Database Results for Your Selections
Results 51 - 75 of 999
When complete, this database will provide access to over cover-to-cover, fully searchable and browsable facsimile reproductions of over 1000 historic U.S. newspapers from all 50 states.Expand
In progress; content will continue to be added until digitization is complete. Go to Archive of Americana to search across multiple U.S. historical collections.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection is a comprehensive collection of more than 6,500 American magazines and journals from the AAS, the premier library documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. It is divided into five chronological series, which can be searched simultaneously:Expand
- Series 1 (1691-1820)
- Series 2 (1821-1837)
- Series 3 (1838-1852)
- Series 4 (1853-1865)
- Series 5 (1866-1877)
Subjects covered include art, architecture, music, literature, law, politics, religion, philosophy, science, medicine, family history and ethnic studies.Walk-in users: OK; Unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: English and American Literature, History US, Archives and Primary Sources
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies covers North American (U.S. and Canadian) scholarship on East Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.Expand
Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
Subjects: Anthropology, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies
Offers fully searchable facsimile images of broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collections, subjects range widely from contemporary Civil War accounts, natural disasters, government proclamations, tax bills, and town meeting reports to clipper ship and trade cards, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.Expand
Go to Archive of Americana to search across multiple U.S. historical collections.
Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Government Information
Also known as ACS Web Editions. Provides full-text access to chemistry journals from the American Chemical Society.Expand
Subjects: Chemistry, Physics
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home.Expand
This collection includes approximately 100,000 pages of published memoirs, letters and diaries from individuals plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 1,000 sources, the collection provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the war. More than 1,000 biographies will enhance the use of the database.
Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources
One of the largest electronic collections of full-text American dramatic literature, from the colonial period to the present. The collection will contain more than 2,000 plays by American dramatists when it is complete.Expand
At present, American Drama includes 711 plays by dramatists including Thomas Paine, Edward Hitchcock, and James Lawson, as well as such works as Thomas Godfrey's The Prince of Parthia, the first American play performed on an American stage and George Aiken's stage adaptation of Uncle Tom's Cabin, the most popular stage production of the nineteenth century.
Subjects: English and American Literature
Provides comprehensive filmographic information on over 45,000 films, including the early years of film from 1893 to 1910. The database includes approximately one million personal name entries including, actor and director entries.Expand
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases
Collection of documentary films and newsreel footage in streaming video format, on topics relating to American history. Search and view complete program transcripts to access relevant clips within a documentary or newsreel.Expand
In-class viewing and embedding of video in websites, course management systems (e.g. BlackBoard) or other Emory course-related access points is permitted under Emory's subscription to this database.
Subjects: History US, Journalism, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources
Collection of primary sources for the study of Native American history and culture. Includes manuscripts, artworks and printed books derived from the Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, one of the most comprehensive collections of Native American material in the United States.Expand
This database can be searched alongside other Adam Matthew collections using the Archive Explorer portal.
Subjects: American Indian Studies, History US
Historical documents pertaining to American Indians and the West. Topics include Indian removal, relations between the United States Army and American Indians, the Indian Wars, and the 20th-century Bureau of Indian Affairs.Expand
Subjects: History US
SPIN Web allows you to search for abstracts to major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals published by the American Institute of Physics and its Member Societies.Expand
To look for a particular physics journal, click here.
Some full-text is available in either postcript, gzip or PDF files. If you are not using a UNIX machine, you must download the gzip program from your Eagle-Dooley account by selecting option 8.
Subjects: Chemistry, Physics
Back files of major American Jewish historical newspapers.Expand
Subjects: History US, Jewish Studies
Full-text editions of mathematics journals published by the American Mathematical Society (AMS). MathSciNet is the AMS online index to Mathematical Reviews.Expand
Coverage is from 1940 to the present.
Successor to the renowned Dictionary of American Biography, the ANB is a premier source of biographical information on over 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.Expand
The ANB covers deceased individuals whose significant actions occurred during his or her residence within what is now the United States or whose life or career directly influenced the course of American history. Updated quarterly, the online ANB includes bibliographies for further research and links to related biographies, and also incorporates articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History. Allows 2-5 simultaneous users.
Subjects: History US, Biographies
A major primary source collection for historical research. Includes digitized images of American periodicals from the colonial period through the beginning of the 20th century.Expand
More than 1,000 periodicals from all fields will be covered in the completed product.
Subjects: History US, News Sources
Contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early twentieth century, and drawn from over 1,200 printed sources.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature
Documents from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies as well as records from federal agencies. Topics covered include women's rights, environmental issues, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, international trade, the War on Poverty, and the Watergate trials.Expand
Subjects: History US
Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with firsthand analysis of race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia. This collection is a subset of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) database from Readex.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, History US, History World
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography includes the life histories of former American slaves and the transcripts of actual slave interviews conducted by individuals working for the Works Progress Administration (WPA) from 1936 to 1938.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies
Listen via streamed audio to popular vocal and instrumental music from the United States. Genres include country, folk, bluegrass, American Indian, blues, gospel, Latin, shape-note singing, Tejano, doo-wop, R&B, soul, and more.Expand
Use “Music Online: Listening” (accessible from the Databases @ Emory page) for combined access to American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
Subjects: Government Information, History US, Archives and Primary Sources
The American West is a digital collection of rare manuscripts, ephemeral material, and printed sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library of Chicago.Expand
The collection includes over 120 zoomable maps, notable manuscript collections such as the papers of James Audubon, city directories and prospectuses, and other sources that document the history of Native Americans, explorers, pioneers, agriculture, the Mormon exodus, and Wild West shows. The collection is indexed by title, author, date, format, theme, region, names and subjects.
Subjects: African American Studies, American Indian Studies
The Ancestry Library Edition collection (also known as Ancestry Plus or Ancestry.com) is a major source of census and other records of interest to historical, social, and genealogical researchers.Expand
It includes: U.S. federal census roll images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; U.K. and Ireland census materials; vital and church records; passenger and immigration lists; military records; court, land, and probate records; historical maps; the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage books; WWI draft registration cards; slave narratives; and much more.Available on-campus only
Subjects: History US, History World, Sociology, Statistics and Demography, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, Government Information
Indexes journals relevant to animal behavior covering such subjects as neurophysiology, behavioral ecology, genetics, applied ethology, and the biology of taxonomic groups, including summaries of both field and laboratory inquiries.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Psychology, Environmental Sciences