Database Results for Your Selections

Results 26 - 50 of 89

  1. EIU ViewsWire

    This Economist Intelligence Unit service provides daily highlights of key economic, political and business developments worldwide. In addition to updates to the EIU Country Reports, EIU Viewswire includes summaries of regulatory, trade, industry, and investment analysis.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Business, Economics, News Sources, Political Science, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  2. ELDIS Gateway to Development Information

    Includes research reports, working papers, discussion papers, conference papers, statistics, case studies, policy briefings, etc. related to development that concentrate on information covering countries in the Southern Hemisphere (also includes items on other regions if the information could be applied to Southern-based research).

    The editors select and abstract full-text online documents from more than 4,500 different publishers focusing on materials which are of strategic, policy or practical interest for development practitioners. The database includes country profiles as well as 30 subject-focused guides. All documents are available free of charge.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Development Studies, Political Science, Sociology

    Expand
  3. ELDIS Gateway to Development Information

    Includes research reports, working papers, discussion papers, conference papers, statistics, case studies, policy briefings, etc. related to development that concentrate on information covering countries in the Southern Hemisphere (also includes items on other regions if the information could be applied to Southern-based research).

    The editors select and abstract full-text online documents from more than 4,500 different publishers focusing on materials which are of strategic, policy or practical interest for development practitioners. The database includes country profiles as well as 30 subject-focused guides. All documents are available free of charge.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Development Studies, Political Science, Sociology

    Expand
  4. Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa

    With nearly 600 new entries and 1,000 updates, this second editon reflects the far-reaching changes the Middle East has undergone in recent years, making it more relevant and necessary than ever before.

    Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations' involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government.

    Subjects: Area Studies, Political Science

    Expand
  5. Europa World Plus

    Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on worldwide affairs, and the nine volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series.

    First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Political Science, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  6. Exit Polls: Surveying the American Electorate, 1972-2010

    Exit Polls: Surveying the American Electorate explores trends in longitudinal variables asked in the national Election Day exit polls from their beginning in 1972 to the present.

    The book documents comparable survey items that have appeared in multiple exit polls over time.

    Walk-in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1972-2010

    Subjects: Political Science

    Expand
  7. Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Full-Text

    The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) are full-text Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government from 1941-1996. The Daily Reports include translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.

    They focus on political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Currently, Emory has access to the following full-text collections only: Middle East & Africa, Middle East & North Africa, Near East & South Asia Africa (Sub-Sahara), South Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa Eastern Europe, East Europe Soviet Union, and Central Eurasia. For access to other collections, use the index to the microfiche collection: http://libcat1.cc.emory.edu:32888/db=fbis

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Economics, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science

    Expand
  8. Goldsmiths'-Kress (SEE Making of the Modern World)

    Goldsmiths'-Kress (SEE Making of the Modern World) For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Political Science

    Expand
  9. GPO Access

    The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) provides access to legislative, executive, judicial, and regulatory documents produced by the Federal Government. For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: July 1976 to present

    Subjects: Government Information, Political Science, Sociology

    Expand
  10. Historic Documents Series

    A key source of primary materials and analysis on U.S. politics. A cumulative search across all volumes since 1972 is available. For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Political Science

    Expand
  11. Homeland Security Digital Library

    The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. It supports local, state, tribal and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research.

    Subjects: Government Information, Political Science

    Expand
  12. House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP)

    Full-text digital copies of British Parliamentary publications including Hansard, official parliamentary debates, and the British sessional papers, the working papers of government.

    Extremely important primary sources for British, European, U.S. and world history.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 18th-19th century

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Economics, Education, Government Information, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, Political Science

    Expand
  13. Humanities & Social Sciences Abstracts

    Includes three separate HW Wilson databases:

    • Humanities Abstracts: a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
    • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, 1907 - 1984
    • Social Sciences Abstracts: A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology

    Expand
  14. HURISEARCH (Human Rights Information and Documentation System)

    Facilitates access to quality human rights information on the web. A powerful web research tool that increases the visibility of information published by human rights organizations, in particular small local organizations with first-hand information.

    Provides direct access to the content of over 3000 human rights websites and filters out the non-relevant content: only the pages from websites with a main focus on human rights are indexed. Includes over 50 languages.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Development Studies, LGBT Studies, Political Science, Sociology

    Expand
  15. Index Islamicus

    Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.

    Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

    CSA
    • Coverage: 1906-Current

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, History World, Political Science, Religion

    Expand
  16. International Historical Statistics

    International Historical Statistics provides access to 490 tables, covering data on 211 countries and territories collected between 1750-2010. Includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania.

    Within each region are chapters on population and vital statistics, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport & communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Each section has a full description of the sources used to compile the statistics; all statistical tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files with the ability to remove sections and merge tables.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Economics, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Multidisciplinary Databases, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  17. Journal Citation Reports

    The Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international.

    The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. JCR Web shows the relationship between citing and cited journals in a clear, easy-to-use framework. JCR Web is available annually in two editions, the Science Edition and the Social Sciences Edition.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: 2001 to date

    Subjects: Area Studies, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Business, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History World, Mathematics, Library and Information Science, Physical Education and Sports, Political Science, Psychology, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  18. JSTOR

    JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics.

    JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, French Literature and Language, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, LGBT Studies, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  19. Keesing's Record of World Events Online (Keesings.com)

    Keesing's is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. Keesing's Online offers online access to over 70 years of complete, objective coverage of international events.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1931-present

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Current Events, Economics, History Modern 1800-, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Reference Sources, Political Science

    Expand
  20. Latinobarometro

    The Latinobarómetro is an annual survey conducted amongst 18 countries in Latin America. The survey, which has been conducted since 1995, asks respondents about topics such as globalization, democratic governance and political institutions, "social capital," the environment, and gender issues.

    In addition to including standard questions repeated over time, Latinobarómetro surveys also have particular "themes;" the 1996 survey, for instance, focused on trade and investment and politicians, while the 1998 survey focused on social capital and the 2002 survey focused on the merits of democracy and markets.

    The site is available in both Spanish and English. Aggregated/”topline” results from the data are available via the “Online analysis” section of the site. The underlying data files are available via the “Data Bank.” The data are available in SAS, SPSS, and Stata formats. Users are required to accept certain conditions of use prior to downloading of any data files. Please contact Robert O’Reilly (roreill@emory.edu) for assistance with the data files.

    The site is available in both Spanish and English.  Aggregated/”topline” results from the data are available via the “Online analysis” section of the site.  The underlying data files are available via the “Data Bank.”  The data are available in SAS, SPSS, and Stata formats.  Users are required to accept certain conditions of use prior to downloading of any data files.  Please contact Robert O’Reilly (roreill@emory.edu) for assistance with the data files.
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1995-present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Economics, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Political Science, Sociology

    Expand
  21. Left Index

    Provides access to the diversity of literature on leftist politics and socio-economic affairs (communism, anarchism, marxism, etc.). Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Coverage: 1990 to present

    Subjects: Ethnic Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  22. LexisNexis Academic Universe

    Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Business, Current Events, Economics, Education, Georgia, Health, Journalism, Law, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources, Political Science, Sociology, Environmental Sciences

    Expand
  23. LexisNexis State Capital

    Provides comprehensive access to state government information, including legislative bills & calendars, regulations & codes, statutes, contact information and more.

    For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Current

    Subjects: Georgia, Political Science, Government Information, Statistics and Demography

    Expand
  24. Macmillan Cabinet Papers 1957-1963

    Macmillan Online provides historians and political scientists with direct access to over 30,000 documents from the highest level of the British Government during the Macmillan Administration.

    Covers not only domestic politics but also major foreign policy challenges including the erection of Berlin Wall, the Cuban Missile, Crisis and the dissolution of the British empire. Includes scholarly essays to provide context.

    Walk in users: OK
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1957-1963

    Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Government Information, History Modern 1800-, Political Science, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  25. National Journal

    Political news and analysis from the National Journal, The Hotline, Markup Reports, Almanac of American Politics, Earlybird, and Poll Track. For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Political Science, Government Information

    Expand