Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 31

  1. Maagarim

    Database of the Historical dictionary of the Hebrew language. The nine-million-word corpus draws on Hebrew sources from the rabbinic period (2nd century BCE) through the geonic period (11th century CE).

    It is essentially a concordance, and enables retrieval of citations by roots, lemmata and declined forms as well as specific texts by title, author, date and literary genre.

    Subjects: Area Studies, Jewish Studies, Linguistics

    Expand
  2. Macmillan Cabinet Papers 1957-1963

    Macmillan Online provides historians and political scientists with direct access to over 30,000 documents from the highest level of the British Government during the Macmillan Administration.

    Covers not only domestic politics but also major foreign policy challenges including the erection of Berlin Wall, the Cuban Missile, Crisis and the dissolution of the British empire. Includes scholarly essays to provide context.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1957-1963

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, Political Science, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  3. Magazineplus

    Provides over 3.3 million bibliographic references to articles from more than 7,600 Japanese scholarly periodicals from 1975 to the present. It covers subject areas including the humanities, social sciences, medical science and science and technology.

    Note: Magazineplus requires that a user's browser be configured to display a Japanese character set. Remote access is not possible at this time for Magazineplus.

    • Coverage: 1975-present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies

    Expand
  4. Maisaku

    Maisaku is a database containing articles from the Mainichi Shimbun dating back to 1872. Also included are the results of the newspaper’s opinion polls dating from 1945.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1872-present
    • New

    Subjects: Japanese Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  5. Making of Modern Law

    Searchable full-text collection of 22,000 treatises on American and British Commonwealth law published between 1800 and 1926.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1832-1978

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, Law

    Expand
  6. Making of the Modern World (Goldsmiths'-Kress)

    This digitized version of Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature is the most comprehensive collection for researching the literature of economics and business from 1450 to 1850.

    It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections--the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School--plus supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection at Columbia University and the Sterling Library at Yale. It provides full-text searching capability for thousands of primary source materials documenting the emergence of modern economics and other social sciences, as well as the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism. Writings of major economists, as well as pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, and hundreds of serials, are included.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1450-1850

    Subjects: African American Studies, Business, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, History World

    Expand
  7. MarciveWeb DOCS

    MarciveWeb DOCS is the World Wide Web version of MARCIVE's GPO record database. MarciveWeb DOCS includes GPO records from 1976 to the present as well as shipping list records for access to titles not yet cataloged.

    You can also check to see whether your library or others you are interested in might have the titles you are looking at.

    • Coverage: 1976 to present

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Government Information

    Expand
  8. MAS FullTEXT Ultra

    Covers general interest and current events magazines, as well as general reference, health, and science journals. Created for a high school audience. Provides full-text from 1990 to the present, abstracts from 1984 to present.

    • Coverage: 1984 to present

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  9. Mass Observation Online

    Mass Observation Online: British Social History, 1937-1972 from the University of Sussex incudes material divided into two main types: material collected by investigators and that collected by volunteers..

    The first type includes surveys, collections of emphemera, accounts of ‘overheards’ and covert observations of the general public, while the volunteer material is personal accounts of individual lives provided by the amateur observers from MO’s ‘National Panel’. The database includes File Reports, 1937-1972 on topics such as popular culture, consumerism, branding and fashion, sex, marriage, and the family, as well as attitudes to war, politics and America, Russia and Europe. There are also MO publications, diaries, directives, and 140,000 full color digital images.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1937-1972

    Subjects: Anthropology, History Modern 1800-, Psychology, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  10. MasterFILE Premier

    Covers general interest and current events magazines, as well as general reference, health, and science journals. Created for a public library audience. Provides full-text from 1990 to the present, abstracts from 1984 to the present.

    • Coverage: 1984 to present

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  11. MathSciNet

    Covers journals, books, and conference proceedings on mathematics from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1940 to present

    Subjects: Mathematics

    Expand
  12. MDConsult

    Database of clinical information including textbooks, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education pamphlets.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Health, Medicine, Nursing

    Expand
  13. Medieval Family Life-The Paston, Stonor, Cely, Plumpton and Armburgh Papers

    The Medieval Family Life database contains the only 5 major letter collections from fifteenth century England, the Paston, Stonor, Cely, Plumpton and Armburgh Papers.

    The Paston letters document the life of a gentry family during the War of the Roses. The Celys were a merchant family in the wool trade and collections contains commercial dealings for both the economic and social historians. Plumptons documents continue through to the early 16th century, and Armburgh family material is primarily concerned with a dispute over a family inheritance. It includes both the original medieval manuscripts and transcripts, as well as family trees, a chronology, a glossary, a and an interactive map.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1200-1500

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World

    Expand
  14. Medieval Travel Writing

    This database presents manuscripts of European travel writing dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries culled from libraries around the world. It covers geography, exploration, trade, literature, and the new field of medieval postcolonial studies.

    The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East, Asia as well as travel to the Holy Land. The original documents are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English, so supporting secondary texts of translations and editions are included. There is also a gallery of maps and images, a bibliography and chronology, and a slideshow.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1200-1500

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Religion

    Expand
  15. MEDLINE

    The National Library of Medicine's premier database indexing literature in biomedicine, medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

    1966-present
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1966-present

    Subjects: Medicine, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Health, Anthropology, Nursing, Public Health, Psychology, Reference Sources

    Expand
  16. MEDLINE [EBSCO]

    Indexes journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Health, Psychology

    Expand
  17. MEDLINE [OCLC FirstSearch]

    Indexes journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1965-present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Health, Psychology

    Expand
  18. MEDLINEplus (at National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health)

    MEDLINEplus, a service of the National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health, provides resources on common diseases and conditions, a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, directories for locating hospitals and doctors, information on prescription and non-prescription drugs, and more information of interest to the public.

    Subjects: Health

    Expand
  19. Meiji Japan

    A collection of the personal and professional papers of Edward Sylvester Morse, a zoologist and author of various works related to Japan. Having initially traveled to Japan in 1877 to study brachiopods, Morse introduced modern aspects of biology and zoology to Japan and developed an interest in Japanese ethnology and archaelogy, collecting pottery and artifacts and keeping detailed notes on his observations of daily life.

    The papers, digitized by the Peabody Essex Museum, include his diaries, travel journals, correspondence, lectures, drawings, and numerous other types of documents.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1858-1925

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  20. Mental Measurements Yearbook

    Provides descriptive information and reviews for more than 2,200 commercially available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, speech & hearing, and sensory motor.

    NOTE: Tests are not included in the database; only reviews and information about obtaining the tests.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1985- present, updated every 6 months.

    Subjects: Education, Health, Psychology, Psychology Measurement instruments

    Expand
  21. Merck Index Online

    The authoritative source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Topics include: Human and veterinary drugs; monoclonal antibodies; substances used for medical imaging; Plant and herbal medicines; Nutraceuticals and cosmeceuticals; Laboratory reagents and catalysts.

    Of interest to chemists, biochemists, pharmacists, pharmacologists, toxicologists, and medical researchers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Current
    • New

    Subjects: Health, Chemistry

    Expand
  22. Merck Manuals

    The Merck Manuals have been standard medical reference sources for over 100 years providing detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion of symptoms and current therapy.

    The publisher provides free access to four Merck Manuals:

    The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy;
    The Merck Manual Home Edition providing medical information in everyday language;
    The Merck Manual of Geriatrics, and
    the Merck Manual of Patient Symptoms.
    PLEASE NOTE: The Merck Index is a separate publication from the Merck Manuals. Although listed on the Merck Manuals page, full access to the Merck Index is not available.
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Medicine, Health, Nursing

    Expand
  23. Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary

    Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary is available as part of Encyclopaedia Britannica Online. It is a general, English-language dictionary that includes definitions (with the most recent meaning listed last), examples of use, pronunciations, etymologies, and synonyms.

    Hyper-text "hot-links" are provided to related words.

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Reference Sources

    Expand
  24. Met Opera on Demand

    Provides streamed video and audio of performances at the Metropolitan Opera House.  Contains videos from the Live in HD series of movie-theater transmissions, videos shown on public television (1977-2003), and radio broadcast performances dating back to 1936.  All videos subtitled.

    • Coverage: 1936-present

    Subjects: Music, Audio and Video Online, Theater Studies

    Expand
  25. Middle English Compendium

    Designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History World

    Expand