Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 4 of 4

  1. Gale Virtual Reference Library

    A collection of online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Education, Government Information, Grants and Funding, History US, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  2. Gallica

    An encyclopedic digital library composed from collections held at the Bibliothque Nationale of France. Contents are mainly rare and primary source materials and out-of-print and hard to access documents which are in the public domain.

    Holdings include printed materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music, dictionaries, etc.), graphic materials (engravings, maps, photographs, etc.) and sound recordings. Mainly in French.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Middle Ages to Early 20th Century

    Subjects: Area Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, News Sources, Science and Technology

    Expand
  3. Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange

    The Global Commodities database provides primary source materials arranged around fifteen major trade goods from world history such as chocolate, coffee, cotton, and opium.

    Each commodity is documented through a wide range of manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, objects and rare books so that the scholar can explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed. The project touches on themes of exploration and discovery; imperialism and colonialism; trade wars; translocation and economic geography; slavery; taste; and the evolution of global branding. The resource complements and integrates with the Empire Online database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 10,000 BC = present (most entries from 1500-1950)

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  4. Great Corpus of French Language Dictionaries (9th-20th Century)

    The Great Corpus of dictionaries gathers the 24 most important dictionaries on French language, in total about 200 000 pages (2 500 signs per page), 900 000 entries and definitions.

    It is the greatest collection today available on the subject.

    Frédéric Godefroy, Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française et de tous ses dialectes du 9e au 15e siècle a La Curne de Sainte-Palaye, Dictionnaire historique de l'ancien langage français depuis son origine jusqu'au siècle de Louis XIV Edmond Huguet, Dictionnaire de la langue française du 16e siècle Estienne (Robert), Dictionaire Francois-latin, 1549 Nicot (Jean), Thrésor de la langue françoyse, tant ancienne que moderne, 1606 Cotgrave (Randle), A Dictionarie of the french and english tongues, 1611 Ménage (Gilles), Les Origines de la langue françoise, 1650 Richelet (Pierre), Dictionnaire françois, 1680 Le Dictionaire de l'Académie françoise, 1687 [Avant-Première 1] de A à Aversion Le Dictionaire de l'Académie françoise, 1687 [Avant-Première 2] de A à Confiture Le Dictionaire de l'Académie françoise, 1687 [Avant-Première 3] de A à Neuf Furetière (Antoine), Essai d'un Dictionaire universel, 1687 Furetière (Antoine), Dictionaire Universel, 1690 Le Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise dedié au Roy, 1694 [Première édition] Corneille (Thomas), Le Dictionnaire des Arts et des Sciences, 1694 Ménage (Gilles), Dictionnaire étymologique ou Origines de la langue françoise, 1694 Nouveau Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise, 1718 [Deuxième édition] Dictionnaire de l'Acad
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Annual

    Subjects: Area Studies, French Literature and Language, Linguistics, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand