxical leader. Khmer nationalism, loyalty to the monarch, struggle against injustice and corruption, and protection of the Buddhist religion were in the forefront of developments in this period. The archive is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam. The files are arranged according to the classification system of U.S. State Department Records, and they cover a wide range of internal political affairs.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1960-1963

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound: German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941

    This collection comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education.

    Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah's Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons. Also included are history, pseudo-history, and fiction.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1909-1941

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound: India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department

    Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation.

    This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  14. Archives Unbound: India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the US State Department, February 1963-1966

    Over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963-1966

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  15. Archives Unbound: Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949

    Digital archive of records from the State Department’s Central Classified Files relating to Indochina, 1945-1949. Documents include State Department correspondence, telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence.

    • Content: 10,715 images
    • Source Library: National Archives (U.S.)
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  16. Archives Unbound: Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975

    Primarily Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnam’s political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnam’s military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1967-1975

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  17. Archives Unbound: Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection

    This collection consists of original documents collected by Jewish communist and committed member of the underground resistance David Diamant over a period of approximately 30 years. They primarily deal with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.

    • Content: 1,235 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  18. Archives Unbound: La Guerra Civil EspaƱola = The Spanish Civil War Collection

    The Spanish Civil War Collection presents approximately 3,000 rare pamphlets from this tumultuous period, including publications from Spain, Portugal, Latin America and the Philippines, as well as more than 100 German pamphlets published in Spanish.

    Distributed throughout Spain, Germany, Italy, the Soviet Union and North America, these pamphlets represent the opinions and philosophies of the insurgents, anarchists, socialists and communists. They contain a wealth of information on Spanish and international history, ideology, political science, church and state conflicts, nationalism, socialism, fascism and communism.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1939

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History World, Spanish

    Expand
  19. Archives Unbound: Laos: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1963-1966

    This archive treats the political affairs of Laos in the 1960s, when the United States supported the government of Souvanna Phouma in the face of North Vietnamese aggression.

    The collection is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam. It offers a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats including special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; conference proceedings and international legal documents; full texts of instructions and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; translations of high-level foreign government documents, such as speeches; and memoranda, official reports, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963-1966

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Library and Information Science, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  20. Archives Unbound: Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848 (Journaux de la Revolution de 1848)

    Digital collection of French Revolution newspapers dating from 1848 to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852. Materials in French.

    • Content: 68,151 pages
    • Source Library: The British Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1848-1852

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  21. Archives Unbound: Pakistan from Crown Rule to Republic: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949

    A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949, this collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan. Representative documents with valuable details include the “Economic Survey,” dated April-June 1949, and issued by the Board of Economic Inquiry, West Punjab, Lahore, and “Dacca Newsletter,” dated July 1949.

    The collection is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  22. Archives Unbound: South Vietnam: Records of the Office of the Defense Attache, 1973-1975

    The Defense Attaché Office (DAO) Saigon was organized and was activated on 28 January 1973. DAO Saigon was a unique organization. It performed the traditional functions of a defense attaché, managed American military affairs in Vietnam after the cease-fire, including the programs for the support of the Republic of Vietnam’s Armed Forces (RVNAF), and furnished housekeeping support to Americans remaining in Vietnam after the ceasefire.

    Aside from the support of the RVNAF, it reported on operational matters and produced intelligence information on which subsequent decisions concerning the Military Assistance Program and American interests in Southeast Asia could be based. The DAO was evacuated from South Vietnam during the fall of Saigon on April 29, 1975. This collection comprises the DAO’s Historian’s Office files, including the official DAO History and the background files used in its compilation. The background files consist of serial reports, program memoranda and correspondence, operational and planning historical reports, intelligence summaries, briefing papers, press releases, and documents on the ceasefire.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1973-1975

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Linguistics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  23. Archives Unbound: Sukarno and the Army-PKI Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963

    The records in this collection cover the internal and foreign policies, personalities, and events in a pivotal period of Indonesian history. The charismatic leader of Indonesia, Achmed Sukarno, steered his country between the political machinations of the Army Staff and the Indonesian Communist Party (PKI).

    These records consist of essential memoranda, correspondence, telegrams, memoranda of conversations, reports, and news articles and cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Indonesia, Indonesian internal affairs, and Indonesia’s relations with its neighbors.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1960-1963

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Medicine, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  24. Archives Unbound: The Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920

    For generations of British and Indian Officers and men, the North-West Frontier was the scene of repeated skirmishes and major campaigns against the trans-border Pathan tribes who inhabited the mountainous no-man’s land between India and Afghanistan.

    This collection contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives. This collection is a welcome addition to the new-flourishing literature on the military history of South Asia and the growing field of serious study of the British military experience in India.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1914-1920

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  25. Archives Unbound: The Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973

    The Observer was a weekly newspaper published by the Command Information Division of the U.S. Military Assistance Command’s Office of Information. It was the official organ of the Military Assistance Command, and it carried official news about and for American troops in Vietnam.

    As such, it goes without saying that it was carefully edited to make certain it did not print news articles favorable to the communist enemy. The Military Assistance Command spread more than 80,000 weekly Observers among all points in Vietnam in which American troops were domiciled.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1962-1973

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, South Asian Studies

    Expand