Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 32

  1. Academic Conferences in China in Humanities and Social Sciences

    ACIC includes academic papers (in Chinese or English) from national and international conferences held in China since 1985. As of Feb. 2014, there are over 2.40 million records in the database, including about 250,000 full-text conference papers in humanities and social sciences in either Chinese or English.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1985-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound: Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939

    The Nationalist-Communist turmoil in China provided an easy opportunity for Japan to further its goals in the 1930s. Japan saw Manchuria as a limitless supply of raw materials, a market for her manufactured goods (now excluded from many Western countries by Depression era tariffs), and as a protective buffer state against the Soviet Union in Siberia.

    Japan invaded Manchuria outright after the Mukden Incident in September 1931. After five months of fighting, the puppet state of Manchukuo was established in 1932, with the last emperor of China, Pu Yi, installed as a puppet ruler. Militarily too weak to directly challenge Japan, China appealed to the League of Nations for help. The League's investigation was published as the Lytton Report, condemning Japan for its incursion into Manchuria, and causing Japan to withdraw from the League of Nations entirely. Appeasement being the predominant policy of the day, no country was willing to take action against Japan beyond tepid censure. The records included in Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department are primarily instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials, often accompanied by enclosures.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1939

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound: State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Korea (1941-1947)

    This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

    The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on China.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1947

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  4. Bibliography of Asian Studies

    The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

    The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.

    • Coverage: 1971 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Chinese Studies, Ethnic Studies, History World, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  5. Biographical Materials of Ch'ing Historical Figures and Biographical Packets and Drafts from the Archives of the Ch'ing Historiography Institute

    大清國史人物列傳及史館檔傳包傳稿資料庫
    The massive information on Ch'ing historical figures includes 3,536 Packets of Biographical Materials and 8,384 Draft Biographies, and 1,270 volumes of Ch'ing Historical Figures, Jing version, a total of over 15,000 valuable pieces of information on important historical figures from Ch'ing. Users need to log in again before any searches.

    大清國史人物傳及史館檔傳包傳稿資料庫

    The massive information on Ch'ing historical figures includes 3,536 Packets of Biographical Materials and 8,384 Draft Biographies, and 1,270 volumes of Ch'ing Historical Figures, Jing version, a total of over 15,000 valuable pieces of information on important historical figures from Ch'ing. 

    Users need to log in again before any searches. Please fill in these: Group: EU17, ID: emory17, PW: emory17

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1690-1911

    Subjects: Biographies, Chinese Studies, Government Information, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  6. Ch'ing Palace Memorials and Archives of the Grand Council

    清代宮中檔奏摺及軍機處檔摺件
    Invaluable treasure of primary material for researching Qing Dynasty history, covers a wide range of subject, including state, foreign and military affairs, finance, agriculture, industry…etc.  Before searching, users need to log in: Group: EU17, ID: emory17, PW: emory17

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1690-1911

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  7. China Academic Journals

    Provides access to full text articles from Chinese academic journals. This database covers the majority of academic journals published in the PRC, and is produced at the Tsinghua University in Beijing.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1994 to Date

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  8. China Core Newspaper Database

    This database provides abstracts and full text articles from major Chinese newspapers on the subjects of literature, history, arts and philosophy.

    • Coverage: 2000-

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History World, News Sources, Philosophy

    Expand
  9. China Data Online

    China Data Online is a collection of data on economics, demographics, and other such topics.  Data are available for China as a whole and for individual provinces, counties, and cities.  Depending on the topic and geographic area, data are available in annual, quarterly, or monthly increments.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Coverage: 1949 onwards, varying by topic and geographic area

    Subjects: Area Studies, Business, Chinese Studies, Economics, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  10. China Local Gazetteers

    This is a unique database developed just by Wanfang Data. It is a comprehensive collection of Chinese local gazetteers covering all regions of China. As of Feb. 2014, there are over 26,400 volumes of full-text titles in this database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1949-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  11. China Online Journals

    This database provides more than 7,320 full-text journal titles published in China, covering over 90% of the core journals.  With cover-to-cover display features, COJ allows readers to browse journals similar as print copies.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1998-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  12. China: Culture and Society

    China: Culture and Society is a digital collection of about 1,200 extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.

    The pamphlets cover speeches, guides, reports, essays, catalogues, magazine articles and other material addressing Chinese history, culture, and everyday life. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. The wide variety of research interests and themes covered by the pamphlets include education, emigration, the foreign presence, missionaries, wars, rebellion, reform, opium, healthcare and language.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  13. China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980a

    This database provides English-language sources relating to China and the West from 1793 to 1980. It covers almost any aspect of Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.

    From this database you can find manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors descriptions of the Boxer War. There are also significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals, such as The Chinese Recorder, Light and Life Magazine and The Land of Sinim: the North China Mission Quarterly Paper.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1793-1980

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  14. Chinese Academy of Social Sciences Yearbooks Online

    This E-Yearbooks database contains the China Economy Yearbook, the China Educational Development Yearbook, the China Environment Yearbook, The China Legal Development yearbook, the China Population and Labor Yearbook, the China Society Yearbook from 2007 to 2009.1-3 Simultaneous usersWalk-in users: OK

    1-3 Simultaneous users; Walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 2007-2009

    Subjects: Area Studies, Business, Chinese Studies, Economics, Education, Law, Sociology

    Expand
  15. Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department┬┐s Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955

    This database contains the records of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Chinese Affairs from 1945 to 1955. It provides valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S.

    policy towards Asia and U.S. – China relations during the post-war period.

    • Coverage: 1945-1955

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Government Information, Political Science

    Expand
  16. Chinese Historical Newspapers

    This database includes the English-language newspapers from China from 1932 to 1953.  Papers covers the North China Herald (1850-1941), Canton Times (1917-1920), China Critic, The China Press (1925-1938), the China Weekly Review (1917-1953), the Chinese Recorder (1868-1940), the Chinese Repository (1831-1851), the Peking Daily News (1914-1917), the Peking Gazette (1915-1917), the Peking Leader (1918-1919), the Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), the Shanghai Times (1914-1921).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1832-1953

    Subjects: Business, Chinese Studies, Economics, Education, History World, Journalism, News Sources, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Theater Studies

    Expand
  17. Chinese Recorder and the Protestant Missionary Community in China, 1867-1941

    This database contains The Chinese Recorder from 1867 to 1941.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1867-1941

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Religion

    Expand
  18. Da Cheng Gu Zhi Dui

    Da Cheng Gu Zhi Dui = 大成故纸堆 is a database for antiquarian documents specifically. It contains over 7000 kinds of journals and 40 thousand kinds of books published in the Republic of China, as well as 17000 ancient documents, 3400 ancient local chronicles, and 200 journals of history of the China’s Communist Party.

    Providing a convenient access to consulting and downloading large amounts of valuable ancient literature, it has become an indispensable database for academic study on the humanities and social sciences. It includes 8 Sections: 1. 1.大成老旧刊全文数据库 Dacheng Old Periodical Database; 2.民国图书 Books of the Republic of China; 3.申报 Shen Bao; 4.古方志集 Collection of Ancient Local Chronicles; 5.古籍文献 Ancient Literature; 6.党史 History of the Party; 7.顺天时报 Shuntian Shibao; 8.大美晚报 Shanghai Evening Post and Mercury

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Before 1949
    • Trial

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  19. Dissertations of China in Humanities and Social Sciences

    Dissertations of China is the most comprehensive collections of dissertations and theses from Chinese research institutions since 1980. As of Feb. 2014, it contains over 2088 million full-text or abstract records, in which nearly 750,000 full-text records are in the subject areas of humanities and social science.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1980-present

    Subjects: Chinese Studies

    Expand
  20. Duxiu

    Duxiu is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. The Duxiu database provides access to more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, journal articles, conference papers and video clips.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Education, Government Information, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  21. Global Reference Center

    Global Reference Center is an extensive collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content.  It includesEncyclopaedia Universalis (French)Spanish Reference Center (Spanish.eb.com) divided into 2 parts.

    Global Reference Center is an extensive collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content.  It includes

    Encyclopaedia Universalis (French)

    Spanish Reference Center (Spanish.eb.com) divided into 2 parts. Enciclopedia Moderna--(academic level)     and Britannica Escolar --(Elementary/Middle)      

    Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Japan

    Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Korea

    Britannica Concise Encyclopedia (Chinese)

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish, Chinese Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies

    Expand
  22. Grand Secretariat Archives

    An additional login is required to view this resource:

    • Group name:LIB
    • User ID:EMO01
    • Password: EMOLIB
    These Archives were originally kept at the Grand Secretariat Storehouse in the Qing Imperial palace.The Database covers over four thousand Ming (1368-1644) documents and more than three hundred thousand volumes of Qing (1644-1911) archival materials.  They include imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, tribute document, examination questions, examination papers, rosters of successful examination candidates, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, documents from the offices for book compilation and old documents from Mukden.  In a word, they are very valuable sources for institutional, social and economic historians.

    An additional login is required to view this resource:Printing loginGroup name:LIBUser ID:EMO01Password: EMOLIBNon-printing loginGroup name:LIBUser ID:EMO02Password: E20170
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1368-1911

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Economics, Education, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Sociology

    Expand
  23. Han Yu Da Ci Dian & Kangxi Dictionaries

    The two most famous and Comprehensive Chinese dictionaries in China.  The Great Chinese Dictionary includes 22,700 single characters while the Kangxi Dictionary covers 47,043 Chinese characters.  It serves the  needs for classical literature research besides the meaning of each character.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Linguistics

    Expand
  24. Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest

    Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy to support research in this interdisciplinary area of study of Europe and Africa.

    Additionally, this collection includes the features that scholars require -- such as detailed subject indexing and metadata, textual analysis tools, personalized user accounts, and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 19th Century

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion

    Expand
  25. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Chinese Studies

    Oxford Bibliographies online in Chinese Studies is a multi-and inter-disciplinary enterprise covering the study of China across all disciplines. It provides an authoritative guide to the key works across the whole field, pointing researchers and practitioners at all levels to the most important scholarship in European languages as well as in Chinese, and giving scholars working in other fields easier access to scholarship on China.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History World

    Expand