Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 6 of 6

  1. Dictionary of Gnosis and Western Esotericism

    Critical overviews on the nature and historical development from Gnosticism and Hermetism to Astrology, Alchemy and Magic, from the Hermetic Tradition of the Renaissance to Rosicrucianism and Christian Theosophy, and from Freemasonry and Illuminism to 19th-century Occultism and the contemporary New Age movement.

    Furthermore it contains articles about the life and work of the major personalities in the history of Gnosis and Western Esotericism.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: Late Antiquity to the present

    Subjects: Classics, Religion

    Expand
  2. Dictionary of Old English: A to G online

    The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. In combination with the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three dictionaries provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.The DOE draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.

    The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. In combination with the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three dictionaries provide a full description of the vocabulary of English.

    The DOE draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.

    • DOE font is required to display the pages properly; this can be downloaded here: http://www.doe.utoronto.ca/resources/DOE.ttf
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 600 - 1150 A.D.

    Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Religion

    Expand
  3. Digital Karl Barth Library

    The database features the entire corpus of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which is the definitive edition of Karl Barth s works in German, comprising 42 volumes of theological writings, lectures, letters, sermons, and interviews.

    Also included is Barth's magnum opus, the 14-volume Kirchliche Dogmatik.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1909-1968

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, Religion, Archives and Primary Sources

    Expand
  4. Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker im WWW

    This is the electronic version of a series published in book form since 1981. It includes classics of fiction, poetry, philosophy, history, and literary criticism written by German authors.

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Religion, Comparative Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, Philosophy, Political Science

    Expand
  5. Duxiu

    Duxiu is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. The Duxiu database provides access to more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, journal articles, conference papers and video clips.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Chinese Studies, Education, Government Information, Religion, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  6. DYABOLA: A Database of the Ancient World

    Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews. This database reproduces the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut and is equivalent to the annual Archaoligische Bibliographie (Woodruff Library Z5132 .A65).

    It covers Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion. To enter the database, please check the "with IP acess" box and then click the start button.

    • Coverage: 1956-1999

    Subjects: Art and Architecture, Classics, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Philosophy, Religion

    Expand