Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 13 of 13

  1. Archives Unbound: European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930

    The Dutch East Indies experienced the replacement of company rule by Dutch government rule and the complete transformation of Java into a colonial society and the successful extension of colonial rule to Sumatra and the eastern archipelago during the early 20th century.

    The boundaries of the modern state of Indonesia were defined during this time and the process of generally exploitative political, military, and economic integration began. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1930
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound: Industrial Mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918

    The standard reference source on the unprecedented industrial mobilization of an entire economy to fight the war of 1914-1918, this 12 volume set has previously only been available in a few select libraries with which the British government deposited copies.

    It is essential for anyone who wants to study the economics behind World War I, the career of David Lloyd George and the process of state intervention in industry. The history of the Ministry of Munitions is one of the most extraordinary and instructive episodes in modern British history. Within less than three years, David Lloyd George and his successors transformed the face of British industry and created the largest government department the county had ever seen. As many as 1,600,000 men and 800,000 women were employed on protected munitions work on behalf of the Ministry. Control was exercised over the iron, steel, chemical, and engineering industries. Over 15,000 firms were engaged on munitions work. A third of them were controlled establishments', giving precedence to government contracts and employing labor on conditions prescribed by the Ministry. More than 200 factories were either nationalized or specially built for munitions work.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1915-1918
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound: Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports and Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, 1945-1949

    This publication comprises two collections, Records Regarding Bank Investigations and Records Relating to Interrogations of Nazi Financiers, from the records of the Office of the Finance Division and Finance Advisor in the Office of Military Government, U.S.

    Zone (Germany) (OMGUS), during the period 1945-1949.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound: Nazism in Poland: The Diary of Governor-General Hans Frank (1939-1945)

    This collection reproduces the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945.

    The journal is in typed format, in chronological order, covering all aspect of Generalgouvernment (GG) administration from its seat in the royal Wawel castle in Krakau (Kraków). The entries reflect careful, thoughtful consideration of administrative matters, rather than the spontaneous thoughts or feelings usually found in a diary. The journal was typed with meticulous care and divided into 38 volumes. Frank’s time away from his official duties in Poland is accounted for but not described in the journal.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1945
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound: Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration

    This archive is composed of the "Cabinet Conclusion" files from all the debates and transactions for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland, 1921–1972.

    These documents are key to any study of the turbulent history of Britain and Ireland during much of the 20th century. Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921–1972 makes available to researchers the working details of every aspect of local administration in peace and war, as well as covering the re-emergence of the civil strife that was to last for more than 30 years. This unique collection will be an essential addition to the holdings of all libraries supporting international studies, British history and the history of modern Ireland, north and south.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1921-1972
    • New

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound: SAFEHAVEN Reports on Nazi Looting of Occupied Countries Hosting (1944-1945)

    SAFEHAVEN was the code name of a project of the Foreign Economic Administration, in cooperation with the State Department and the military services, to block the flow of German capital across neutral boundaries and to identify and observe all German overseas investments.

    During and after World War II the United States Government expended considerable resources on the looted art issue partly through the SAFEHAVEN Programme which aimed to identify, recover, and restitute Nazi looted assets. It was believed that upwards 20% of the art of Europe was looted by the Nazis. The archive records the interest of many people, as well as foreign governments, to know what happened to the assets Holocaust victims placed on deposit in Swiss banks and what happened to all the gold that the Nazis had looted from the central banks of Europe. It provides a full account of the role played during the war by the United States Government in their dealings with the Nazi looted assets.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1944-1945
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound: State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Korea (1941-1947)

    This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

    The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on China.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1947
    • New

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound: State Department's Bureau of Intelligence and Research Reports: Japan (1941-1947)

    This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies.

    The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on Japan.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1947
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound: The Dublin Castle Records 1798-1926

    The Dublin Castle administration in Ireland was the government of Ireland under English and later British rule, from the twelfth century until 1922, based at Dublin Castle.

    Dublin Castle Records, 1798-1926 contains records of the British administration in Ireland prior to 1922, a crucial period which saw the rise of Parnell and the Land War in 1880 through to the establishment of the Irish Free State in 1921. This collection comprises materials from Series CO 904, The National Archives, Kew, UK.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1798-1926
    • New

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound: The Papers of Joseph Chamberlain (1836-1914)

    The Papers of Joseph Chamberlain highlight his political career as Mayor of Birmingham to Secretary of State for the Colonies and the fight over tariff reforms with which he ended his career.

    This collection demonstrates the rapid change in politics, particularly the constantly changing allegiances between politicians and Chamberlain’s own development as a politician. Newspaper clippings of his early speeches, the only record still existing of them, can also be found in this collection, recording his political career from start to finish.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1836-1914
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound: The Papers of Neville Chamberlain (1869-1940)

    Neville Chamberlain, Joseph’s younger son, remains the best-known of the Chamberlain family due to his controversial policy of “appeasement” towards Hitler.

    The Papers of Neville Chamberlain contain political papers documenting his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer and Prime Minister, but also highlight his personal correspondence with his family. These provide insight into the intentions behind his policies, his concerns at the development of the Second World War, as well as letters covering his life together with his wife Annie and his sisters, particularly Hilda and Ida.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1869-1940
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound: The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain (1863-1937)

    Sir Austen Chamberlain, Joseph’s eldest son, was Britain’s most capable Foreign Secretary of the interwar period, earning the Nobel Peace Prize for the signing of the Locarno Treaties in 1925.

    As a career politician, he held a variety of government offices, and The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain contains political papers that variously document his policies as Chancellor of the Exchequer, Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs and Leader of the House of Commons. These provide insight into the intentions behind his policies, the development of foreign affairs for both the First and Second World Wars, and his role in the wartime coalition government. The papers also include personal correspondence with his family, including his sister and wife, and highlight his close friendship with his stepmother, Mary Endicott.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1863-1937
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  13. The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)

    The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.

    From Napoleon’s defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandela’s release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers. Users can study the progression of issues over time by browsing issues of The Guardian and its sister paper, The Observer, which offer coverage of 1821-2003 and 1791-2003, respectively, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1821-2003; 1791-2003
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources

    Expand