Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 39

  1. Academic Search Complete

    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

    In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Dates vary. Some content goes as far back as 1865

    Subjects: African American Studies, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, News Sources, Multidisciplinary Databases, History World, LGBT Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, Economics, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Current Events, Dance, Classics, Mathematics, Comparative Literature, Science and Technology, Physics, Book Reviews

    Expand
  2. ACLS Humanities E-Book

    ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

    These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1953-2010

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  3. Annee Philologique

    An international bibliography that contains citations for Greek and Roman studies. The database covers all aspects of classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, mythology, science, numismatics, and other subjects.

    Its scope is the period from 2000 BC to 800 AD.

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Philosophy

    Expand
  4. Aristoteles Latinus Database

    The critical edition of the Medieval Latin Aristotle including the entire corpus of all known Latin versions and all Medieval Greek-Latin translations, forming the main tools for the study of science and philosophy in the Middle Ages.

    Prepared and supervised by the Artistoteles Latinus Center of the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, ALD Online can be searched on its own or simultaneously with Library of Latin Texts, the Monumenta Germaniae Historica.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Middle Ages to the present

    Subjects: Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy, Religion, Science and Technology, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  5. Arts & Humanities Citation Index

    The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

    Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.

    Arts and Humanities Citation Index can be searched via an Endnote connection file.

    Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.

    • Coverage: 1975 to present

    Subjects: Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Dance, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy

    Expand
  6. Brill's New Jacoby

    Brill's New Jacoby (BNJ) is a collection of commentary on the fragments of 856 Greek historians whose works have survived only in fragments. BNJ supersedes F. Jacoby's monumental 18 volume, Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker, Parts I-III.

    Each author has the Greek text with facing English translation; new, critical commentary; a brief encyclopedia-style entry, and a select bibliography.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Classics

    Subjects: Classics, Biological Sciences

    Expand
  7. Brill's New Pauly

    Full-text articles on all aspects of the ancient world, including persons, places, institutions, events, artifacts, technical terms, ideas and concepts, and interaction between Greek and Roman culture with others (Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, etc.).

    Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and black-and white photographs. Brill's New Pauly Online includes the entire text of Metzler's Der Neue Pauly and also all volumes of the English language Brill's New Pauly.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics

    Expand
  8. Brockelmann Online

    Brockelmann Online consists of both original print volumes of Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes.

    It is full-text searchable. The “Brockelmann” has become an indispensible research tool for the Islamic world in general and the Middle East in particular. Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. The multi-volume reference work is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  9. Cambridge Collections Online

    Cambridge Companions Complete Collection presently contains the Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, classics and culture; more collections in subject areas will be added soon.

    The collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

    4-5 Simultaneous users

    Walk in users: OK; 4-5 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  10. Cambridge Histories Online

    Cambridge Histories Online provides immediate full-text access to more than 300 volumes published since 1960 across 15 subject areas. Users can create accounts and save searches, place bookmarks, and adjust search results.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies, African American Studies, Area Studies, Classics, Economics, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Theater Studies

    Expand
  11. Dictionary of Gnosis and Western Esotericism

    Critical overviews on the nature and historical development from Gnosticism and Hermetism to Astrology, Alchemy and Magic, from the Hermetic Tradition of the Renaissance to Rosicrucianism and Christian Theosophy, and from Freemasonry and Illuminism to 19th-century Occultism and the contemporary New Age movement.

    Furthermore it contains articles about the life and work of the major personalities in the history of Gnosis and Western Esotericism.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Late Antiquity to the present

    Subjects: Classics, Religion

    Expand
  12. DIOTIMA: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World

    Serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world.

    This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images.

    Subjects: Classics, LGBT Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  13. DYABOLA: A Database of the Ancient World

    Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews. This database reproduces the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut and is equivalent to the annual Archaoligische Bibliographie (Woodruff Library Z5132 .A65).

    It covers Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion. To enter the database, please check the "with IP acess" box and then click the start button.

    • Coverage: 1956-1999

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  14. Eighteenth Century Journals

    This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.

    Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1685-1815

    Subjects: Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  15. Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online

    The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics represents a unique collaboration of a few hundred scholars from around the world and covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic).

    The EALL Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches to be as objective and versatile as possible. The online edition is cross-searchable, cross-referenced and regularly updated.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Classics, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion

    Expand
  16. Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

    Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.

    Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936 to 1980

    Subjects: Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, LGBT Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  17. History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

    Indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology and medicine, allied historical fields.

    Integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, The Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.

    • Coverage: 1975 to present

    Subjects: Classics, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Medicine, Science and Technology

    Expand
  18. Humanities & Social Sciences Abstracts

    Includes three separate HW Wilson databases:

    • Humanities Abstracts: a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, 1907 - 1984
    • Social Sciences Abstracts: A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

    Expand
  19. Humanities International Complete

    Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1975 - present

    Subjects: African American Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, History Modern 1800-, History Modern 1800-, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Religion, Theater Studies

    Expand
  20. Index Theologicus

    This theological database contains document descriptions of articles from more than 600 periodicals in theology and religious studies, and essays from Festschriften and congress publications.

    The database focuses mainly on articles written in Western European languages.

    • Coverage: 1980-Present

    Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  21. International Medieval Bibliography

    The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is an interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

    Indexing begins in 1967 and the database regularly covers some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues). All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.

    • Coverage: 1967-

    Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  22. Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

    This full-text searchable database is a historical survey of literary theory and criticism. It includes articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

    The scope is international with an emphasis is on Western critical theory. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.

    • Coverage: Ancient to Contemporary

    Subjects: Classics, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language

    Expand
  23. JSTOR

    JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.

    JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  24. Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)

    Based on materials from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods, LEME is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript.

    The texts of word entries tell us what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period covered by the Short-title and Wing catalogues. Their lexical insights shaped the history of our living tongue. LEME is not a period dictionary, but a source of contemporary testimony that illustrates word usage. LEME is able to utilize many sources that the Oxford English Dictionary, which covers 1500 years, could not include as a result of its necessary selection of the lexical evidence.

    • Coverage: c 1450 - c 1700

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  25. Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA)

    The Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA) is the online version of the print Lexikon des Mittelalters, the standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies, published between 1977-1999.

    It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. This database also includes the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages-Online (IEMA), a supplement to the Lexikon.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE

    Subjects: Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Jewish Studies, Religion

    Expand