Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 50 of 113

  1. Defining Gender, 1450-1910

    Defining Gender is a collection of original source materials from British and European archives. Documents from 21 libraries are thematically organized by areas: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.

    The documents were selected by 18 academic, consultant editors, who have contributed essays to the area sections, which relate directly to the source material. Manuscripts, printed works, and illustrations address key issues from both feminine and masculine perspectives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1450 - 1910

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, English and American Literature

    Expand
  2. Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

    Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the world's most influential literary figures. It includes the Gale series:

    • Dictionary of Literary Biography
    • Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series
    • Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook
    This database is also cross-searchable with the Gale Literature Criticism Online database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Biographies, History US

    Expand
  3. Dictionary of Old English Corpus

    A complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. Produced by the Dictionary of Old English Project, Centre for Medieval Studies, University of Toronto

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, English and American Literature

    Expand
  4. Dictionary of Old English: A to G online

    The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. In combination with the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three dictionaries provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.The DOE draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.

    The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. In combination with the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three dictionaries provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.

    The DOE draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.

    • DOE font is required to display the pages properly; this can be downloaded here: http://www.doe.utoronto.ca/resources/DOE.ttf
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 600 - 1150 A.D.

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Religion

    Expand
  5. Early American Fiction 1789-1850

    A collection of 440 full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1789-1850

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  6. Early American Fiction 1789-1875

    When complete, Early American Fiction 1789-1875 will extend the coverage of the first Early American Fiction collection by twenty-five years (1851-1875) and will incorporate the full text of more than 250 additional titles and over 60 new authors, including Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Herman Melville and Thomas Bailey Aldrich, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.

    Early American Fiction 1789-1875 will include more than 750 works of fiction by more than 130 authors.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1789-1875

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  7. Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)

    The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database is based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph B.

    Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Content is being released in monthly segments through July 2007. When complete, the database will provide comprehensive full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.

    • Coverage: 1801-1819

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Government Information, History US

    Expand
  8. Early English Books Online

    From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online (EEBO) will contain over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  9. Early English Prose Fiction

    Contains 211 works in English prose by writers from the British Isles from the period 1500-1700.

    • Coverage: 1518-1700

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  10. Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare

    Eleven major editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1591-1911

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  11. Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO

    Digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, Eighteenth Century Collections Online allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1701-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  12. Eighteenth Century Journals

    This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.

    Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1685-1815

    Subjects: Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  13. Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780)

    96 complete works in English prose from the period 1700-1780, by writers from the British Isles. Includes a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, and two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1780

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  14. Electronic Poetry Portal

    Emory's gateway for poetry provides Emory faculty and students with access to major collections of poetry in the English language. The Electronic Poetry Portal is a collaboration of the Beck Center for Electronic Collections, Special Collections, and ITD's Academic Technology Group.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  15. English Drama

    Contains 4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.

    • Coverage: 1280-1915

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  16. English Poetry

    Full text database contains poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from printed sources. While in most cases one version of a poem is given, there are exceptions where significant revisions have been made (Wordsworth's PRELUDE, for example).

    Poems excluded are those published in newspapers or journals only, or never published at all; translations into English after 1800; hymns published after 1800; and verse dramas intended for the stage.

    • Coverage: 600 A.D. - 1900 A.D.

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  17. English Poetry, Second Edition

    Contains more than 183,000 poems, comprising essentially the complete canon of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 printed sources, the collection represents the work of more than 2,700 poets.

    The collection aims to encompass the complete published corpus of all of the poets listed in New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature active between 1100 and 1900. English Poetry, Second Edition also includes poetry written in English during the same period by authors from Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and other parts of the world, together with the work of additional English poets missing from NCBEL.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 600-1999

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  18. English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)

    The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is a vast database designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800.

    • Coverage: 1473 to 1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US

    Expand
  19. Essay and General Literature Index

    Indexes essays and other writings contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focuses on humanities and social sciences literature, including the areas of archaeology, architecture, art, children's literature, classical studies, classics, drama, economics, fiction, film, folklore, gender studies, history, linguistics, literature criticism, music, poetry, political science, popular culture, religion, and women's studies.

    • Coverage: 1985 to present

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  20. Faber Poetry Library

    Contains the works of 50 poets comprising 140 volumes of poetry. The authors are all part of the Faber Poetry list and the database enjoys the active support of the publisher and the poets or estates.

    • Coverage: 1925-1999

    Subjects: English and American Literature

    Expand
  21. First World War: Personal Experiences

    A collection of primary source documents focusing on personal experience during the Great War. The collection includes diaries, journals, letters, trench literature, postcards, scrapbooks, albums, photographs, art, ephemera, sheet music, cartoons, propaganda and maps.

    walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1914-1918

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  22. Georgia Historic Books

    The Georgia Historic Books database contains full-text, fully searchable books related to Georgia's history and culture. Most are from the 19th to early 20th century and focus on Georgia history, biography, and literature.

    The database will contain approximately 300 selected books when complete. These have been selected using bibliographies on Georgia history and in consultation with historians, librarians, and other experts on the literature and history of Georgia. The focus of the selection favors history, biography, and literature, but other subject areas related to Georgia are also included. The books may deal with Georgia history as a subject, or they may have been important for the cultural and intellectual development of the state.

    In the database, to see a list of all books currently available, choose the option for "Browse by Title, Author, or Date."

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Georgia, History US

    Expand
  23. German Literature Collections

    Brings together five individual ProQuest German literature resources: Goethes Werke, Schillers Werke, Kafkas Werke, Brechts Werke and Die Deutsche Lyrik. Each author database is searchable and contains complete works in full-text format.

    The Deutsche Lyrik covers German poetry from the 15th-20th-centuries, including all volumes published within Reclam's Universal-Bibliothek since 1945.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, English and American Literature

    Expand
  24. Godey`s Lady`s Book

    Published from 1830 to 1898, Godey’s was the most popular 19th century women’s magazine. Known for its illustrations, including hand-colored fashion plates, and literary works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, and other celebrated authors of the day.

    Part of the Accessible Archives database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1830-1896

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  25. Hengwrt Chaucer Digital Facsimile

    This is the first-ever full color facsimile of the Hengwrt Chaucer manuscript (National Library of Wales Peniarth 392 D), one of the most important of all English literary manuscripts.

    The superb digital photography of these images is joined with the transcriptions of the text, collations with the other crucial early manuscript of the Tales(the Ellesmere Chaucer, in the Huntington Library), complete descriptions and analytical discussions to give a full set of materials for studying this important manuscript.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450

    Expand