Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 2 of 2

  1. Apartheid South Africa

    Apartheid South Africa (ASA) makes available British government files from the National Archives at Kew from the Colonial, Dominion, and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period between 1948 and 1966.

    The scope of the file begins with the implementation of apartheid by South Africa’s National Party in 1948. Some of the materials here were previously restricted.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1948-1966
    • New

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, History Modern 1800-, History World

    Expand
  2. Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: The Oliveira Lima Library

    The online archive includes around 2,750 pamphlets, from the Oliveira Lima Library housed at Catholic University. Most of the pamphlets relate specifically to Brazil.

    Significant coverage is given to history, politics and literature. Additional content covers social and economic conditions, agriculture and trade, travel and immigration, law and diplomacy, religion, women's rights, medicine, public health, foreign and international relations, geography, Pan-Americanism, positivism, the First World War, the Portuguese and Spanish empires, and more. More than 90% of the pamphlets are in Portuguese, with additional content in English, French, Spanish, German, Italian and Latin. The majority were published in Brazil or Portugal

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1780 ¿ 1966 (Majority of Materials 1820-1929)
    • New

    Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies

    Expand