- Your selections:
- History, Modern (1800-)
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 101 - 125 of 141
The Atlantic History module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field of Atlantic History.Expand
It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.Walk-in users: OK
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today.Expand
A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. Oxford Bibliographies Online’s British and Irish Literature provides expert guidance through articles and citations.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History Early Modern 1450-1800
The Victorian era was highly conscious of its own relation to the past – its ‘heritage’ or place in history – but it also sensed its role in shaping the future.Expand
For modern readers, it has come to represent both our literary past and the beginnings of modernity. Students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature to offer a reliable, up-to-date guide to the best literature in the field through essays and citations.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, English and American Literature
Provides full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: annual updates cover individuals who have died after 2000.Expand
The ODNB covers people who were born and lived in the British Isles, people from the British Isles who achieved recognition in other countries, people who lived in territories formerly connected to the British Isles at a time when they were in contact with British rule, and people born elsewhere who settled in the British Isles for significant periods or whose visits enabled them to leave a mark on British life. Allows 2-3 simultaneous users.
Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Biographies
Provides online access to more than 3,000 articles and electronic resources in English on the Islamic world, includes more than 150 primary source documents with editorial instructions, and has a glossary of Islamic terms.Expand
Also includes two interpretations and one concordance of the Koran.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biographies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion
This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.Expand
Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology
Indexes genealogy periodicals. Also referred to as Ancestry.Expand
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases
An electronic index to millions of articles published in 4,079 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. PIO is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 200 years.Expand
PIO currently indexes over 13 million articles since the eighteenth century and every article in each journal is indexed. Over two centuries of scholarly publication in 40 languages and dialects are indexed, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, History US, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Womens and Gender Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Supported by the Ministére de l'éducation nationale, de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche and l'université Lumiére Lyon 2, PERSEE is similar to JSTOR in providing full text in pdf format to back issues of hundreds of prestigious journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences (including a moving wall of three to five years depending on the journal). PERSEE is free of charge and the first phase of the project includes the following journals:Expand
- Les Annales
- Bibliothéque de léécole des chartes
- Matériaux pour léhistoire de notre temps
- Revue économique
- Revue de léart
- Revue franéaise de science politique
Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world....The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic.Expand
The project continues to explore new ways of presenting complex resources for electronic publication.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 provides a unique perspective on the lives of the survivors — Jewish and non-Jewish — of the Holocaust and World War II.Expand
The collection contains documents from British government files as well as those of the Jewish Committee for Relief Abroad and the Jewish Relief Units — including surveys, leaflets, reports of relief workers, U.S. zone reports, War office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports and correspondence of relief organizations. It covers the international politics leading the administration, care, repatriation and emigration of Displaced Persons (DPs) and the daily plight of the refugees themselves.Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Economics, English and American Literature, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Library and Information Science, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Provides searchable full text of pamphlets, the op-ed pieces of their day, from two major collections: Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P.Expand
Chase & John P. Hale; and Civil War Pamphlets 1861-1865. Included are biographies, campaign literature, government documents, journals, presidential addresses, sermons, and speeches. Also provides full text of eight major Northern, Southern, and Border State newspapers from the antebellum period through the end of the Civil War: Richmond Dispatch, Charleston Mercury, New Orleans Times Picayune, Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus [Ohio] State Journal, Kentucky [Louisville] Daily Journal, and Memphis Daily Appeal.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, African American Studies, History US, History Modern 1800-, News Sources
Public Life in Contemporary Argentina is a full-text database that provides information on comparative politics, sociology, grassroots movements, gender studies, the uses of media in political organizing, social anthropology, and history.Expand
Users can search by: keyword, type of movement (e.g., political party, neighborhood assembly, women's organizations), subject or theme, geographic area, date of publication, source (i.e., name of publication in which document or article appeared), and type of document.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, Political Science, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Sociology
This full text, full image database covers the 141 surviving volumes of Queen Victoria’s journal and reproduces the pages as high-resolution color images and includes separate photographs of the illustrations and inserts contained within the pages.Expand
The journals contain household and family concerns, as well as comments on literature and affairs of state and are a valuable primary source for scholars of nineteenth-century British political and social history, as well as for those working on gender studies and autobiographical writing.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Science and Technology, Womens and Gender Studies
This database, focusing on the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, includes archival material—manuscript, typescript and ephemera—from key libraries in Britain and America, such as Bowling Green State, Berkeley, Sussex, National Archives at Kew, and the Rock Source Archive.Expand
Other features are video clips, visual sources, and chronologies. Topics covered include popular culture (TV, music & movies), the Vietnam War, and movements from Civil Rights to Women’s Liberation.Keyword Search supports the Boolean operators AND, OR and AND NOT between keywords.
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Modern 1800-, History US, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Womens and Gender Studies
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape provides unique access to rare and priceless literary sources in the form of original documents for the Romantic period.Expand
Romanticism includes verse and prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, legal and financial records, and guide books. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of William Wordsworth and the wider social, political, and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries. In addition, this collection makes available the writings of Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey, Robert Southey, Mary Wordsworth, Dora Wordsworth, and Sara Hutchinson, as well as masses of personal correspondence between key literary and political figures of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Also included are over 2,500 fine art pieces from the Wordsworth Trust’s fine art collection that serve to contextualize the work of the poets and writers represented. They also provide a vivid and evocative representation of the rich, natural landscape that surrounded the Lake poets and served to inspire so much of their creativity.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Womens and Gender Studies
Sabin Americana 1500-1926 is a fully searchable online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.Expand
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. The resource currently contains an estimated 36,400 titles, 44,000 volumes totaling almost 9,500,000 pages. The genesis for this database is the noted bibliography compiled by Joseph Sabin: Bibliotheca Americana - a Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time.
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases
Scripta Sinica is a full-text database established for academic research. Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full-text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale.Expand
More than 400 titles and 350,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care. The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Economics, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion
Large digital archive of documents related to slavery in the Atlantic World. The database is divided into four parts: I Debates over Slavery and Abolition, II Slave Trade and the Atlantic World, III Institution of Slavery, and IV Age of Emancipation.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, History US
An important portal for slavery and abolition studies, this database brings together documents and collections covering the period 1490-2007 from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world.Expand
Subjects include varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Contains images of original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images not available elsewhere plus original essays by leading scholars, and links to other sites. Part 1 of 3 currently available.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-
A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.Expand
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Education, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Environmental Sciences
The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.Expand
Subjects include anthropology, political science, history, public health, library science, law, sociology, linguistics, philosophy, urban studies, psychology, and women's studies. SSCI is included as a part of Web of Science.
SSCI can be searched via an Endnote connection file.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Subjects: Anthropology, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies
South and Southeast Asian Literature is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas.Expand
Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews and manuscript materials. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis.
Subjects: Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World
The documents in this resource come from the archives of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (SPG). Some are true archives, arising from the work of the Society in India; some are manuscripts which cover the period when the Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge (SPCK), founded in 1698 was working with the Royal Danish (Lutheran) Mission, founded in 1705.Expand
They chart the history of Anglican Protestant engagement in the South Asia.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music, Religion