Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 126

  1. 19th Century British Library Newspapers Digital Archive

    This database consists of full-text national and regional newspapers from Victorian Britain, digitized from the collection of the British Library. It is the sister product to 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1604-1800).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1801-1900

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  2. 19th Century British Pamphlets

    This collection contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. More than 20,000 pamphlets from seven UK institutions provide an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1603-1898 (Mostly 19th Cent.)

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  3. Academic Search Complete

    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

    In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Dates vary. Some content goes as far back as 1865

    Subjects: African American Studies, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, News Sources, Multidisciplinary Databases, History World, LGBT Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, Economics, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Current Events, Dance, Classics, Mathematics, Comparative Literature, Science and Technology, Physics, Book Reviews

    Expand
  4. Access to Archives

    Access to Archives (A2A) is part of the UK archives network. The A2A database contains catalogues describing archives held locally in England and Wales and dating from the eighth century to the present day.

    • Coverage: 800 - present

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  5. ACLS Humanities E-Book

    ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

    These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1953-2010

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  6. African-American newspapers, 1827-1998

    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 is being created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.

    Full-text access to these newspapers provide primary sources material about life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1827-1998

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  7. Aluka: Digital Library of Scholarly Resources from and about Africa

    Contains 1) Struggles for Freedom in South Africa Collection of almost 200,000 pages of primary and secondary materials documenting the fight against apartheid collected from around the world, and 2) African Cultural Heritage which provides scholarly descriptions and images (including 3-D models and maps) of important historical and cultural sites on the continent including Timbuktu, Kilwa Kisiwani,, Axum and various rock art sites.

    Both collections are growing.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: varied

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  8. American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)

    The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies covers North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

    Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.

    • Coverage: 1956 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies

    Expand
  9. ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers Online

    A digital collection of newspapers published in the Hapsburg Monarchy and Austria. Users can either browse the titles of the newspapers or choose a specific date.

    Among the digitized newspapers there are for example "Wiener Zeitung", "Pester Lloyd", "Prager Tagblatt", and "Reichspost" in German.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1716 to 1936

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  10. Archive Explorer (Adam Matthew)

    The Adam Matthew Archvie Explorer Cross-searches over 35 Adam Matthew primary source databases. These multiple resources concentrate on English language archival material from the UK and the USA.

    See also these individually listed databases: American West, China: Culture and Society, China: Trade, Politics and Culture, Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966, Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Defining Gender, Eighteenth Century Journals I- V, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America, First World War, Foreign Office Files for China I-III, Foreign Office Files India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 , Global Commodities, India, Raj and Empire, Jewish Life in America, Literary, Manuscripts (Berg), Literary Manuscripts (Leeds), London Low Life, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Mass Observation Online, Medieval Family Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Meiji Japan, Perdita Manuscripts, Rock And Roll, Romanticism, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, The Grand Tour, The Nixon Years, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture, Virginia Company Archives, Women in The National Archives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1580-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound, Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and prisons, 1936-1944

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II

    • Content: 5,747 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound, Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1935-1910

    Digital archive consisting of Board of Foreign Missions records of the Presbyterian Church. The majority of the material consists of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.

    Other primary sources include diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale, and field accounts.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1835-1910

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  14. Archives Unbound, Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s, 1956-1971

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on the following radical groups and their movements to change American government and society: COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI, Abbie Hoffman, Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Muslim Mosque, Inc., Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference

    • Content: 87,391 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1956-1971

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  15. Archives Unbound, James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi, 1961-1962

    Digital archive of Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) documentation on James Meredith’s battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Other notable primary sources include Meredith’s correspondence with the NAACP, and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.

    • Content: 8,792 pages
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961-1962

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  16. Archives Unbound: Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949

    Digital archive of records from the State Department’s Central Classified Files relating to Indochina, 1945-1949. Documents include State Department correspondence, telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence.

    • Content: 10,715 images
    • Source Library: National Archives (U.S.)
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  17. Archives Unbound: Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection

    This collection consists of original documents collected by Jewish communist and committed member of the underground resistance David Diamant over a period of approximately 30 years. They primarily deal with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate with communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.

    • Content: 1,235 images
    • Source Library: McMaster University
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1944

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  18. Archives Unbound: Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848 (Journaux de la Revolution de 1848)

    Digital collection of French Revolution newspapers dating from 1848 to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852. Materials in French.

    • Content: 68,151 pages
    • Source Library: The British Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1848-1852

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  19. Aristoteles Latinus Database

    The critical edition of the Medieval Latin Aristotle including the entire corpus of all known Latin versions and all Medieval Greek-Latin translations, forming the main tools for the study of science and philosophy in the Middle Ages.

    Prepared and supervised by the Artistoteles Latinus Center of the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, ALD Online can be searched on its own or simultaneously with Library of Latin Texts, the Monumenta Germaniae Historica.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Middle Ages to the present

    Subjects: Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy, Religion, Science and Technology, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  20. Artnet

    Artnet searches two databases (Fine and Decorative Art Price archives) from over 500 international auction houses . The Fine Art database lists sales since 1985 and ranges from Old Masters to Contemporary Art., including painting drawings, sculpture, prints, photography, media, and 20th Century Design.

    The Decorative Art Price database lists sales since 2000 and ranges from American Furniture to Russian Silver to rugs, ceramics, clocks, watches, porcelain and more.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  21. Arts & Humanities Citation Index

    The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

    Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.

    Arts and Humanities Citation Index can be searched via an Endnote connection file.

    Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.

    • Coverage: 1975 to present

    Subjects: Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Dance, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy

    Expand
  22. Bibliography of British and Irish History

    The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

    It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. As well as providing details of publications, the Bibliography provides links to online catalogues to help you find the items that it lists in research libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA, and it provides links to online text where available. Walk in users allowed; Unlimited simultaneous users.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 55BC to present

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Theater Studies

    Expand
  23. British History Online

    British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

    Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research. With so much material now being published on the world wide web in either un-reviewed form, or in fee-based services, the IHR has shown its commitment to promoting the study of history by publishing these priceless resources for their historical value, cross-searchable, in one place and free of charge.

    Highlights include sources relating to national and local government (excluding Parliament), and the development of British law. Sources relating to the churches, religious houses and other religious groups. Records of commerce and trade, taxation, population and property. Sources relating to art and architecture, science and the history of ideas. Historical and topographical sources relating to specific places. Parliamentary history: Sources relating to proceedings and legislation in the two Houses of Parliament at Westminster and sources for metropolitan London and other urban centres.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  24. British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service (BOPCRIS)

    BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service) aims to aid researchers interested in British Official Publications over the period 1688 -1995 by providing a Web-based bibliographic database (including Parliamentary papers).

    The BOPCRIS database enables researchers to search and browse for relevant documents, read abstracts, and view detailed consistent subject indexing of key documents so they can assess whether they need to see the full document. The database also offers digitized full-text versions of a limited number of documents.

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  25. British Online Archives

    This archive of digitized microfilm has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonized by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia.

    Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1700-1994

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand