Woodruff Library Undergraduate Research Award 2015 winners announced

Published 04-21-2015

Winners of the Woodruff Library's 2015 Undergraduate Research Award are, from left, Dominique Hayward, Abby Holst, Jacob Teich (honorable mention) and Alyssa Weinstein. Photo credit: Emory Libraries.

The Robert W. Woodruff Library at Emory University has announced the winners of the 2015 Woodruff Library Undergraduate Research Award (URA), selected by a panel of judges.

The awards will be presented at the Undergraduate Research Symposium on Thursday, April 23, 2015, at the Dobbs University Center, during which the winners will share their work with the Emory community via poster presentations from 3 to 6 p.m. The Emory community is encouraged to come out and support these students.

Prizes will be awarded to the following students:

Dominique Hayward, “Innocents’ Deaths” (faculty sponsor: Carol Anderson). The judges were “impressed with the quality of her writing and the broad scope of her project,” adding the ideas Hayward expressed were “very independent.”

Abigail Holst, “The Atomic Bomb of Pesticides: A Historical Perspective on DDT” (faculty sponsor: Elena Conis). The judges commented that Holst’s research revealed “new and interesting findings on a well-known topic” and that her paper was “well-organized.”

Alyssa Weinstein, “Forgetting our History: America’s Failure to Protect Human Rights in Rwanda and Syria” (faculty sponsor: Carol Anderson). The judges said Weinstein’s comparative research project was “original, nuanced, and a challenging undertaking.”

Each winning entry will receive a prize of $500, supported by the Elizabeth Long Atwood Fund.

The judges also selected one project for an honorable mention:

Jacob Teich, “Overcoming the Ghost of Leo Frank: Atlanta Jews and the Civil Rights Movement” (faculty sponsor: Carol Anderson). Describing his project as “ambitious,” the judges noted that Teich’s research statement said this project helped him learn “how to analyze sources” and “discover the meaning of real research.”

There were nine entries for the URA this year, including one from a first-year student. The winners were chosen based on their extensive research, writing skill, and use of library resources.

The URA committee extends its thanks to the judging panel:

Joyce Clinkscales, Woodruff Library; Megan Cole, Department of Biology; Gabrielle Dudley, MARBL; Scott Lilienfeld, Department of Psychology; Mandy Suhr-Sytsma, Department of English.

For additional information, please contact Jennifer Elder at jennifer.j.elder@emory.edu.

For media inquiries, contact: