Woodruff Library Announces Winners of Undergraduate Research Award

Students Rewarded for Research Papers

Published 04-14-2010

From left: Committee chair Alain St. Pierre; winners Shiva Kooragayala, David Elkind and Patrick Jamieson; and judges Elizabeth Roke, Rob O'Reilly and Yanna Yannakakis.

The Woodruff Library is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 Undergraduate Research Award. They are:

David Elkind, “Information Warfare: Missile or Missive?”

Patrick Jamieson, “Foreign Criticisms of the 1871 Paris Commune: The Role of British and American Newspapers and Periodicals.”

Shiva Kooragayala, “American Transportation.”

Each winner will receive a $500 prize, provided by the Elizabeth Long Atwood Fund.

The awards will be presented on April 21 at 4:30 p.m. in the Woodruff Room of the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) on the 10th floor of Woodruff Library. All are welcome to attend.

The judges were impressed by the number of applications received and the extraordinary level of library research skills evidenced within them. Thank you to all the students who submitted their work. The library also thanks the panel of judges: Tanya Molodtsova (Department of Economics), Rob O’Reilly (Electronic Data Center), Elizabeth Roke (MARBL), John Wegner (Department of Environmental Studies and Chief Environmental Officer) and Yanna Yannakakis (Department of History).

For media inquiries, contact: