Database Results for Your Selections

Results 101 - 119 of 119

  1. South and Southeast Asian Literature

    South and Southeast Asian Literature is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas.

    Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews and manuscript materials. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 19th-20th centuries

    Subjects: Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  2. State Papers Online

    State Papers Online, 1509-1714, published in four seamless parts, offers researchers a ground-breaking online resource for investigating 200 years of British and European history, from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne.

    This digital manuscript archive gathers together 16th- and 17th-century British State Papers and links them to their fully text-searchable calendars, offering scholars unprecedented access to the behind-the-scenes workings of the Tudor and Stuart governments.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1509-1714

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Government Information, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, Political Science, Religion

    Expand
  3. Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006

    Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.**Advanced search by index types: Entire document, article title, author, page number, issue number, document number or keyword**Browse by issue

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1822-2006

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Journalism, News Sources, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology

    Expand
  4. Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro

    TESO is a full text database containing more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists from sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain. Each play is reproduced in full, including the "Preliminaries" which contain "aprobaciones", "censuras", and "privilegios." The editorial board of TESO selected the first editions of each volume and avoided facsimiles.

    The coding has been adapted for dramatic works, allowing users to limit searches to specific elements of the plays. Researchers can browse the complete list of dramas in the database and then select any work for display, starting at the beginning or going directly to a particular act and scene.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1500-1700

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Spanish

    Expand
  5. Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

    The TLS Historical Archive is the improved, expanded edition of the TLS Centenary Archive. The new edition enables users to full-text search more than one hundred years of the Times Literary Supplement, allowing them to trace the views of influential opinion makers, such as T.S.

    Eliot, Virginia Woolf, A.N. Wilson, and Christopher Hitchins, and see the responses of their contemporaries.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1902-2006

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Journalism, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  6. Twentieth-Century African American Poetry

    A digital collection of poetry written by important African American poets of the twentieth century. Includes over 6,000 poems.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1900 - 1999

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  7. Twentieth-Century American Poetry

    A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential poets of the 20th century. Many contemporary writers of America's '80s and '90s, who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies, are also represented.

    • Coverage: 1901-2000

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  8. Twentieth-Century Drama

    Containing 238 plays by 25 authors from Britain, Ireland and Australia, the first release of Twentieth-Century Drama covers many of the key moments of innovation and revolution in modern theatre.

    The collection also includes plays by important literary authors of the period, including poetic dramas such as Thomas Hardy's The Dynasts (1904-08), James Elroy Flecker's popular success Hassan (1923), and Joseph Conrad's adaptation of his novel The Secret Agent (1922).

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  9. Twentieth-Century English Poetry

    Contains the poetry of over 285 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, John Betjeman, Fleur Adcock, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah, Isaac Rosenberg, D.H.

    Lawrence and Carol Ann Duffy and many others from the lists of Carcanet, Enitharmon, Anvil Press, Bloodaxe Books and other poetry publishers. It also incorporates works by poets such as Sylvia Plath, T.S. Eliot, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Louis MacNeice and Siegfried Sassoon from The Faber Poetry Library.

    • Coverage: 1885-2000

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  10. Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library

    Contains unique manuscripts unavailable in any medium elsewhere, supplemented by rare, printed materials, including early editions annotated by the authors. Each author collection contains the entire Berg holdings for that author.

    Among those represented in the collection are: Matthew Arnold, the Brontës, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray.

    Includes unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts, and drawings, plus a mass of personal correspondence among the authors. This resource also sheds light on the business of Victorian publishing, documenting the writer-publisher relationship through correspondence and financial and legal documents.

    Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Victorian Period (1837 - 1901)

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, Philosophy, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  11. Victorian Popular Culture, I, II, III and IV

    Victorian Popular Culture describes popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930 and shows how interconnected these worlds were.

    The first section, ‘Sensation, Magic & Spiritualism’, explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of séances and psychic phenomena in Britain and America. The second section, ‘Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks’ focuses on the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, America and Europe in the 19th and early 20th century. The third section, “Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment”, features material on music halls; theatre (legitimate and illegitimate); pantomime; pleasure gardens; exhibitions; and scientific institutions. The fourth section explores the pivotal era in entertainment history when previously static images came to life and moved for the first time.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1779-1930

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  12. Voice of the Shuttle

    Brief annotations are given for links in categories such as humanities metapages, humanities centers and programs, humanities discussion groups and newsgroups, courses, and conferences.

    Subjects: English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, History World

    Expand
  13. W. B. Yeats Collection

    Contains the major work of W.B. Yeats in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism and fiction, collected in 22 volumes.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1885-1995

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  14. Web of Science (ISI Citation Indexes)

    A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus.

    Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., its bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a known author or work.

    Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) 1975 to present
    Current Chemical Reactions 1986 to present (CCR includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)
    Index Chemicus 1996 to present
    Science Citation Index Expanded 1955 to present
    Social Sciences Citation Index 1956 to present

    Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.

    • Coverage: varies

    Subjects: Psychology, Environmental Sciences, Science and Technology, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Book Reviews, Business, Chemistry, Computer Science, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Sociology, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  15. Webster's 3rd New International Dictionary

    America's premier lexicographical work, the 1993 edition is published here in electronic form for the first time. A dictionary of the English language containing 450,000 vocabulary entries.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature, Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  16. Women in the National Archives

    Women in the National Archives is part of Archives Direct and is comprised of two elements: “A Finding Aid to Women’s Studies Resources in the National Archives at Kew” and “Original Documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire, and Colonial Territories.” The Finding Aid is a detailed analysis, on an item basis, of the holdings of the National Archives on the subject of women from c1559 – 1995.

    The second part of the resource is the collection of original documents, particularly relating to “The Campaign for Women’s Suffrage in Britain, 1903 – 1928” and “The granting of women’s suffrage in Colonial territories, 1930 – 1963.”

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1559 - 1995

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  17. Women Writers Online

    Women Writers Online, the electronic textbase of the Brown University Women Writers Project (WWP), includes women's writing in English before 1830. Pre-Victorian and Renaissance writings covering religion, history, poetry, and literature are included.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Before 1830

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  18. Women Writers Resource Project

    The Emory Women Writers Resource Project is a collection of edited and unedited texts by women writing in English from the seventeenth century through the nineteenth century.

    The Project is a pedagogical tool, designed to offer graduate and undergraduate students in various disciplines the opportunity to edit their own texts. Includes poetry, prose, and drama from the United States and Great Britain.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1600 to present

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  19. World Shakespeare Bibliography Online

    Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1965 and early 2004.

    The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 98 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. The more than 95,249 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings. Citations from this database may be imported into EndNote.

    Subjects: Dissertations and Theses, English and American Literature

    Expand