Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 19 of 19

  1. African American Biographical Database

    Biographical information, including photographs and illustrations. AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.

    The majority of the content comes from Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. However, newly uncovered dictionaries, other reference sources, obituary files, slave narrative collections, internet sites, etc. will be added as the database expands. Maximum of 4 simultaneous users allowed.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1790 to 1950

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Ethnic Studies, History US, Biographies

    Expand
  2. American National Biography

    Successor to the renowned Dictionary of American Biography, the ANB is a premier source of biographical information on over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.

    The ANB covers deceased individuals whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. Updated quarterly, the online ANB includes bibliographies for further research and links to related biographies, and also incorporates articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History. Allows 2-5 simultaneous users.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History US, Biographies

    Expand
  3. American Slavery A Composite Autobiography

    American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography includes the life histories of former American slaves and the transcripts of actual slave interviews conducted by individuals working for the Works Progress Administration (WPA) from 1936 to 1938.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies

    Expand
  4. Ancestry Library Edition-On campus access only

    The Ancestry Library Edition collection (also known as Ancestry Plus or Ancestry.com) is a major source of census and other records of interest to historical, social, and genealogical researchers.

    It includes: U.S. federal census roll images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; U.K. and Ireland census materials; vital and church records; passenger and immigration lists; military records; court, land, and probate records; historical maps; the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage books; WWI draft registration cards; slave narratives; and much more.

    Available on-campus only
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History US, History World, Sociology, Statistics and Demography, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, Government Information

    Expand
  5. Biography & Genealogy Master Index

    Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Biographies

    Expand
  6. Biography in Context

    A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications.

    In-depth profiles, thumbnail sketches, and full-text journal articles are included.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1980-present

    Subjects: History US, History World, Biographies, Reference Sources

    Expand
  7. Biography Reference Bank

    Includes Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, Current Biography, the Junior Authors & Illustrators Series, the Wilson biographical series on world artists, authors, composers, nobel prize winners, songwriters, musicians, film directors, american reformers.

    In addition to this list, Biography Reference Bank contains links to every article on any individual full text articles, abstracts, book review excerpts, and more from the periodicals covered by H.W. Wilson databases.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History US, History World, Biographies

    Expand
  8. Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

    Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the world's most influential literary figures. It includes the Gale series:

    • Dictionary of Literary Biography
    • Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series
    • Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook
    This database is also cross-searchable with the Gale Literature Criticism Online database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Biographies, History US

    Expand
  9. Literature Resource Center

    Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes articles from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and much more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Spanish, Biographies

    Expand
  10. Oxford African American Studies Center

    The Oxford African American Studies Center is an authoritative and comprehensive source on the African American experience. The site is comprised of five major encyclopedias and content from eighteen additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.

    Core texts includes: Africana, The Encyclopedia of African American History; Black Women in America, and The African American National Biography. In addition, the site includes over 300 carefully edited primary source documents with commentaries, approximately 2,300 images and over 300 charts, tables, graphs, maps, and timelines.

    Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editor-in-chief.

    Walk in users: OK; 5 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies

    Expand
  11. Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

    Provides full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: annual updates cover individuals who have died after 2000.

    The ODNB covers people who were born and lived in the British Isles, people from the British Isles who achieved recognition in other countries, people who lived in territories formerly connected to the British Isles at a time when they were in contact with British rule, and people born elsewhere who settled in the British Isles for significant periods or whose visits enabled them to leave a mark on British life. Allows 2-3 simultaneous users.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Biographies

    Expand
  12. Oxford Islamic Studies Online

    Provides online access to more than 3,000 articles and electronic resources in English on the Islamic world, includes more than 150 primary source documents with editorial instructions, and has a glossary of Islamic terms.

    Also includes two interpretations and one concordance of the Koran.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 570-2007

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biographies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion

    Expand
  13. Oxford Reference Online

    This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

    Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology

    Expand
  14. Queen Victoria's Journals

    This full text, full image database covers the 141 surviving volumes of Queen Victoria’s journal and reproduces the pages as high-resolution color images and includes separate photographs of the illustrations and inserts contained within the pages.

    The journals contain household and family concerns, as well as comments on literature and affairs of state and are a valuable primary source for scholars of nineteenth-century British political and social history, as well as for those working on gender studies and autobiographical writing.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1832 - 1901

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Science and Technology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  15. Reference Universe

    Reference Universe is designed to be used in conjunction with a library's print reference collection. It provides the ability to search the article titles and back-of-the-book indexes to over 4,200 subject encyclopedias and reference works from 250 publishers, with links directly to EUCLID to indicate which of the titles Emory owns.

    It also links to online versions of the sources, if available, and to reviews of the works indexed. The Browse feature permits exploration by publisher, title, subject heading, index terms, and Library of Congress call number.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Biographies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  16. Romanticism: Life, Literature & Landscape

    Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape provides unique access to rare and priceless literary sources in the form of original documents for the Romantic period.

    Romanticism includes verse and prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, legal and financial records, and guide books. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of William Wordsworth and the wider social, political, and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries. In addition, this collection makes available the writings of Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey, Robert Southey, Mary Wordsworth, Dora Wordsworth, and Sara Hutchinson, as well as masses of personal correspondence between key literary and political figures of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

    Also included are over 2,500 fine art pieces from the Wordsworth Trust’s fine art collection that serve to contextualize the work of the poets and writers represented. They also provide a vivid and evocative representation of the rich, natural landscape that surrounded the Lake poets and served to inspire so much of their creativity.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 18th - 19th century

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  17. Shakespeare Collection

    Brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material, and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.

    Includes selections from Four Centuries of Shakespeare, the Prompt Book collections; The Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diary; the First Folio, key Quartos, and major editions and adaptations from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries; photographs, line drawings, maps; selected works by Shakespeare's contemporaries; selected content from Shakespearean Criticism; and reference materials.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 17th century to present

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  18. Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center

    Over 5,000 digitized Tibetan texts published over the last 40 years including reprints of ancient texts in all subjects including art, politics, history, linguistics, religion, medicine, biography, and literature.

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, Religion

    Expand
  19. Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980

    This database provides English-language sources relating to China and the West from 1793 to 1980. It covers almost any aspect of Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.

    From this database you can find manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors descriptions of the Boxer War. There are also significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals, such as The Chinese Recorder, Light and Life Magazine and The Land of Sinim: the North China Mission Quarterly Paper.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1793-1980

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies

    Expand