- Your selections:
- History, Modern (1800-)
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 126 - 150 of 177
Mass Observation Online: British Social History, 1937-1972 from the University of Sussex incudes material divided into two main types: material collected by investigators and that collected by volunteers..Expand
The first type includes surveys, collections of emphemera, accounts of ‘overheards’ and covert observations of the general public, while the volunteer material is personal accounts of individual lives provided by the amateur observers from MO’s ‘National Panel’. The database includes File Reports, 1937-1972 on topics such as popular culture, consumerism, branding and fashion, sex, marriage, and the family, as well as attitudes to war, politics and America, Russia and Europe. There are also MO publications, diaries, directives, and 140,000 full color digital images.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, Psychology, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Access World News coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers. All titles are the full electronic version of record.Expand
Subjects: Current Events, History Modern 1800-, History US, Journalism, News Sources
Niles Register also known as The Weekly Register, Niles Weekly Register, and Niles National Register was a newsweekly founded by Hezekiah Niles in 1811.Expand
It was published by Niles or his successors until 1849. It covered both the United States and the world. The cumulative index permits researchers to locate pertinent articles in the more than 30,000 densely printed pages that make up this work.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a full-text database of primary sources from the 19th Century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.Expand
- Emory Libraries has access to four collections in this database:
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
- British Politics and Society
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History World, Music, Theater Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy to support research in this interdisciplinary area of study of Europe and Africa.Expand
Additionally, this collection includes the features that scholars require -- such as detailed subject indexing and metadata, textual analysis tools, personalized user accounts, and more.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Chinese Studies, History Modern 1800-, History World, Religion
Paratext's 19th-Century Masterfile is a vast "index of indexes," bringing together in one database the contents of dozens of subject indexes that cover American and British periodicals, books, and government documents published from the late 18th to the early 20th century.Expand
A select number of periodical titles, including Harper's Monthly, Atlantic Monthly, and Scribner's Monthly, as well as the U.S. Congressional Record are available in full text. A valuable resource for students and faculty studying 19th and early 20th century life and culture. More details about indexes covered in 19th Century Masterfile.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, Archives and Primary Sources
Personal narratives of immigrants to the United States and Canada, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral history interviews, beginning around 1840 and extending to the present but focusing heavily on the period from 1920 to 1980.Expand
Provides perspectives both on North America and on the immigrants countries of origin. Also includes selected emigrant guides and advice books for immigrants, political cartoons, and audio and video.
Subjects: Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, Jewish Studies, Womens and Gender Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
This is a comprehensive source for the study of the Bible, biblical history, and the reception history of the Bible. The site combines scholarly texts and reference works with critical tools for Biblical study.Expand
Popular resources on this site include the full text of the New Oxford Annotated Bible, concordances for the NRSV and NAB translations, the Oxford Bible Commentary, the Oxford Companion to the Bible, several of the Oxford Encyclopedias, the Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible, the Oxford Bible Atlas, and many more resources from Oxford University Press.
Subjects: Classics, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion
The Atlantic History module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field of Atlantic History.Expand
It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.Walk-in users: OK
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today.Expand
A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. Oxford Bibliographies Online’s British and Irish Literature provides expert guidance through articles and citations.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History Early Modern 1450-1800
The Victorian era was highly conscious of its own relation to the past – its ‘heritage’ or place in history – but it also sensed its role in shaping the future.Expand
For modern readers, it has come to represent both our literary past and the beginnings of modernity. Students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature to offer a reliable, up-to-date guide to the best literature in the field through essays and citations.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, English and American Literature
Provides full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: annual updates cover individuals who have died after 2000.Expand
The ODNB covers people who were born and lived in the British Isles, people from the British Isles who achieved recognition in other countries, people who lived in territories formerly connected to the British Isles at a time when they were in contact with British rule, and people born elsewhere who settled in the British Isles for significant periods or whose visits enabled them to leave a mark on British life. Allows 2-3 simultaneous users.
Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Biographies
Provides online access to more than 3,000 articles and electronic resources in English on the Islamic world, includes more than 150 primary source documents with editorial instructions, and has a glossary of Islamic terms.Expand
Also includes two interpretations and one concordance of the Koran.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biographies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion
This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.Expand
Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology
Indexes genealogy periodicals. Also referred to as Ancestry.Expand
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, Multidisciplinary Databases
An electronic index to millions of articles published in 4,079 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. PIO is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 200 years.Expand
PIO currently indexes over 13 million articles since the eighteenth century and every article in each journal is indexed. Over two centuries of scholarly publication in 40 languages and dialects are indexed, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Business, Classics, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World, History US, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Womens and Gender Studies, Archives and Primary Sources
Supported by the Ministére de l'éducation nationale, de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche and l'université Lumiére Lyon 2, PERSEE is similar to JSTOR in providing full text in pdf format to back issues of hundreds of prestigious journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences (including a moving wall of three to five years depending on the journal). PERSEE is free of charge and the first phase of the project includes the following journals:Expand
- Les Annales
- Bibliothéque de léécole des chartes
- Matériaux pour léhistoire de notre temps
- Revue économique
- Revue de léart
- Revue franéaise de science politique
Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World
The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Collaborators initially formed the project to construct a large, heterogeneous collection of materials, textual and visual, on the Archaic and Classical Greek world....The classical foundation has paved the way for literary and historical collections ranging from the English Renaissance to the American Civil War, and Greek tools became a foundation for the development of resources in Latin, Italian, and Arabic.Expand
The project continues to explore new ways of presenting complex resources for electronic publication.
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History World
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 provides a unique perspective on the lives of the survivors — Jewish and non-Jewish — of the Holocaust and World War II.Expand
The collection contains documents from British government files as well as those of the Jewish Committee for Relief Abroad and the Jewish Relief Units — including surveys, leaflets, reports of relief workers, U.S. zone reports, War office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports and correspondence of relief organizations. It covers the international politics leading the administration, care, repatriation and emigration of Displaced Persons (DPs) and the daily plight of the refugees themselves.Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Modern 1800-, History World, Jewish Studies
Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Classics, Comparative Literature, Economics, English and American Literature, Film and Media Studies, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, LGBT Studies, Library and Information Science, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Spanish, Statistics and Demography, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Provides searchable full text of pamphlets, the op-ed pieces of their day, from two major collections: Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets from the Libraries of Salmon P.Expand
Chase & John P. Hale; and Civil War Pamphlets 1861-1865. Included are biographies, campaign literature, government documents, journals, presidential addresses, sermons, and speeches. Also provides full text of eight major Northern, Southern, and Border State newspapers from the antebellum period through the end of the Civil War: Richmond Dispatch, Charleston Mercury, New Orleans Times Picayune, Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus [Ohio] State Journal, Kentucky [Louisville] Daily Journal, and Memphis Daily Appeal.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, African American Studies, History US, History Modern 1800-, News Sources
From a single interface, researchers can access over 810,000 ebooks and 1,350 imprints from more than 650 publishers. On average, 100,000 newly published titles are added each year from leading publishers to help libraries build dynamic collections that meet the unique needs of their community of researchers.Expand
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biological Sciences, Business, Chemistry, Comparative Literature, Computer Science, Economics, Education, English and American Literature, Environmental Sciences, Health, History Ancient -400, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Library and Information Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Multidisciplinary Databases, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Science and Technology, Sociology
Public Life in Contemporary Argentina is a full-text database that provides information on comparative politics, sociology, grassroots movements, gender studies, the uses of media in political organizing, social anthropology, and history.Expand
Users can search by: keyword, type of movement (e.g., political party, neighborhood assembly, women's organizations), subject or theme, geographic area, date of publication, source (i.e., name of publication in which document or article appeared), and type of document.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, Political Science, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Sociology
This full text, full image database covers the 141 surviving volumes of Queen Victoria’s journal and reproduces the pages as high-resolution color images and includes separate photographs of the illustrations and inserts contained within the pages.Expand
The journals contain household and family concerns, as well as comments on literature and affairs of state and are a valuable primary source for scholars of nineteenth-century British political and social history, as well as for those working on gender studies and autobiographical writing.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, Biographies, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Science and Technology, Womens and Gender Studies
This database, focusing on the people and events of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, includes archival material—manuscript, typescript and ephemera—from key libraries in Britain and America, such as Bowling Green State, Berkeley, Sussex, National Archives at Kew, and the Rock Source Archive.Expand
Other features are video clips, visual sources, and chronologies. Topics covered include popular culture (TV, music & movies), the Vietnam War, and movements from Civil Rights to Women’s Liberation.Keyword Search supports the Boolean operators AND, OR and AND NOT between keywords.
Subjects: African American Studies, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Modern 1800-, History US, LGBT Studies, Multidisciplinary Databases, Womens and Gender Studies