Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 25 of 79

  1. 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

    The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.

    The collection covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1601-1800

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, News Sources

    Expand
  2. 19th Century British Library Newspapers Digital Archive

    This database consists of full-text national and regional newspapers from Victorian Britain, digitized from the collection of the British Library. It is the sister product to 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1604-1800).

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1801-1900

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  3. ABI/INFORM Dateline

    ABI/INFORM Dateline is a full-text database that focuses on local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news.

    It provides information not typically found in the national press sources. Topics cover subjects such as agriculture, company profiles, corporate strategies, executive profiles, financial services, high technology, manufacturing, marketing, regional business environments, retailing, and service industries. Included in the database is business coverage from The Atlanta Business Chronicle and Georgia Trend.

    If you receive the error "ProQuest is unable to authenticate your user account," use the ProQuest cookie cutter to correct it.

    NOTE: The complete content of this database is included in ABI/INFORM Complete.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1985-present

    Subjects: Business, News Sources

    Expand
  4. Academic Search Complete

    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

    In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Dates vary. Some content goes as far back as 1865

    Subjects: African American Studies, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, News Sources, Multidisciplinary Databases, History World, LGBT Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, Economics, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Current Events, Dance, Classics, Mathematics, Comparative Literature, Science and Technology, Physics, Book Reviews

    Expand
  5. Accessible Archives

    Provides in-depth coverage of the Colonial Period, the French & Indian War, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, African-American History, Industrial Revolution, and Genealogy from 18th & 19th Century Newspapers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 19th Century

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  6. African-American newspapers, 1827-1998

    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 is being created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.

    Full-text access to these newspapers provide primary sources material about life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1827-1998

    Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  7. African-American Newspapers: 19th Century

    Electronic full text versions of: Freedom's Journal (1827-1829); The Colored American (1837-1841); The North Star (1847-1851); The National Era (1847-1853); Provincial Freeman (1854-1857); Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-1852); and The Christian Recorder (1861-Apr.

    1862). All are also part of the Accessible Archives database, which includes additional years of some newspapers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 19th Century

    Subjects: African American Studies, History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  8. All Africa.com

    Current news from over 125 African media outlets, including newspapers, news agencies and publications all over the African continent. Also includes selected African-related reports, speeches, press releases and announcements from governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.

    Includes the archive of the Africa News Service back to 1997.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1997-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  9. Alternative Press Index

    Alternative Press Index (1990-present) is a biannual subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. It is the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.

    1990-current
    • Coverage: 1990 - present

    Subjects: History US, LGBT Studies, News Sources, Political Science

    Expand
  10. Alternative Press Index Archive

    Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) (1969-1990) is a bibliographic database of Alternative Press Index back files. Topics covered in the databases include theories and practices of socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and LGBTT issues.

    • Coverage: 1969-1990

    Subjects: History US, LGBT Studies, News Sources, Political Science

    Expand
  11. America's Historical Newspapers

    When complete, this database will provide access to over cover-to-cover, fully searchable and browsable facsimile reproductions of over 1000 historic U.S. newspapers from all 50 states.

    In progress; content will continue to be added until digitization is complete. Go to Archive of Americana to search across multiple U.S. historical collections.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1690- (in process; when complete, will cover 1690-1922)

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources

    Expand
  12. American History in Video

    Collection of documentary films and newsreel footage in streaming video format, on topics relating to American history. Search and view complete program transcripts to access relevant clips within a documentary or newsreel.

    In-class viewing and embedding of video in websites, course management systems (e.g. BlackBoard) or other Emory course-related access points is permitted under Emory's subscription to this database.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1890s-1980s

    Subjects: History US, Journalism, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  13. American Periodicals Series Online

    A major primary source collection for historical research. Includes digitized images of American periodicals from the colonial period through the beginning of the 20th century.

    More than 1,000 periodicals from all fields will be covered in the completed product.

    • Coverage: 1740-1900

    Subjects: History US, News Sources

    Expand
  14. ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers Online

    A digital collection of newspapers published in the Hapsburg Monarchy and Austria. Users can either browse the titles of the newspapers or choose a specific date.

    Among the digitized newspapers there are for example "Wiener Zeitung", "Pester Lloyd", "Prager Tagblatt", and "Reichspost" in German.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1716 to 1936

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  15. Archives Unbound: Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848 (Journaux de la Revolution de 1848)

    Digital collection of French Revolution newspapers dating from 1848 to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852. Materials in French.

    • Content: 68,151 pages
    • Source Library: The British Library
    • Part of Gale/Cengage Archives Unbound collection.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1848-1852

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  16. Atlanta Constitution Historical

    Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Atlanta newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue.

    Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1868 - 1945 (Use LexisNexis Academic for 1991- )

    Subjects: Georgia, History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  17. Atlanta Daily World Historical

    Atlanta’s oldest continuously publishing black newspaper and the nation's first successful black daily. Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003, available via Black Studies Center.

    For more recent issues see Newsbank Access World News database. http://libcat1.cc.emory.edu:32888/DB=awn

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1931-2003

    Subjects: African American Studies, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  18. Boston Globe Historical

    Coverage: 1872-1901; when complete, will cover 1872-1922 (Use LexisNexis Academic for recent years of the Boston Globe) Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Boston newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue.

    Coverage: 1872-1901; when complete, will cover 1872-1922 (Use LexisNexis Academic for recent years of the Boston Globe)

    Digital reproductions of every page of every issue cover to cover--of the renowned Boston newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue. Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need. Additional years of coverage will be added annually; when complete, the database will cover 1872-1922.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1872-1923

    Subjects: History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  19. Chicago Defender

    Chicago Defender 1910-1975, available via Proquest Historical Newspapers.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1975

    Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  20. Chicago Tribune Historical

    Digital reproductions of every page of every issue - cover to cover - of the renowned Chicago newspaper, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue.

    Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need.

    Note: Use LexisNexis Academic or Factiva for recent years of the Chicago Tribune
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1890-1969

    Subjects: History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  21. China Core Newspaper Database

    This database provides abstracts and full text articles from major Chinese newspapers on the subjects of literature, history, arts and philosophy.

    • Coverage: 2000-

    Subjects: Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History World, News Sources, Philosophy

    Expand
  22. Christian Science Monitor

    A major daily newspaper covering national and international news and noted for unbiased, concise, and comprehensive coverage.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1988-current

    Subjects: News Sources

    Expand
  23. Christian Science Monitor Historical

    Digital reproductions of every page of every issue - cover to cover - of the major daily newspaper, noted for its unbiased, national and international news coverage.

    Includes news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements, back to the first issue. Full-text searching and browsing capabilities are available. Users may choose to display and download in PDF format either the full image of any page or just the individual article they need.

    Note: If you receive the error "ProQuest is unable to authenticate your user account," use the ProQuest cookie cutter to correct it.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1908-1991

    Subjects: History US, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources

    Expand
  24. Chronicling America

    Approximately 310,000 digitized newspaper pages, dating from 1900 to 1910.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1900 to 1910

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  25. Civil War in America from the Illustrated London News

    Contains all the information about the American Civil War printed in the Illustrated London News from 1861-1865, including illustrations, as well as social, political, and technological history.

    Text and illustrations are searchable by keyword or date, and illustrations are searchable by subject as well.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand