EUCLID Catalog    Library Info
     Research Assistance
 
Research Guides
Research FAQs
EndNote Use
Ask A Reference Question
Contact a Subject Librarian
About Our Collections
 

    Borrowing / Circulation
 
Requesting and Borrowing
Renew Materials
About Interlibrary Loan
 

    Other Services
 
Workshops
Instruction for Classes
Computing in the Library
Contacts for Assistance
 

    Resources Developed at Emory
 
Digital Library Initiatives
Open Source Projects
Library Publications
 
 


EUCLID Databases e-Journals Reserves Direct



Library Resources for

History 320
The Soviet Union

 

Table Of Contents


Background Information

An Atlas of Russian History (1970)
Reference Atlas G2111 .S1 C5 1970

A Biographical Dictionary of the Soviet Union 1917-1988 (1989)
Reference CT1213 .V76 1989
Includes, along with politicians and generals, artists, authors, sports figures, scientists and clergy.

The Dent Atlas of Russian History (1993)
Reference Atlas G2111 .S1 G523 1993
<

Dictionary of the Russian Revolution (1989)
Reference DK265 .D49 1989
Covers 1917-1921.

Encyclopedia of Russian History 4 volumes (2004)
Reference DK14 .E53 2004
Aimed at the general reader, this work covers Russian history from the mid ninth century to the 1990's.

Great Soviet Encyclopedia 31 volumes (1973-1983)
Reference AE5 .B58
An English translation of Bol'shaia Sovetskaia Entsiklopedia (3rd edition, 1971-1978; Reference AE55 .B623). Articles are arranged alphabetically by the Russian alphabet (i.e., as they appear in the Russian edition) so you will have to use the index to find articles on a subject. If you read Russian, see also the second edition (1949-1958) in the stacks at AE55 .B62.

Longman Companion to Russia Since 1914 (1998)
DK266 .M12 1998

Marxism, Communism and Western Society: A Comparative Encyclopedia 8 volumes (1972-1973)
Reference H45 .S62313 1972
Some articles refer to purely Soviet topics such as the Communist Party of the USSR or the German-Soviet Non-Aggression Pact of 1939. The majority of the articles discuss concepts such as Educational Theory, Historical Scholarship, State, or Religion and compare how they are treated in Marxist, Leninist or Stalinist theory (and practice) with how they are treated in Western philosophy or custom.

Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History 60 volumes (1976 to present; in process)
Reference DK14 .M6
A standard work with excellent coverage of the Soviet period. Each article contains references to books and articles that contain further information on the subject. Consult also the volumes of the Supplement which follow volume 46.


Locating Books

To find materials located at any of Emory's libraries, search EUCLID, Emory's online library catalog. To restrict a search to English (or any other language) select Complex Search and set the language box (scroll down a bit) to the language desired.

For assistance, read the handy EUCLID Search Tips .

When searching EUCLID by subject, try the Browse search mode, using Library of Congress Subject headings. This method breaks large subjects into sub-fields that help pinpoint helpful titles. If you are uncertain about specific subject headings, try a Keyword search on "Everything" using one or two words that you feel describe the topic. Look at the subject headings attached to the results of this search and Browse on them. When looking for books on a person be sure to Browse with the last name first (Stalin, Joseph)

A sample list of Library of Congress subject headings for researching the Soviet Union: (Capitalization is not necessary.)

Afghanistan History Soviet Occupation 1979-1989
Forced Labor Soviet Union
Moscow Trials Moscow Russia 1936-1937
Popular Culture Soviet Union
Science Soviet Union
Secret Service Soviet Union
Soviet [designates topics pertaining to the Soviet Union as a whole from 1917-1991]
Soviet Union Church and State
Soviet Union Church History
Soviet Union Civilization
Soviet Union Description and Travel
Soviet Union Economic Conditions [also Economic Policy]
Soviet Union Foreign Relations
Soviet Union History
Soviet Union Politics and Government
Soviet Union Religion
Soviet Union Social Conditions

To locate books that other libraries own on your topic search the RLIN (Research Libraries Information Network) Bibliographic File or WorldCat Both are online catalogs containing books held by many libraries (150 libraries in RLIN, 14,000 in WorldCat). Search also the Center for Research Libraries Catalog for books and microfilm sets and their Foreign Newspapers Database for newspapers.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN
The library will borrow books for you from almost any library in the country and can supply copies of articles from almost any magazine, newspaper or journal. This is called Interlibrary Loan and you can initiate an ILL request from any EUCLID screen (third button from the right at top) or from the Interlibrary Loan System page.

You can also borrow from books directly from certain area libraries using either the GETS Program or the ARCHE Interlibrary Use Program.


Locating Articles

The indexes listed here will lead you to secondary source articles. For primary source articles see the section below on contemporary articles.

START WITH:

Historical Abstracts (1955 to present)
The international index to history journals and a key means of identifying periodical articles.

Other useful databases:

ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
(1957 to present)
Lists English language articles from journals (but also English language books and dissertations) covering literature, political science, history, economics, etc. For articles in European languages refer to the European Bibliography of Soviet and East European Studies. Remember, the Europeans will use their own Russian transliteration scheme: for example, Gorbachev becomes Gorbatschow.

EconLit
This is an international index to economic journals.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1981 to present)
Indexes a huge number of journals in the fields of political science, economics and others.

International Political Science Abstracts (1989 to present)
Provides indexing and summaries of articles from an international list of journals. Although the database begins with 1989 the articles can refer to any period of Soviet history.

JSTOR (Dates of coverage vary)
Some titles go back to the late 19th Century. JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of every issue of over 300 prominent scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, Slavic studiesand other fields. Not only is the text of all articles available but every word of every article is searchable. Coverage is usually from the first issue of a journal up to five years prior to the current year.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
1971 to present
This is an index to journals, newspapers, magazines and government publications dealing with politics, economics, military affairs, foreign relations and social conditions. The print version of PAIS goes back to 1915 at Reference Z7163 .P92.

Project MUSE (Coverage varies from mid-1990's to present)
Offering full text coverage of some 100 journals, "...Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others."

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1967 to present)
Indexes over a thousand international journals containing articles relating to political science and international affairs.

Primary Sources

The first step in identifying primary source material is to read the bibliographies and scan the footnotes in the secondary works on your subject. Read also the preface and acknowledgments: authors often identify particularly useful works, libraries, or archives there.

A. Contemporary Articles

Newspaper and periodical articles written at the time of an event or period under study are primary sources.

Christian Science Monitor (1908-1991)
A full-text searchable archive.

Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1992)
Microfiche 22 (1949-1955)
D839 .C87 (1956-1992)
Provides English language access to Soviet newspapers and magazines. In many cases it translates complete articles but it others it provides only a digest or summary. Indexed quarterly. Continued by Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1975-1996)
This database is an index to English translations of print and broadcast media from around the world. The actual translations of Soviet material can be found at:

Foreign Broadcast Information Service: Daily Report: Soviet Union (FBIS-SOV)
PREX 7.10: FBIS-SOV-76-1 to 92-002 (2 January 1976-3 January 1992)
These microfiche are in the Government Documents Microfiche cabinets on Level 1.

Humanities & Social Sciences Abstracts (1907 to present)
Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. There are some foreign language titles included prior to 1965; thereafter all titles are in English.

New York Times Historical (1851-1999)
Provides the full text of every article as well as search capability by key word. For issues after 1999 use Lexis-Nexis Academic.

Reader's Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
The great index to U. S. (and some British) popular and general interest magazines of the Twentieth Century. It includes news magazines

Subject Index to Periodicals (1915-1961)
Reference AI3 .S8
Indexes British popular and general interest magazines along with many scholarly titles. Continued after 1961 by British Humanities Index (Reference AI3 .B7). No computer version available

Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
The Times of London. This database provides full-text images of each page of every issue of the Times.

Washington Post (1877-1988)
For articles after 1988 use Lexis-Nexis Academic

B. Government Records

Indexes to Government Records

Lexis-Nexis Congressional (1789-1969)
Indexes and identifies a huge number and variety of Congressional publications including reports, bills, and Congressional hearings. Select "Historical Indexes" to search documents from 1789-1980. Emory should have almost everything you will turn up but you may have to consult with a reference person in order to find the material.

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. (1893 to present)
Documents Reference GP3.8:
Arranged under the issuing government agency and indexed annually by subject. There is a cumulated 15 volume subject index covering 1900 to 1971 at Reference Z1223. A185.

Selected Source Collections

British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Documents from the Foreign Office Confidential Print.
Series A, Pt. II: Soviet Union, 1917-1939 DK266 .A3 B68 1984
Series A, Pt. III: Soviet Union, 1940-1945 JX632 .B7762 1997
Series A, Pt. IV: Soviet Union, 1946-1950 JZ632 .B77 1999
The "Confidential Print" was a means of distributing diplomatic dispatches and other papers among selected government offices and agencies. These documents were generally reports of conditions in a country or area that observers, diplomatic, military, or civilian, thought important to communicate to the Foreign Office. All of these volumes have a table of contents with two or four word descriptions of the contents of each document.

Congressional Record (1789 to present)
Level One Documents Compact Shelving: Con Rec
The record of debates in the Senate and House of Representatives. There is an index volume for each session. which is usually shelved after the final volume of the Record for that session.

Foreign Relations of the United States (1861 to present)
Documents S1.1:
An annual which reprints correspondence, reports and other material from State Department and private sources concerning conditions and actions in other countries and regions of interest to the U.S. A few volumes after 1945 are available online.

Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) Official Report, House of Commons
Micfilm 3332 (1803 to 1908)
Government UK J301 .K22 (1909 to present)

Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) Official Report, House of Lords
Micfilm 3332 (1803 to 1908)
Government UK J301 .J22 (1909 to present)
The Woodruff Library receives the final bound edition of the debates for both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. Each volume has an index of speakers and subjects and there is an index to the entire session in the last volume for the session. Note that Hansard's is numbered by columns, not by pages.

C. Personal records, Memoirs, and Diary Accounts

Generally, you will identify memoirs and diaries by searching Euclid under the name of a person (as Author, not Subject) ) you have identified through secondary readings . Check also the RLIN Bibliographic File or WorldCat to identify works that other libraries may have. Try also:

Biography Reference Bank
Provides full text articles from various biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias. Also lists articles about the person, books about the person, and books by the person


Contact

Eric Nitschke (liben@learnlink.emory.edu), Reference Librarian and European History Selector/Liaison, Emory University

 
 


© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 | Updated: August 23, 2005