Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 50 of 96

  1. China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980a

    This database provides English-language sources relating to China and the West from 1793 to 1980. It covers almost any aspect of Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.

    From this database you can find manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors descriptions of the Boxer War. There are also significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals, such as The Chinese Recorder, Light and Life Magazine and The Land of Sinim: the North China Mission Quarterly Paper.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1793-1980

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-

    Expand
  2. Colonial State Papers

    The Colonial State Papers (CO1) is a database of documents that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574 and 1757, and that relate to the governance of and activities in, the American, Canadian, and West Indian Colonies of England.

    The database also contains the Calendar of the State Papers Colonial: North America and West Indies, which includes bibliographic descriptions of documents from COI and other Colonial Office Files.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1574-1757

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, History US

    Expand
  3. Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961

    Confidential Print North America is a digital collection of British Foreign and Colonial Office files from the National Archives at Kew. Documents include reports, dispatches, weekly political summaries, and monthly economic reports pertaining to the United States, Canada, the Caribbean and Central America.

    The database is indexed and is full-text searchable. It forms part of the Adam Matthew's Archives Direct collection of British National Archives records.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1820 to 1961

    Subjects: Government Information, American Indian Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  4. Credo Reference Unlimited

    Credo Ready-Reference services feature full-text, aggregated content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. Credo Ready-Reference is a user interface that combines content from multiple publishers cross-referencing technology.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Business, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Reference Sources

    Expand
  5. Da Cheng Gu Zhi Dui

    Da Cheng Gu Zhi Dui = 大成故纸堆 is a database for antiquarian documents specifically. It contains over 7000 kinds of journals and 40 thousand kinds of books published in the Republic of China, as well as 17000 ancient documents, 3400 ancient local chronicles, and 200 journals of history of the China’s Communist Party.

    Providing a convenient access to consulting and downloading large amounts of valuable ancient literature, it has become an indispensable database for academic study on the humanities and social sciences. It includes 8 Sections: 1. 1.大成老旧刊全文数据库 Dacheng Old Periodical Database; 2.民国图书 Books of the Republic of China; 3.申报 Shen Bao; 4.古方志集 Collection of Ancient Local Chronicles; 5.古籍文献 Ancient Literature; 6.党史 History of the Party; 7.顺天时报 Shuntian Shibao; 8.大美晚报 Shanghai Evening Post and Mercury

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Before 1949
    • Trial

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  6. Defining Gender, 1450-1910

    Defining Gender is a collection of original source materials from British and European archives. Documents from 21 libraries are thematically organized by areas: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.

    The documents were selected by 18 academic, consultant editors, who have contributed essays to the area sections, which relate directly to the source material. Manuscripts, printed works, and illustrations address key issues from both feminine and masculine perspectives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1450 - 1910

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, English and American Literature

    Expand
  7. Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker im WWW

    This is the electronic version of a series published in book form since 1981. It includes classics of fiction, poetry, philosophy, history, and literary criticism written by German authors.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Religion, Comparative Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Philosophy, Political Science

    Expand
  8. Docuseek2 Streaming Video (Docuseek)

    Docuseek2 is an streaming video database covering the films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.

     Users can see licensed content by clicking on the My Movies link at the top of most pages, or search for content, and view it by clicking on the Licensed icon in the search results, or, from the product page, clicking on the View tab.  All individual streaming video titles are also available at the title-level in DiscoverE.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Audio and Video Online, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Computer Science, Current Events, Dance, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, Georgia, Government Information, Health, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies, Jewish Studies, Journalism, Korean Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, News Sources, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  9. Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO

    Digital images of every page of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of approximately 33 million pages, Eighteenth Century Collections Online allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1701-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  10. Eighteenth Century Journals

    This Portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years.

    Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1685-1815

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Business, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology

    Expand
  11. Encyclopaedia Islamica

    This volume of Encyclopaedia Islamica is the first of a projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da'irat al-Ma'arif-i Buzurg-i Islami, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world.

    One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shi'i Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopaedias. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it off ers the western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shi'i Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilisation, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition. (1-3 simultaneous users)

    1-3 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 7th century to present

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion

    Expand
  12. Encyclopaedia of Islam: Second Edition

    The Encyclopaedia of Islam combines a familiar look with fast and effective research facilities. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the monumental, printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is now easily available on your computer screen.

    Additional search facilities and the Supplement enable the user to efficiently search and combine data from a vast corpus of over 12,000 printed pages— within seconds.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion

    Expand
  13. Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World

    The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World covers an area of Jewish history, religion and culture which until now lacked its own cohesive/discrete reference work.

    The Encyclopedia aims to fill the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  14. English Reports, Full Reprint

    HeinOnline allows you to search or browse all 176 volumes of the English Reports, Full Reprint along with its "Index of Cases" and "Index Chart." This collection encompasses the decisions of the English Courts prior to the commencement of the Law Reports in 1865.

    It represents reprints of 275 separate series of reports, arranged by the English Courts: House of Lords, Chancery, Rolls Court, etc. The English Reports, Full Reprint contains over 100,000 cases reprinted verbatim and spans the years 1220 to 1867.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1220 to 1865

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World

    Expand
  15. English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)

    The English Short-Title Catalog (ESTC) is a vast database designed to include a bibliographic record, with holdings, of every surviving copy of letterpress produced in Great Britain or any of its dependencies, in any language, worldwide, from 1473-1800.

    • Coverage: 1473 to 1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US

    Expand
  16. Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

    Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.

    Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1936 to 1980

    Subjects: Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, LGBT Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  17. Gale Artemis: Primary Sources

    Artemis Primary Sources allows a user to search all Gale Primary Source humanities databases at the same time, including newspapers, monographs, journals, and ephemera.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1500 - present

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  18. Gallica

    An encyclopedic digital library composed from collections held at the Bibliothque Nationale of France. Contents are mainly rare and primary source materials and out-of-print and hard to access documents which are in the public domain.

    Holdings include printed materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music, dictionaries, etc.), graphic materials (engravings, maps, photographs, etc.) and sound recordings. Mainly in French.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Middle Ages to Early 20th Century

    Subjects: Area Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, News Sources, Science and Technology

    Expand
  19. GenderWatch

    Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Archives and Primary Sources, Current Events, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, LGBT Studies, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  20. Gerritsen Collection -- Women's History Online

    The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages. This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works.

    The greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages.

    This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1543-1945

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  21. Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange

    The Global Commodities database provides primary source materials arranged around fifteen major trade goods from world history such as chocolate, coffee, cotton, and opium.

    Each commodity is documented through a wide range of manuscript materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, objects and rare books so that the scholar can explore the origins of the commodity, their first uses, the trade that developed and the ways in which these items were marketed and consumed. The project touches on themes of exploration and discovery; imperialism and colonialism; trade wars; translocation and economic geography; slavery; taste; and the evolution of global branding. The resource complements and integrates with the Empire Online database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 10,000 BC = present (most entries from 1500-1950)

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  22. Goldsmiths'-Kress (SEE Making of the Modern World)

    Goldsmiths'-Kress (SEE Making of the Modern World) For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science

    Expand
  23. Grand Secretariat Archives

    An additional login is required to view this resource:

    • Group name:LIB
    • User ID:EMO01
    • Password: EMOLIB
    These Archives were originally kept at the Grand Secretariat Storehouse in the Qing Imperial palace.The Database covers over four thousand Ming (1368-1644) documents and more than three hundred thousand volumes of Qing (1644-1911) archival materials.  They include imperial decrees, edicts, memorials, tribute document, examination questions, examination papers, rosters of successful examination candidates, documents from the offices of the Grand Secretariat, documents from the offices for book compilation and old documents from Mukden.  In a word, they are very valuable sources for institutional, social and economic historians.

    An additional login is required to view this resource:Printing loginGroup name:LIBUser ID:EMO01Password: EMOLIBNon-printing loginGroup name:LIBUser ID:EMO02Password: E20170
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1368-1911

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Economics, Education, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Sociology

    Expand
  24. Grand Tour

    The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century (1701-1800). This database contains primary source letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps that illustrate the everyday issues of transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex, as well as European political and religious life.

    The architecture, street life and urban planning of cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva are highlighted.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1701-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  25. Handbook of Latin American Studies

    A selective bibliography on Latin America. Indexes journals, books and book chapters, and conference papers in the social sciences and humanities.

    • Coverage: 1935 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Comparative Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish

    Expand