Database Results for Your Selections

Results 51 - 75 of 87

  1. India, Raj and Empire

    Manuscript Collections from the National Library of Scotland documenting this history from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947.

    Sources range from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras. There are original Indian manuscripts containing histories and literary works, as well as accounts of wars, discussions of Indian Nationalism and papers of tea and coffee planters.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1615-1947

    Subjects: Area Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases, Religion, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  2. International Historical Statistics

    International Historical Statistics provides access to 490 tables, covering data on 211 countries and territories collected between 1750-2010. Includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania.

    Within each region are chapters on population and vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport & communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Each section has a full description of the sources used to compile the statistics; all statistical tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files with the ability to remove sections and merge tables.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Multidisciplinary Databases, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  3. Irish Newspaper Archives

    The Irish Newspaper Archives provides full-text access to over fifty newspaper published in Ireland from 1738 to present.  See website for current list of newspapers available.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1738 to Present

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, News Sources

    Expand
  4. Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

    Indexes journals covering the cultural aspects of the Renaissance in Europe from 1300-1700. It will eventually include all aspects of the Renaissance and Middle Ages (400-1500).

    • Coverage: 1843 to present

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  5. Journal Citation Reports

    The Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international.

    The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. JCR Web shows the relationship between citing and cited journals in a clear, easy-to-use framework. JCR Web is available annually in two editions, the Science Edition and the Social Sciences Edition.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: 2001 to date

    Subjects: Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Business, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Mathematics, Library and Information Science, Physical Education and Sports, Political Science, Psychology, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies, Institutional Productivity and Research Analytics

    Expand
  6. JSTOR

    JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.

    JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  7. Literary Research Guide

    A selective, annotated guide to essential reference sources for the study of British literature, United States literatures, and other literatures in English. The contents include over 1,000 entries, which reference nearly 1,600 additional books, articles, and electronic resources.

    Over 700 reviews are cited.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Theater Studies, Spanish, Multidisciplinary Databases, Linguistics, Library and Information Science, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Journalism, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History US, Jewish Studies, French Literature and Language, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature

    Expand
  8. Literature Criticism Online

    Provides access to editorially selected critical responses of authors, works, and topics from every age and literary discipline. Includes over 200,000 reprinted critical essays, arranged chronologically within each entry to provide a “history” of the critical reception of a work. Literature Criticism is the online version of Gale’s literature criticism print sets:

    • Contemporary Literary Criticism
    • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
    • Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
    • Literature Criticism, 1400-1800
    • Shakespeare Literature Criticism
    • Classical & Medieval Criticism
    • Poetry Criticism
    • Drama Criticism
    • Short Story Criticism
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History US, History World

    Expand
  9. Luthers Werke

    Martin Luther (1483-1546) is one of the central figures in the development of European cultural and intellectual history. This is as a result of not only his theological influence but also his contribution to the development of New High German.

    The complete Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke is an essential tool for theological, historical, philosophical, linguistic and literary research.

    The complete collection of Luther's writings is one of the largest editions of any individual author ever to have been created. This monumental work, of which the first volume was published in 1883, consists over 117 quarto volumes and is now published in full. The Weimar Edition of Luthers Werke provides an indispensable historical-critical tool for theologians, historians, linguists and literary critics carrying out research into Luther's life and work.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, Religion

    Expand
  10. Making of the Modern World (Goldsmiths'-Kress)

    This digitized version of Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature is the most comprehensive collection for researching the literature of economics and business from 1450 to 1850.

    It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections--the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School--plus supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection at Columbia University and the Sterling Library at Yale. It provides full-text searching capability for thousands of primary source materials documenting the emergence of modern economics and other social sciences, as well as the expansion of world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism. Writings of major economists, as well as pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, and hundreds of serials, are included.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1450-1850

    Subjects: African American Studies, Business, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, History World

    Expand
  11. Oxford Biblical Studies Online

    This is a comprehensive source for the study of the Bible, biblical history, and the reception history of the Bible. The site combines scholarly texts and reference works with critical tools for Biblical study.

    Popular resources on this site include the full text of the New Oxford Annotated Bible, concordances for the NRSV and NAB translations, the Oxford Bible Commentary, the Oxford Companion to the Bible, several of the Oxford Encyclopedias, the Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible, the Oxford Bible Atlas, and many more resources from Oxford University Press.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Classics, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  12. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Atlantic History

    The Atlantic History module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field of Atlantic History.

    It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.

    Walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1500 - Present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies

    Expand
  13. Oxford Bibliographies Online. British and Irish Literature

    As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today.

    A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. Oxford Bibliographies Online’s British and Irish Literature provides expert guidance through articles and citations.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 600-Present

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History Early Modern 1450-1800

    Expand
  14. Oxford Bibliographies Online. Renaissance and Reformation

    The Renaissance and Reformation module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in Renaissance and Reformation studies.

    It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.

    Walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1300 - 1699

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Music, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies

    Expand
  15. Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

    Provides full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: annual updates cover individuals who have died after 2000.

    The ODNB covers people who were born and lived in the British Isles, people from the British Isles who achieved recognition in other countries, people who lived in territories formerly connected to the British Isles at a time when they were in contact with British rule, and people born elsewhere who settled in the British Isles for significant periods or whose visits enabled them to leave a mark on British life. Allows 2-3 simultaneous users.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Biographies

    Expand
  16. Oxford Islamic Studies Online

    Provides online access to more than 3,000 articles and electronic resources in English on the Islamic world, includes more than 150 primary source documents with editorial instructions, and has a glossary of Islamic terms.

    Also includes two interpretations and one concordance of the Koran.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 570-2007

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biographies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion

    Expand
  17. Oxford Reference Online

    This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

    Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology

    Expand
  18. Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700

    This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. Perdita means "lost woman" and the purpose of the project has been to find early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form.

    Over 230 entries have been selected and digitized. In addition to the digital facsimiles, the site includes biographical and bibliographical information and essays by specialists in the field.

    • Coverage: 1500-1700

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Philosophy, Religion, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  19. Periodical Source Index (PERSI)

    Indexes genealogy periodicals. Also referred to as Ancestry.

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  20. Periodicals Index Online

    An electronic index to millions of articles published in 4,079 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. PIO is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 200 years.

    PIO currently indexes over 13 million articles since the eighteenth century and every article in each journal is indexed. Over two centuries of scholarly publication in 40 languages and dialects are indexed, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

    Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, History US, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Womens and Gender Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  21. PERSEE

    Supported by the Ministére de l'éducation nationale, de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche and l'université Lumiére Lyon 2, PERSEE is similar to JSTOR in providing full text in pdf format to back issues of hundreds of prestigious journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences (including a moving wall of three to five years depending on the journal). PERSEE is free of charge and the first phase of the project includes the following journals:

    • Les Annales
    • Bibliothéque de léécole des chartes
    • LéHomme
    • Matériaux pour léhistoire de notre temps
    • Revue économique
    • Revue de léart
    • Revue franéaise de science politique
    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  22. PERSEUS Digital Library

    The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world....The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic.

    The project continues to explore new ways of presenting complex resources for electronic publication.

    Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  23. Project Muse

    Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Economics, English and American Literature, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Library and Information Science, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  24. Romanticism: Life, Literature & Landscape

    Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape provides unique access to rare and priceless literary sources in the form of original documents for the Romantic period.

    Romanticism includes verse and prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, legal and financial records, and guide books. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of William Wordsworth and the wider social, political, and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries. In addition, this collection makes available the writings of Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey, Robert Southey, Mary Wordsworth, Dora Wordsworth, and Sara Hutchinson, as well as masses of personal correspondence between key literary and political figures of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

    Also included are over 2,500 fine art pieces from the Wordsworth Trust’s fine art collection that serve to contextualize the work of the poets and writers represented. They also provide a vivid and evocative representation of the rich, natural landscape that surrounded the Lake poets and served to inspire so much of their creativity.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 18th - 19th century

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  25. Sabin Americana

    Sabin Americana 1500-1926 is a fully searchable online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.

    Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. The resource currently contains an estimated 36,400 titles, 44,000 volumes totaling almost 9,500,000 pages. The genesis for this database is the noted bibliography compiled by Joseph Sabin: Bibliotheca Americana - a Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1500-1926

    Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand