Database Results for Your Selections

Results 101 - 125 of 980

  1. Archives Unbound, Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984

    Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) files on African American groups including A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, Cointelpro/Black Nationalist Hate Groups, Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), Black Panther Party, North Carolina, Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, Highlander Folk School, Ku Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), Moorish Science Temple of America, Murder of Lemuel Penn, Muslim Mosque, Inc., NAACP, National Negro Congress, Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU), Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, Thurgood Marshall, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey.

    • Content: 88,021 images
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1920-1984

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound, Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress

    Digital collection of the papers of the Civil Rights Congress (CRC), a civil rights organization formed in 1946 by a merger of the International Labor Defense and the National Federation of Constitutional Liberties.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1946-1955

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound, Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945

    Digital collection of materials related to civil rights issues from President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Official File. Topics covered include lynching, segregation, race riots, and employment discrimination.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1933-1945

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  4. Archives Unbound, Grassroots Civil Rights & Social Activism: FBI Files on Benjamin J. Davis, Jr.

    Digital collection of FBI Files pertaining to Benjamin J. Davis (1903-1964), an influential African American member of the Communist Party.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1941-1990

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  5. Archives Unbound, Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis and the Communist Workers Party

    Digital collection of documents related to the 1979 "Greensboro Massacre." Materials include files from the FBI, local and state police, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, and the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1979-1981

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  6. Archives Unbound, Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963

    Digital collection of documents related to the integration of the University of Alabama at Tuscaloosa. Materials primarily consist of records from the Department of the Army regarding the confrontation between the Governor of Alabama and the President of the United States, which resulted the federalization of the Alabama National Guard.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  7. Archives Unbound, Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration

    Digital archive of subject files from the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) organized in London in 1938 to assist in the resettlement of refugees from Europe.

    • Content: 30,100 images
    • Source Library: U.S. National Archives
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1938-1947

    Subjects: Ethnic Studies, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  8. Archives Unbound, James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi, 1961-1962

    Digital archive of Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) documentation on James Meredith’s battle to enroll at the University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Other notable primary sources include Meredith’s correspondence with the NAACP, and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.

    • Content: 8,792 pages
    • Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1961-1962

    Subjects: African American Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  9. Archives Unbound, Liberation Movement in Africa and African America

    Digitized FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and the All African People’s Revolutionary Party.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1970-1985

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  10. Archives Unbound, Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement

    Digital collection of documents related to African American writer Amiri Baraka. Materials include rare works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, over one hundred articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, a small amount of personal correspondence, and oral histories.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1913-1998

    Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, History US

    Expand
  11. Archives Unbound, Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979

    Digital collection of the records of the United Domestic Workers Union of Atlanta, Georgia, from 1965-1979.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1965-1979

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  12. Archives Unbound, Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement

    Transcriptions of nearly 700 oral histories from the Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection. Topics covered include voting rights, discrimination in housing, school desegregation, racism in hiring, police brutality, and poverty in African American communities.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1967-1973

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  13. Archives Unbound, Republic of New Afrika

    Digital collection of FBI documents related to the Republic of New Afrika (RNA). The RNA was a social movement organization that advocated for the creation of an African American majority country in the southeastern United States, argued that the federal government pay reparations to African American descendants of slaves, and demanded a referendum of all African Americans to allow them to decide their citizenry.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1968-1980

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  14. Archives Unbound, Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party: Papers of James and Esther Cooper Jackson

    Digital collection of the papers of African American communists and civil rights activists James and Esther Cooper Jackson. The collection includes biographical material, correspondence, lectures, notebooks, speeches, and subject files pertaining to the Communist Party and the Southern Negro Youth Congress.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1932-2000

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  15. Archives Unbound: Allied Propaganda in World War II and the British Political Warfare Executive

    This collection presents the complete files of the Political Warfare Executive (PWE) kept at the U.K. National Archives as FO 898 from its instigation to closure in 1946, along with the secret minutes of the special 1944 War Cabinet Committee "Breaking the German Will to Resist.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1939-1946

    Subjects: History World

    Expand
  16. Archives Unbound: Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle

    Digitized collection of FBI surveillance and informant reports, correspondence, news clippings and Justice Department memoranda related to the Black Liberation Army, an underground, black-nationalist organization in operation between 1970 and 1981.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1970-1983

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US

    Expand
  17. Archives Unbound: Cambodia: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963

    This collection provides a window into the political, social, and economic development of Cambodia, the rapidly maturing “modern” state in the heart of Southeast Asia.

    Traced here is the critical legacy of Prince Norodom Sihanouk (1922-2012), the nation’s controversial and paradoxical leader. Khmer nationalism, loyalty to the monarch, struggle against injustice and corruption, and protection of the Buddhist religion were in the forefront of developments in this period. The archive is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam. The files are arranged according to the classification system of U.S. State Department Records, and they cover a wide range of internal political affairs.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1960-1963

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  18. Archives Unbound: European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929

    German Colonial aspirations in Asia and the Pacific ended with the start of the First World War. Japanese Army forces seized German leased territories in China and the Japanese naval forces occupied the German Pacific colonies.

    The Treaty of Versailles legitimized Japan's aggression and the territories were officially mandated to the Japanese government. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the Japanese mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1929

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  19. Archives Unbound: European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930

    The Dutch East Indies experienced the replacement of company rule by Dutch government rule and the complete transformation of Java into a colonial society and the successful extension of colonial rule to Sumatra and the eastern archipelago during the early 20th century.

    The boundaries of the modern state of Indonesia were defined during this time and the process of generally exploitative political, military, and economic integration began. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1930

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  20. Archives Unbound: German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941

    This collection comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education.

    Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah's Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons. Also included are history, pseudo-history, and fiction.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1909-1941

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies

    Expand
  21. Archives Unbound: India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department

    Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation.

    This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  22. Archives Unbound: India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the US State Department, February 1963-1966

    Over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1963-1966

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  23. Archives Unbound: Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949

    Digital archive of records from the State Department’s Central Classified Files relating to Indochina, 1945-1949. Documents include State Department correspondence, telegrams, airgrams, instructions, inquiries, studies, memoranda, situation reports, translations, special reports, plans, and official and unofficial correspondence.

    • Content: 10,715 images
    • Source Library: National Archives (U.S.)
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1949

    Subjects: Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  24. Archives Unbound: Industrial Mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918

    The standard reference source on the unprecedented industrial mobilization of an entire economy to fight the war of 1914-1918, this 12 volume set has previously only been available in a few select libraries with which the British government deposited copies.

    It is essential for anyone who wants to study the economics behind World War I, the career of David Lloyd George and the process of state intervention in industry. The history of the Ministry of Munitions is one of the most extraordinary and instructive episodes in modern British history. Within less than three years, David Lloyd George and his successors transformed the face of British industry and created the largest government department the county had ever seen. As many as 1,600,000 men and 800,000 women were employed on protected munitions work on behalf of the Ministry. Control was exercised over the iron, steel, chemical, and engineering industries. Over 15,000 firms were engaged on munitions work. A third of them were controlled establishments', giving precedence to government contracts and employing labor on conditions prescribed by the Ministry. More than 200 factories were either nationalized or specially built for munitions work.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1915-1918

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  25. Archives Unbound: Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975

    Primarily Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnam’s political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnam’s military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1967-1975

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Mathematics, Political Science, South Asian Studies

    Expand