Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 7 of 7
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Societe des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels.Expand
It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saints feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. It contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.Unlimited users; walk-in users allowed
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, Religion, Biographies
Biographical information, including photographs and illustrations. AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.Expand
The majority of the content comes from Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. However, newly uncovered dictionaries, other reference sources, obituary files, slave narrative collections, internet sites, etc. will be added as the database expands. Maximum of 4 simultaneous users allowed.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Ethnic Studies, History US, Biographies
AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.Expand
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Biographies, Biological Sciences
Collection of documentary films and newsreel footage in streaming video format, on topics relating to American history. Search and view complete program transcripts to access relevant clips within a documentary or newsreel.Expand
In-class viewing and embedding of video in websites, course management systems (e.g. BlackBoard) or other Emory course-related access points is permitted under Emory's subscription to this database.
Subjects: History US, Journalism, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, News Sources
Successor to the renowned Dictionary of American Biography, the ANB is a premier source of biographical information on over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.Expand
The ANB covers deceased individuals whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. Updated quarterly, the online ANB includes bibliographies for further research and links to related biographies, and also incorporates articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History. Allows 2-5 simultaneous users.
Subjects: History US, Biographies
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography includes the life histories of former American slaves and the transcripts of actual slave interviews conducted by individuals working for the Works Progress Administration (WPA) from 1936 to 1938.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies
The Ancestry Library Edition collection (also known as Ancestry Plus or Ancestry.com) is a major source of census and other records of interest to historical, social, and genealogical researchers.Expand
It includes: U.S. federal census roll images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; U.K. and Ireland census materials; vital and church records; passenger and immigration lists; military records; court, land, and probate records; historical maps; the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage books; WWI draft registration cards; slave narratives; and much more.Available on-campus only
Subjects: History US, History World, Sociology, Statistics and Demography, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, Government Information