Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 14 of 14

  1. ACLS Humanities E-Book

    ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of nearly 2,800 books of high quality in the humanities. It is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.

    These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1953-2010

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Dance, Education, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  2. Atlas of North American English

    The Atlas of North American English provides the first overall view of the pronunciation and vowel systems of the dialects of the U.S. and Canada. The Atlas re-defines the regional dialects of American English on the basis of sound changes active in the 1990s and draws new boundaries reflecting those changes.

    It has been developed by William Labov, one of the leading sociolinguists of the world.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Linguistics

    Expand
  3. Cambridge Collections Online

    Cambridge Companions Complete Collection presently contains the Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, classics and culture; more collections in subject areas will be added soon.

    The collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

    4-5 Simultaneous users

    Walk in users: OK; 4-5 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  4. Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online

    The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.

    The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics requires installing a Unicode Hebrew font. We highly recommend the Unicode font SBL Hebrew.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Beginning to present

    Subjects: Jewish Studies, Linguistics

    Expand
  5. Great Corpus of French Language Dictionaries (9th-20th Century)

    The Great Corpus of dictionaries gathers the 24 most important dictionaries on French language, in total about 200 000 pages (2 500 signs per page), 900 000 entries and definitions.

    It is the greatest collection today available on the subject.

    Frédéric Godefroy, Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française et de tous ses dialectes du 9e au 15e siècle a La Curne de Sainte-Palaye, Dictionnaire historique de l'ancien langage français depuis son origine jusqu'au siècle de Louis XIV Edmond Huguet, Dictionnaire de la langue française du 16e siècle Estienne (Robert), Dictionaire Francois-latin, 1549 Nicot (Jean), Thrésor de la langue françoyse, tant ancienne que moderne, 1606 Cotgrave (Randle), A Dictionarie of the french and english tongues, 1611 Ménage (Gilles), Les Origines de la langue françoise, 1650 Richelet (Pierre), Dictionnaire françois, 1680 Le Dictionaire de l'Académie françoise, 1687 [Avant-Première 1] de A à Aversion Le Dictionaire de l'Académie françoise, 1687 [Avant-Première 2] de A à Confiture Le Dictionaire de l'Académie françoise, 1687 [Avant-Première 3] de A à Neuf Furetière (Antoine), Essai d'un Dictionaire universel, 1687 Furetière (Antoine), Dictionaire Universel, 1690 Le Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise dedié au Roy, 1694 [Première édition] Corneille (Thomas), Le Dictionnaire des Arts et des Sciences, 1694 Ménage (Gilles), Dictionnaire étymologique ou Origines de la langue françoise, 1694 Nouveau Dictionnaire de l'Académie françoise, 1718 [Deuxième édition] Dictionnaire de l'Acad
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Annual

    Subjects: Area Studies, French Literature and Language, Linguistics, Multidisciplinary Databases

    Expand
  6. Handbook of Varieties of English

    The Handbook is by far the most thorough reference work on phonology and the first-ever comprehensive overview of the morphology and syntax of varieties of English in the world.

    The genuine speech samples and interactive maps of the online version not only supplement the printed articles by offering lively illustrations of the varieties of English around the world, but the material offered can also be used for linguistic research.

    Subjects: Linguistics

    Expand
  7. Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME)

    Based on materials from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods, LEME is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript.

    The texts of word entries tell us what speakers of English thought about their tongue in the period covered by the Short-title and Wing catalogues. Their lexical insights shaped the history of our living tongue. LEME is not a period dictionary, but a source of contemporary testimony that illustrates word usage. LEME is able to utilize many sources that the Oxford English Dictionary, which covers 1500 years, could not include as a result of its necessary selection of the lexical evidence.

    • Coverage: c 1450 - c 1700

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Law, Linguistics, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand
  8. Linguistic Bibliography Online

    The Linguistic Bibliography Online covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world.

    Up-to-date information is guaranteed by the collaboration of some forty contributing specialists from all over the world. With annually over 20.000 records added, the Linguistic Bibliography remains the standard reference work for every scholar of linguistics.

    The online edition contains all entries of the printed volumes as of 1993 and new records are added on a monthly basis.

    Unlimited users; walk-in users allowed
    • Coverage: 1993 to the present

    Subjects: Linguistics

    Expand
  9. Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

    Indexes journals, books, technical reports and dissertations covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

    Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

    • Coverage: 1973 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, English and American Literature, Linguistics, Psychology, Spanish

    Expand
  10. Literary Research Guide

    A selective, annotated guide to essential reference sources for the study of British literature, United States literatures, and other literatures in English. The contents include over 1,000 entries, which reference nearly 1,600 additional books, articles, and electronic resources.

    Over 700 reviews are cited.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Theater Studies, Spanish, Multidisciplinary Databases, Linguistics, Library and Information Science, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Journalism, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History US, Jewish Studies, French Literature and Language, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature

    Expand
  11. Maagarim

    Database of the Historical dictionary of the Hebrew language. The nine-million-word corpus draws on Hebrew sources from the rabbinic period (2nd century BCE) through the geonic period (11th century CE).

    It is essentially a concordance, and enables retrieval of citations by roots, lemmata and declined forms as well as specific texts by title, author, date and literary genre.

    Subjects: Area Studies, Jewish Studies, Linguistics

    Expand
  12. MLA International Bibliography

    Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

    EBSCOhost version
    • Coverage: 1926 to present

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Jewish Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Spanish, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  13. Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO)

    Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual (English) Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish dictionaries. Also includes unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Comparative Literature, English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Reference Sources, Spanish

    Expand
  14. Scopus (SciVerse Scopus)

    Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with bibliometric tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

    Scopus has 46 million records dating back to 1823, 72% of these containing references dating from 1996.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1996 - current

    Subjects: Chemistry, Theater Studies, Sociology, Science and Technology, Psychology, Political Science, Physics, Philosophy, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Mathematics, Linguistics, History World, History US, Health, Film and Performing Arts, Environmental Sciences, English and American Literature, Education, Economics, Dance, Computer Science, Anthropology, Biological Sciences

    Expand