- Your selections:
- History, Early Modern (1450-1800)
Need a place to start? Try these.
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 25 of 91
These literary manuscripts include presentation volumes, commonplace books, and volumes of household accounts, which give context for the poetry and are valuable sources for social and cultural history.Expand
The project combines facsimile images of all the manuscripts in their entirety, linked to new indexing and to the powerful BCMSV database (Leeds Verse Database), which lists first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content, bibliographic references, MS and record number for over 6,600 poems within the collection.
Some of the poets represented include Mary Campbell, John Dryden, George Herbert, Mary Leapor, Andrew Marvell, Alexander Pope, Hester Pulter, and Jonathan Swift. This resource also includes a wealth of songs, riddles, and popular tags.Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Womens and Gender Studies
The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.Expand
The collection covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, News Sources
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.Expand
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
Subjects: African American Studies, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, News Sources, Multidisciplinary Databases, History World, LGBT Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, Economics, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Current Events, Dance, Classics, Mathematics, Comparative Literature, Science and Technology, Physics, Book Reviews
Access to Archives (A2A) is part of the UK archives network. The A2A database contains catalogues describing archives held locally in England and Wales and dating from the eighth century to the present day.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Archives and Primary Sources
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.Expand
These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Societe des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels.Expand
It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saints feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. It contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.Unlimited users; walk-in users allowed
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, Religion
Contains 1) Struggles for Freedom in South Africa Collection of almost 200,000 pages of primary and secondary materials documenting the fight against apartheid collected from around the world, and 2) African Cultural Heritage which provides scholarly descriptions and images (including 3-D models and maps) of important historical and cultural sites on the continent including Timbuktu, Kilwa Kisiwani,, Axum and various rock art sites.Expand
Both collections are growing.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies covers North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.Expand
Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
Subjects: Anthropology, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies
A digital collection of newspapers published in the Hapsburg Monarchy and Austria. Users can either browse the titles of the newspapers or choose a specific date.Expand
Among the digitized newspapers there are for example "Wiener Zeitung", "Pester Lloyd", "Prager Tagblatt", and "Reichspost" in German.
Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources
The Adam Matthew Archvie Explorer Cross-searches over 35 Adam Matthew primary source databases. These multiple resources concentrate on English language archival material from the UK and the USA.Expand
See also these individually listed databases: American West, China: Culture and Society, China: Trade, Politics and Culture, Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966, Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Defining Gender, Eighteenth Century Journals I- V, Empire Online, Everyday Life and Women in America, First World War, Foreign Office Files for China I-III, Foreign Office Files India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 , Global Commodities, India, Raj and Empire, Jewish Life in America, Literary, Manuscripts (Berg), Literary Manuscripts (Leeds), London Low Life, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Mass Observation Online, Medieval Family Life, Medieval Travel Writing, Meiji Japan, Perdita Manuscripts, Rock And Roll, Romanticism, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, The Grand Tour, The Nixon Years, Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History, Victorian Popular Culture, Virginia Company Archives, Women in The National Archives.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
The critical edition of the Medieval Latin Aristotle including the entire corpus of all known Latin versions and all Medieval Greek-Latin translations, forming the main tools for the study of science and philosophy in the Middle Ages.Expand
Prepared and supervised by the Artistoteles Latinus Center of the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, ALD Online can be searched on its own or simultaneously with Library of Latin Texts, the Monumenta Germaniae Historica.
Subjects: Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy, Religion, Science and Technology, Archives and Primary Sources
Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance is a full-text searchable collection of 90 treatises on art and architecture from the period 1470 to 1775, and is structured around Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists.Expand
Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI) is a multidisciplinary database. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.Expand
Subjects include: Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater. AHCI is included as a part of Web of Science.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index can be searched via an Endnote connection file.
Search tutorial and cited reference search tutorial available.
Subjects: Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Dance, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Philosophy
The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BMC) is a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften).Expand
It is designed to serve as a complement to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), which covers primarily periodical and journal articles. In fact, BCM and IMB are fully integrated with each other. BCM coverage goes as far back as the 1958 year of publication.Walk-in users: OK; 3 simultaneous users
Subjects: Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Philosophy, Religion
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.Expand
It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. As well as providing details of publications, the Bibliography provides links to online catalogues to help you find the items that it lists in research libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA, and it provides links to online text where available. Walk in users allowed; Unlimited simultaneous users.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Theater Studies
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.Expand
Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research. With so much material now being published on the world wide web in either un-reviewed form, or in fee-based services, the IHR has shown its commitment to promoting the study of history by publishing these priceless resources for their historical value, cross-searchable, in one place and free of charge.
Highlights include sources relating to national and local government (excluding Parliament), and the development of British law. Sources relating to the churches, religious houses and other religious groups. Records of commerce and trade, taxation, population and property. Sources relating to art and architecture, science and the history of ideas. Historical and topographical sources relating to specific places. Parliamentary history: Sources relating to proceedings and legislation in the two Houses of Parliament at Westminster and sources for metropolitan London and other urban centres.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-
BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service) aims to aid researchers interested in British Official Publications over the period 1688 -1995 by providing a Web-based bibliographic database (including Parliamentary papers).Expand
The BOPCRIS database enables researchers to search and browse for relevant documents, read abstracts, and view detailed consistent subject indexing of key documents so they can assess whether they need to see the full document. The database also offers digitized full-text versions of a limited number of documents.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-
This archive of digitized microfilm has a wide range of items to interest those researching territories colonized by Britain including: America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia.Expand
Documents include records made by the East India Company and the records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. The collection contains a range of sources that relate to both politics and history, these range from the Parliamentary Labour Party papers and the Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation to the records of the Communist Party of Great Britain, and on to The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources
Brockelmann Online consists of both original print volumes of Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes.Expand
It is full-text searchable. The “Brockelmann” has become an indispensible research tool for the Islamic world in general and the Middle East in particular. Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. The multi-volume reference work is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author’s works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature.
Subjects: Area Studies, Classics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-
Cairn provides a comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities. This database represents a broad collaboration between several European publishing houses (Belin, De Boeck, La Decounverte and Eres).Expand
French Studies bouquet, covers topics in General Interest, History, Literature, and Philosophy, and includes such publishers as PUF, Belin, Vrin, La Découverte, and Les Belles Lettres. Several journals of interest are Revue française d'histoire des idées politiques, Dix-septième siècle, Le Français aujourd'hui, and Médiévales.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, French Literature and Language
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection presently contains the Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, classics and culture; more collections in subject areas will be added soon.Expand
The collection is updated with new Companions on publication.
4-5 Simultaneous usersWalk in users: OK; 4-5 simultaneous users
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies
Cambridge Histories Online provides immediate full-text access to more than 300 volumes published since 1960 across 15 subject areas. Users can create accounts and save searches, place bookmarks, and adjust search results.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, African American Studies, Area Studies, Classics, Economics, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Theater Studies
China: Culture and Society is a digital collection of about 1,200 extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.Expand
The pamphlets cover speeches, guides, reports, essays, catalogues, magazine articles and other material addressing Chinese history, culture, and everyday life. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied. The wide variety of research interests and themes covered by the pamphlets include education, emigration, the foreign presence, missionaries, wars, rebellion, reform, opium, healthcare and language.
Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources
This database provides English-language sources relating to China and the West from 1793 to 1980. It covers almost any aspect of Chinese history during the two centuries of monumental social and political upheaval that ultimately recreated China into a modern power.Expand
From this database you can find manuscripts encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors descriptions of the Boxer War. There are also significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals, such as The Chinese Recorder, Light and Life Magazine and The Land of Sinim: the North China Mission Quarterly Paper.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Chinese Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-
The Colonial State Papers (CO1) is a database of documents that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574 and 1757, and that relate to the governance of and activities in, the American, Canadian, and West Indian Colonies of England.Expand
The database also contains the Calendar of the State Papers Colonial: North America and West Indies, which includes bibliographic descriptions of documents from COI and other Colonial Office Files.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History World, History US