Database Results for Your Selections

Results 1 - 13 of 13

  1. Archives Unbound: European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929

    German Colonial aspirations in Asia and the Pacific ended with the start of the First World War. Japanese Army forces seized German leased territories in China and the Japanese naval forces occupied the German Pacific colonies.

    The Treaty of Versailles legitimized Japan's aggression and the territories were officially mandated to the Japanese government. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the Japanese mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1910-1929

    Subjects: Area Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  2. Archives Unbound: Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan

    Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan delivers essential and unique documentation to support scholarly research on international politics, history and economics, as well as providing a vivid picture of a country's drift toward war and recovery.

    The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social and economic developments throughout the world. This collection of classified files relating to internal and foreign affairs contains thousands of documents from U.S. diplomats, including: Special reports on political and military affairs Studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters Interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials Court proceedings and other legal documents Full texts of letters, instructions and cables sent and received by U.S. personnel Reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers Translations of high-level foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1930-1949
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  3. Archives Unbound: Records of the Far Eastern Commission, 1945-1952

    All the activities of the multinational Far Eastern Commission (FEC), which oversaw the postwar governing and reconstruction of Japan, are fully documented in this publication.

    The collection includes two distinct sets of records: The first set contains the FEC's official policy statements, or action plans. The commission released statements on practically every aspect of the occupation, ranging from Japan's post-surrender policy to all facets of that country's economic development. The second set contains primary materials upon which policy statements were formulated and includes: reports, photographs, clippings, and position papers for investigation of the economic and political reconstruction of Japan, and the interactions of powerful nations with very different objectives.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1945-1952
    • New

    Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  4. Bibliography of Asian Studies

    The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

    The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.

    • Coverage: 1971 to present

    Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Chinese Studies, Ethnic Studies, History World, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies, South Asian Studies

    Expand
  5. Docuseek2 Streaming Video (Docuseek)

    Docuseek2 is an streaming video database covering the films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.

     Users can see licensed content by clicking on the My Movies link at the top of most pages, or search for content, and view it by clicking on the Licensed icon in the search results, or, from the product page, clicking on the View tab.  All individual streaming video titles are also available at the title-level in DiscoverE.

    • Coverage: Varies

    Subjects: Audio and Video Online, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Classics, Computer Science, Current Events, Dance, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, Georgia, Government Information, Health, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies, Jewish Studies, Journalism, Korean Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Law, LGBT Studies, Linguistics, Mathematics, Multidisciplinary Databases, Music, Neuroscience Animal Behavior, News Sources, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology, Spanish, Statistics, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  6. Global Reference Center

    Global Reference Center is an extensive collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content.  It includesEncyclopaedia Universalis (French)Spanish Reference Center (Spanish.eb.com) divided into 2 parts.

    Global Reference Center is an extensive collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content.  It includes

    Encyclopaedia Universalis (French)

    Spanish Reference Center (Spanish.eb.com) divided into 2 parts. Enciclopedia Moderna--(academic level)     and Britannica Escolar --(Elementary/Middle)      

    Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Japan

    Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Korea

    Britannica Concise Encyclopedia (Chinese)

    • Full Text: Yes

    Subjects: Area Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Spanish, Chinese Studies, Japanese Studies, Korean Studies

    Expand
  7. JapanKnowledge

    JapanKnowledge is a portal to the largest Japanese language online reference collection. It includes encyclopedias (e.g. ニッポニカNipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, 日本人名大辞典Nihon jinmei daijiten, imidas, etc.), dictionaries (Japanese-English, English-Japanese, English-English, 現代用語の基礎知識Gendai yogo no kiso chishiki, 字通Jitsu, 国史大辞典Kokushi daijiten, etc.), and various full-text and multimedia databases (週刊エコノミストShukan Economist, 新編 日本古典文学全集 Shinpen Nihon koten bungaku zenshu, 図解アニメーションZukai animation, , サウンド・ミュージックライブラリsound and music libraries, 映像記録Eizo kiroku, etc.).

    2 simultaneous users; walk-in users allowed

    2 simultaneous users
    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: ancient to the present

    Subjects: Area Studies, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  8. Kikuzo II Visual

    Kikuzo is Asahi Shimbun’s newspaper database, containing over 13 million full-text articles from the Asahi Shimbun, as well as the newspaper’s two weekly magazines, AERA and Shūkan Asahi.

    It also contains the Historical Photo Archive, which includes approximately 10,000 photographs depicting East and Southeast Asia during the 1930s-40s, and Chiezō, Asahi’s dictionary of contemporary Japanese terms.

    • Coverage: 1879-present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  9. Magazineplus

    Provides over 3.3 million bibliographic references to articles from more than 7,600 Japanese scholarly periodicals from 1975 to the present. It covers subject areas including the humanities, social sciences, medical science and science and technology.

    Note: Magazineplus requires that a user's browser be configured to display a Japanese character set. Remote access is not possible at this time for Magazineplus.

    • Coverage: 1975-present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies

    Expand
  10. Maisaku

    Maisaku is a database containing articles from the Mainichi Shimbun dating back to 1872. Also included are the results of the newspaper’s opinion polls dating from 1945.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1872-present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies, News Sources

    Expand
  11. Meiji Japan

    A collection of the personal and professional papers of Edward Sylvester Morse, a zoologist and author of various works related to Japan. Having initially traveled to Japan in 1877 to study brachiopods, Morse introduced modern aspects of biology and zoology to Japan and developed an interest in Japanese ethnology and archaelogy, collecting pottery and artifacts and keeping detailed notes on his observations of daily life.

    The papers, digitized by the Peabody Essex Museum, include his diaries, travel journals, correspondence, lectures, drawings, and numerous other types of documents.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1858-1925

    Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Japanese Studies

    Expand
  12. World History in Video

    World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.

    The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage captures longer-term and multiple perspectives, so students can make connections across cultures and over time, incorporating people, places, events, and artifacts from around the world and across the centuries.

    Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases, Audio and Video Online, African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, American Indian Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Biographies, Chinese Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, Dance, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, Georgia, Government Information, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Japanese Studies, Jewish Studies, Journalism, Korean Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, LGBT Studies, Middle East Studies, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Russian East European and Eurasian Studies, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Womens and Gender Studies

    Expand
  13. Yomidas Rekishikan

    Yomidas Rekishikan contains more than 10 million articles from the Yomiuri Shimbun, articles from the English-language publication Daily Yomiuri, as well as a biographical database and abstract index.

    • Full Text: Yes
    • Coverage: 1874 - present

    Subjects: Japanese Studies, News Sources

    Expand