Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 114

  1. 17th and 18th Century Poetry from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds

    These literary manuscripts include presentation volumes, commonplace books, and volumes of household accounts, which give context for the poetry and are valuable sources for social and cultural history.

    The project combines facsimile images of all the manuscripts in their entirety, linked to new indexing and to the powerful BCMSV database (Leeds Verse Database), which lists first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content, bibliographic references, MS and record number for over 6,600 poems within the collection.

    Some of the poets represented include Mary Campbell, John Dryden, George Herbert, Mary Leapor, Andrew Marvell, Alexander Pope, Hester Pulter, and Jonathan Swift. This resource also includes a wealth of songs, riddles, and popular tags.

    Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: ca. 1600 - 1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  2. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

    The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.

    The collection covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1601-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, News Sources

    Expand
  3. ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)

    Indexes monographs, journals, critical editions of literary works, bookreviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations publishedanywhere in the world in the areas of English language, English literature, bibliography, and traditional culture of the English-speaking world.

    • Coverage: 1920 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  4. Academic Search Complete

    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

    In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Dates vary. Some content goes as far back as 1865

    Subjects: African American Studies, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, News Sources, Multidisciplinary Databases, History World, LGBT Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, Economics, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Current Events, Dance, Classics, Mathematics, Comparative Literature, Science and Technology, Physics, Book Reviews

    Expand
  5. Access to Archives

    Access to Archives (A2A) is part of the UK archives network. The A2A database contains catalogues describing archives held locally in England and Wales and dating from the eighth century to the present day.

    • Coverage: 800 - present

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  6. ACLS Humanities E-Book

    ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

    These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1953-2010

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  7. African Writers Series

    African Writers Series is a full text electronic version of the Heinemann's African Writers Series founded in 1962 to publish works by black African writers for an African readership.

    This series provides seminal works from the canon of African literature of the twentieth century, covering such authors as Steve Biko, Ama Ata Aidoo, and Buchi Emecheta. Texts are fully searchable and richly indexed. Author biographies are included.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1962-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature

    Expand
  8. African-American Poetry

    Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

    • Coverage: 1750-1900

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  9. American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

    The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection is a comprehensive collection of more than 6,500 American magazines and journals from the AAS, the premier library documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. It is divided into five chronological series, which can be searched simultaneously:

    • Series 1 (1691-1820)
    • Series 2 (1821-1837)
    • Series 3 (1838-1852)
    • Series 4 (1853-1865)
    • Series 5 (1866-1877)

    Subjects covered include art, architecture, music, literature, law, politics, religion, philosophy, science, medicine, family history and ethnic studies.

    Walk-in users: OK; Unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1691 - 1877

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  10. American Drama

    One of the largest electronic collections of full-text American dramatic literature, from the colonial period to the present. The collection will contain more than 2,000 plays by American dramatists when it is complete.

    At present, American Drama includes 711 plays by dramatists including Thomas Paine, Edward Hitchcock, and James Lawson, as well as such works as Thomas Godfrey's The Prince of Parthia, the first American play performed on an American stage and George Aiken's stage adaptation of Uncle Tom's Cabin, the most popular stage production of the nineteenth century.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1714-1915

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  11. American Poetry

    Contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early twentieth century, and drawn from over 1,200 printed sources.

    • Coverage: 1600-1900

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  12. ARTFL project

    Corpus of texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.

    There is also a Provenal database that includes texts in their original spellings. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  13. Arts & Humanities Citation Index

    The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

    Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.

    Arts and Humanities Citation Index can be searched via an Endnote connection file.

    Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.

    • Coverage: 1975 to present

    Subjects: Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Dance, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy

    Expand
  14. Bank of English

    The Bank of English is a collection of samples of modern English held on computer for analysis of words, meanings, grammar and usage. In linguistics and lexicography such a collection is termed a corpus.A subcorpus of 56 million words from the Bank of English is available to Emory users.

    The Bank of English is a collection of samples of modern English held on computer for analysis of words, meanings, grammar and usage. In linguistics and lexicography such a collection is termed a corpus.

    A subcorpus of 56 million words from the Bank of English is available to Emory users. In the Woodruff Library, log on to one of the InfoCommons workstations, then go to Start then Programs and select "Non-Web Databases". Select "Bank of English" from the titles listed and the program will launch. Our license limits us to 15 simultaneous users.

    An online guide to searching the database is available at: http://www.titania.bham.ac.uk/docs/svenguide.html
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  15. BBC Shakespeare Plays

    The BBC Shakespeare Plays was a landmark project to stage all 37 of Shakespeare's surviving plays for television. Officially known as The BBC Television Shakespeare, it was a joint production of the BBC and Time-Life Television.

    The plays were broadcast over seven seasons between 1979 and 1985. For more information on the series, see the British Film Institute's Screenonline . These online streaming versions include closed captioning for the hearing impaired. Adobe Flash video player is required.

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  16. Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale

    The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BMC) is a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften).

    It is designed to serve as a complement to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), which covers primarily periodical and journal articles. In fact, BCM and IMB are fully integrated with each other. BCM coverage goes as far back as the 1958 year of publication.

    Walk-in users: OK; 3 simultaneous users
    • Coverage: 400-1500

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  17. Bibliography of American Literature

    Recognized as one of the greatest achievements of twentieth-century scholarship, the Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930.

    More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

    • Coverage: 1776-1930

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US

    Expand
  18. Bibliography of British and Irish History

    The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

    It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. As well as providing details of publications, the Bibliography provides links to online catalogues to help you find the items that it lists in research libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA, and it provides links to online text where available. Walk in users allowed; Unlimited simultaneous users.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 55BC to present

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Theater Studies

    Expand
  19. Black Drama

    Black Drama contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

    Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. When completed, the database will have over 1,200 plays.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1850 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  20. Black Literature 1827-1940

    Indexes African American fiction, poetry, and literary criticism appearing in Black owned and edited publications in the United States.

    • Coverage: 1827-1940

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies

    Expand
  21. British Online Archives

    This archive of digitized microfilm has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonized by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia.

    Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1994

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  22. British Periodicals I

    British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages.

    Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1691-1937

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy

    Expand
  23. Cambridge Collections Online

    Cambridge Companions Complete Collection presently contains the Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, classics and culture; more collections in subject areas will be added soon.

    The collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

    4-5 Simultaneous users

    Walk in users: OK; 4-5 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  24. Canadian Poetry

    When it is complete, Canadian Poetry will comprise essentially the complete canon of English-language Canadian poetry from the seventeenth century up to the early twentieth.

    Currently the collection contains more than 12,000 poems by 142 poets drawn from over 500 printed sources, many of them rare and inaccessible outside Canada.

    • Coverage: 1667-1937

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  25. Civil War in America from the Illustrated London News

    Contains all the information about the American Civil War printed in the Illustrated London News from 1861-1865, including illustrations, as well as social, political, and technological history.

    Text and illustrations are searchable by keyword or date, and illustrations are searchable by subject as well.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand